We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, good food and a really pleasant atmosphere.”

The Mulan Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #102 of 859 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good food and a really pleasant atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Have now eaten twice at this restaurant in the last month. It is modern, bright and the food and staff are great. It is not the usual Chinese décor and the upmarket, modern feel is carried through to the food and the presentation. Definitely worth a visit, but you probably need to book on a weekend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doeplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    46
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese food ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hidden gems in York me and my husband really enjoyed tasty food ,good presentation,clean,very friendly service also the price we can affordable. I highly recommend this restaurant for Chinese food lover. Such a shame we live quite far a way from York.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PCGIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Chinese we have ever been to!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We visited this restaurant for my girlfriend's birthday during our trip to York based on positive reviews on tripadvisor, and I must say we were not let down.
The food quality was excellent and fresh and very tasty and I was shocked when the bill came not because it was expensive but because it was really good value compared to most other Chinese restaurants we have visited, I almost felt that I was ripping them off when I came to pay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoff8828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

After reading the reviews we decided to give Mulan a try instead of our usual favourite York Cantonese restaurant and we were really disappointed. The place has been given a lovely upgrade and was clean and welcoming, the staff were friendly polite and attentive, however we found the food to be quite bland. Hubby had prawn cocktail starter which he said was OK we then had King prawn curry and special fried rice with noodles - all ok but not great. Good price, £42 including bottle of wine, however we'll stick with our usual place in future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank splashy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Class Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This Cantonese restaurant is located a few miles outside York City Centre but very well worth the trouble to drive out there. It is located in Clifton Moor close to an industrial estate and also a housing estate outside the City with plenty of parking facilities, on a small retail park. Although their menu is a little limited the quality of the food is exceptional and the service absolutely first class. They have also recently imported authentically styled Chinese crockery which is unique and adds to the experience. The staff were very friendly and were happy to offer to show me the route on their mobile phone to return to our hotel after our meal as we were not at all familiar with the area being from Manchester. We had a really enjoyable meal at this restaurant and would highly recommend to anyone visiting York.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mulan Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Mulan Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing