We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not nice enough for the price & very noisy!”
Review of The Lawrance York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lawrance York
Ranked #9 of 55 Specialty Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked the three bedroom apartment which was clean and had nice but basic décor. We were allowed to book in half an hour early and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The major downside was that the three bedroom apartment was right above the café with only a glass door in between and therefore noisy for most of the day, and woke everybody up one morning. It also was right on one of the busiest streets of York though the bedrooms were at the back. Being fair the smaller apartments weren't on the main road or above the café so the issues mentioned might not be as relevant. Altogether ok but not really felt worth the money.

Room Tip: Don't book the three bedroom courtyard above the shop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank toastietom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne W, General Manager at The Lawrance York, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

We are sorry you experienced any noise in the three bedroom apartment - we will look into how we work on a morning as we do not like anyone to be disturbed. We would, of course, have done this before but this, quite honestly, is the first time anyone has mentioned it.

We are very surprised that you had issues with the café noise as it is correct there is a glass door entrance into the apartment but the first rooms (the dining room and first en suite bedroom) themselves are a whole storey up and the living room is actually two storeys up! They must have been very noisy.

I am glad you found the staff friendly and accommodating - we try with every guest to allow as early check in as possible, even if this is only half an hour, we think it makes all the difference.

As regards the busy Micklegate street, where we are situated, it is outside of the bustling town centre and I do agree there is pedestrian traffic but I think it would be difficult to find anywhere in York in July where you could avoid noise of some kind - it is very busy this time of year!

Finally, just to address the cost - the three bedroom sells for a rate which, if split 6 ways (the amount of people who could stay in there) the cost is less than £50 a person which given the quality of fittings and the size of the property we feel is very reasonable.

Obviously we are sorry you did have these issues and we hope this would not put you off staying again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 348 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Took the other half away for the weekend to see the sights of york. Found this apartment and booked immediately. When we arrived we weren't quite sure how to check in, we went into the cafe and were told to walk straight through. The cafe closes at about 4-4:30 on Saturday, so make arrangements with reception if you'll be late. Check in was quick and simple, we walked through a small courtyard to our apartment. (Apartment 1). The size of the apartment was great, the bed was comfortable, the facilities were great. (Washing machine, dishwasher, fridge (if not little small)) own wifi connection in the room and two TVs with free view and Internet access. Air con, or underfloor heating. iPod dock, would've been nicer if it worked with other apple devices, my iPad to be precise, but not a huge deal.

It's within 5 minutes of the center of York, there's a fantastic restaurant around the back of the complex called Krakatoa, well worth a visit, it's also worth mentioning if you're going around the attractions of York to check in first,your welcome book has discount off certain things. Viking centre for example. Which we didn't know until after we'd been.

I think the only thing that lets my review down, and this is of no fault of The Lawrance, is the small side road that runs alongside the bedroom and living room of apartment 1, however as it was a saturday night, taxis and drunks were to be expected. The security on the complex is fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We took two Australian friends for a short trip to York to show them the historic city.
You cannot fault the standard of accommodation at The Lawrance, the quality of the apartment furnishings and fittings is excellent, and it is very well located in the centre of York.
However, there is a nightclub nearby, and we were treated to relentless thumping bass music from 11.00pm to 3.00pm each night of our stay (Thursday and Friday nights), resulting in two nights of disturbed sleep.
This is a real shame as the apartments are a real gem, but if you can't get a decent nights sleep then it is very hard to recommend others to stay there.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank CambridgeTravellers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Fantastic little find near the centre of York. My gf and I both remarked 'why would you ever want to stay in a hotel again'! We stayed in Apt 9, a small apartment set on 2 floors, we walked into an open plan living area and nice appointed kitchen, up the wooden stairs to a (small) but nicely finished bathroom with a lovely 2 person shower. The bedroom was large with a very comfy bed and we had everything one could need for a lovely stay. It was also spotlessly clean!

Could not recommend The Lawrance highly enough; the amount of space, high end fittings and comfort afforded by apartment far outweighs the moderate premium to stay in a hotel or B&B. If we were to go again we'd probably take our own food to prepare in the apartment - it was that nice!! Looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: Just book an apartment and you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enricosuarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Lawrance is a collection of Luxury Apartments, which more than lives up to its name!
Expensive, yes. But worth every penny!

We went in December 2012 - three couples (including one heavily pregnant lady!) looking for some Xmas shopping in one of Britain's most beautiful cities (York). Why stay in a boring hotel or creepy B&B though? Why not splash out and stay at some 'luxury apartments'?
And we were all glad we did!

Situated a short walk from the main centre of York, our apartment was maintained and furnished to the highest standards - and there were plenty of Xmas decorations around to give the place a really homely vibe!
The kitchen was clean, well equipped and so much better than relying on takeaways and restaurants - the chance to cook and eat in comfort was a refreshing change from staying at a hotel!
The bedrooms were very roomy - plenty of space for a weekend's worth of stuff (at least one suitcase per person) and each bedroom had a en-suite bathroom. The view from our bedrooms was particularly beautiful given the time of year and the fact that the York Eye was lit up and clearly visible.
There was also a living room with sofas, flat-screen TV and stereo - because sometimes you just want to chill out when you're away, right?
Overall, I found that The Lawrance was well justified in the use of 'Luxury Apartments' and was a welcome break away from the norm. Sure it wasn't cheap, but split between six people, the value for money was far greater than you could have expected from a Hotel or B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband whisked me away for a one night break and found a romantic little self-catering apartment (in fact, it was a little house), in The Lawrance in York. The development is a converted industrial building, like a little mews, off Mickelgate in central York. You access it through the Lawrance cafe, and then reception is behind the cafe. The apartment itself (Apartment 8) was fantastic - it was effectively a little house with a reasonable size living/dining room downstairs, a very well-equipped kitchen, and upstairs a nice bathroom (big bath with good shower over) and a large double bedroom. The style of the property was quite New England-esque - looks of stripped wood, and grey-ish wood walls. Very beautiful and very well-equipped. Free wifi access, and the kitchen certainly was set up with everything one would need. My only slight quibble was that there did not seem to a hairdryer.

The property is in a central, going-out area of York: Mickelgate. When we went out, there seemed to be stag and hen parties everywhere! However, as The Lawrance is set back from the street, in its own little development, the street noise does not affect you. The only noise we heard was some neighbours coming home at about 5am! It is a very well situated property indeed - near the going out areas, but also within easy walking distance of the walls at Mickelgate, the Minister, The Jorvik centre, and The Shambles.

Fantastic location, fantastic apartment and at a very reasonable price. Highly recommended.

My other top tip is to follow the suggestion in The Lawrance info guide, and book a restaurant if you fancy dinner in central York on the weekend. We didn't, and found it very hard to get in anywhere - even going for dinner early!

Room Tip: Apartment 8 was fantastic and was effectively a little house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngharadM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed for a romantic night away & we were over the moon with the beautiful apartment we were given.

We stayed in apartment 10 & I was surprised as I had assumed apartment meant a flat style layout (ie open plan all one floor) but our 'apartment' was in fact more like a little house accross two floors. The apartment was immaculately clean, with stunning modern furnishings, and all the essentials you could need (iron, Hairdryer, Dishwasher, Ipod Dock, cutlery/pots, coffee & milk !!!)

The apartments are in the perfect location - ladies I managed to walk from the apartment to various bars & a restaurant and back again in heels... its right within walking distance of everything you need! There's pubs/bars/clubs/cafes/shops all within walking distance but in the same respect we didn't hear any noise disturbance from the nearby clubs overnight.

The courtyard outside the apartments was peaceful & felt nice and secure when we returned late at night.

The reception staff were friendly & helpful.

There wasnt one thing we didnt like about this place, we are only sorry we didnt find it sooner !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HarveyBoyd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawrance York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawrance York

Address: 74 Micklegate, York YO1 6LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Specialty Lodging in York
Price Range: $118 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawrance York 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Luxury Apartments consisting of Studios, 1 Bedroom Apartment, 2 Bedroom,Penthouse and 3 Bedroom apartments. Complete with modern Kitchen, Comfy seating, spacious bedrooms and all the essentials that you need for a home from home feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lawrance York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing