We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

The Mulan Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #106 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a trip to York recently and wanted to find a Chinese restaurant to eat in. After reading great reviews on tripadviser we came across the Mulan.
The restaurant is lovely and modern and the front of house staff could not have been more attentive.
We have eaten in a lot of Chinese restaurants over the years but this one beats them all. We had a banquet meal which was wonderful, and they served the best prawn toast ever.
If we lived in the area we would come back week after week.
Would highly recommended to everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ju1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    50
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly staff and good value for money”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Have now eaten twice at this restaurant in the last month. It is modern, bright and the food and staff are great. It is not the usual Chinese décor and the upmarket, modern feel is carried through to the food and the presentation. Definitely worth a visit, but you probably need to book on a weekend

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doeplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good food and a really pleasant atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Have now eaten twice at this restaurant in the last month. It is modern, bright and the food and staff are great. It is not the usual Chinese décor and the upmarket, modern feel is carried through to the food and the presentation. Definitely worth a visit, but you probably need to book on a weekend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doeplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese food ever”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hidden gems in York me and my husband really enjoyed tasty food ,good presentation,clean,very friendly service also the price we can affordable. I highly recommend this restaurant for Chinese food lover. Such a shame we live quite far a way from York.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PCGIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Chinese we have ever been to!!!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We visited this restaurant for my girlfriend's birthday during our trip to York based on positive reviews on tripadvisor, and I must say we were not let down.
The food quality was excellent and fresh and very tasty and I was shocked when the bill came not because it was expensive but because it was really good value compared to most other Chinese restaurants we have visited, I almost felt that I was ripping them off when I came to pay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoff8828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mulan Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Mulan Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing