We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing few nights”
Review of The Lawrance York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lawrance York
Ranked #9 of 55 Specialty Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Me and my girlfriend of 3 years decided to stay here for 3 nights (Monday to the Thursday).

Firstly, this being the first time I booked a holiday away, I was a bit nervous. However, the staff were very nice and efficient. We didn't have to contact them at all during our stay as all the information was either given verbally on arrival or conveniently written down in a folder.

The apartment we stayed in was modern but with a subtle 'classic' feel (the beams and chandelier in the bedroom were a very nice touch). It was pretty spacious, which is surprising because on the outside it looked to be a bit small. There was a TV both upstairs and downstairs which is nice when you are relaxing before or after going out (even better for lazy nights in). The level of noise in both the mornings and the evenings was minimal (you could hear a pin drop, no joke). The apartment we stayed in was number 10, by the way.

The location of the apartments is great; it is very close to attractions such as the York dungeon and the museum. It is also pretty close to some pubs and places to eat so you will never need to walk more than 10 minutes which is brilliant. Also, if you need to get some essentials in, such as your own breakfast or a few snacks, then the nearest supermarket is a few minutes down the road. However if you are feeling a bit lazy, then they offer a breakfast box that can be picked up at the café for a reasonable price.

All in all, it was a perfect few nights. I have nothing negative to say about our stay; the only regret is that we couldn't stay for longer! I would definitely recommend it for couples of any ages, old or young alike.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 347 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

my wife and I have stayed in many apartments around the UK, Europe and Australia over the past 15 years and these are the best appointed by far. The apartment we stayed on two floors with a large living/dining/kitchen area with excellent and new equipment, a small but very high spec bathroom and a huge bedroom. The apartment was very centrally located. Staff were friendly and efficient,

We would strongly recommend these apartments. They are excellent value.

We know York quite well but for first time visitors it might be helpful to build up a supply of maps and local guidebooks plus a list of customer recommended bars, restaurants and local places to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptraves50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Being a regular visitor to York & having stayed in many hotels including the 5* Cedar Court Grand, nowhere compares to the Lawrance. Not even close!!

Our second visit for my Wife's birthday & it was absolutely amazing. Having breakfast next to our little balcony overlooking the courtyard, friendly helpful staff & beautifully decorated apartments make this the perfect place for relaxation and a real home from home.

In a fantastic location for exploring & all of the cities bars & restaurants ... so only a short stumble home after quite a few cocktails ;)

Can't wait to come back again!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suze_Sull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I booked the lawrance for a 2 night stay for my partners birthday and we both loved every minute of our stay. The pictures sold this too me but i have to say that they do not do it justice in certain areas, our bedroom was huge! apt 8. and we didnt have one bad word to say. Perfect for a lazy weekend or for people wanting to explore, we brought back a takeaway one night and watched dvd's then the next night took advantage of the discounts we received from the lawrance for local bars and restaurants.

Could not recommend enough, i will be returning later this year for another trip, cant wait to see another of the gorgeous apartments!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrygy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a surprise birthday treat for my partner. Level of service was excellent from beginning to end. I had a cake arranged to be in the apt on arrival Which was adorned with candles and birthday message and was absolutely delicious and excellent value for money.
The apartment itself was just gorgeous. Split on two levels, it was like a small house. High Quality furnishings, beautiful and modern, spotlessly clean. Best bed We have ever slept in EVER!!
The courtyard arrangement is very pretty and location is great.
Staff couldn't be more helpful.
Excellent value for money.... Will definitely return !!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

At lawrance apt, the staff are very friendly, apt very clean and spacious and the location was excellent.
Negatives, could hear the upstairs apt when walking about and there was no hooks in the bathroom to up hang towels.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay in York at the Lawrance apt and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

a bit hard to find but what a find.... lovely large apartment with everything we needed and more. Quite, secure and with beds that we super comfortable. Awesome staff too who let us check out a little later. Didn't want to give it too much of a good review as we would like to be able to book again in the future - but they have done an outstanding job on the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HallJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,376 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawrance York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawrance York

Address: 74 Micklegate, York YO1 6LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Specialty Lodging in York
Price Range: $116 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawrance York 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Luxury Apartments consisting of Studios, 1 Bedroom Apartment, 2 Bedroom,Penthouse and 3 Bedroom apartments. Complete with modern Kitchen, Comfy seating, spacious bedrooms and all the essentials that you need for a home from home feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lawrance York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing