We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish travellars”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowntree Park Caravan Club Site
Ranked #21 of 51 Specialty Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Lonon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Irish travellars”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Yes, we agree with all the reviews, the site location and standards are excellent, but on our visit, a family of Irish travellars had somehow booked a pitch, turned up in a 30 ft Hobby caravan, and destroyed the atmosphere in about 30 seconds on the riverside area we stayed on. Then unbelievably a second family turned up, and pitched up on a plot reserved for them by the first lot, who told the first poor couple who started to reverse in to go somewhere else.
They took over the rear part of riverside, spat every few minute, were loud, and generally intimidating, the elder kids sat in the car with the windows open, staring at you, but I guess the site warded cant tell What they are when they book, especilly on the net, and can't give a valid reason to turn them away, without being prejudice.
I do notice that a lot of sites don't accept commercial motors or hobby caravans, this keeps most away.
We were leaving the following day, and we did, very early, and if we had booked for longer, we would still have left.
The caravan club must try and stop this happening, I now you can't be prejudice, and they now it too, and how do you ask people to stop being intimidating ??
It's a problem

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

As Caravan Club members for many years, we are very proud of this site. The standard of facilities here are echoed throughout the country with so many beautiful sites in stunning places. Non members are charged quite a bit more which does make it expensive by caravanning standards. The way to get cheaper breaks is to join the Caravan Club. The site is prone to flooding as it is literally steps away from the River Ouse - you just have to watch the weather forecasts. It is just a ten minute walk into the City and when we were there a week ago it chucked it down with rain every day, but being so near the hustle & bustle of a city, it didn't really matter. The pitches are enormous and considering it is so near York, very quiet. There are some lovely river walks and those of you with dogs don't miss out on areas to walk your furry friends. There s a large children's play area next door to the site which gets noisy at weekends and after 4pm. So for those of you who don't like kids - go elsewhere! A superb site and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Wow...I didn't no there were caravan sites so close to city centres.

We went feb half term, kids went for a penny, so it cost us £17.01 per night and it was well worth it!! Recentley refurbed showers and toilets were lovely. All pitches are hard standing, with hedges around them.

You get a key to the back gates, which means a 5 min walk to the closest shops, to stock up on wine essentials!!

Would highly recommend this site for a city centre break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jack1Jack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a Caravan Club site but open to non members for a premium. It is a very expensive site but on balance I would say it is worth it. The facilities, with a brand new toilet and shower block, are superb and very warm, which is just as well as we visited in January. It is also only a short walk to York city centre which is an added bonus .
The only drawback to the site, which we found to our cost, is that the site is prone to flooding. On our visit we had to evacuate the site due to imminent flooding. However if you stay close to the river in York one has to expect this.
Overall a very good caravan site and worth the expense due to location and quality of the site.

Room Tip: Check before travelling to make sure there is not a flood alert in place.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Greytop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
3.4 mi away
Naburn Lock Caravan Park
0.3 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#16 of 192 in York
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Saint George's Keep
Saint George's Keep
#17 of 51 in York
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#61 of 192 in York
178 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Little Hide - Grown Up Glamping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowntree Park Caravan Club Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowntree Park Caravan Club Site

Property: Rowntree Park Caravan Club Site
Address: Terry Avenue, York YO23 1JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 Specialty Lodging in York
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular holiday destination, York Rowntree Park Caravan Club Site offers level pitches located on the banks of the River Ouse. Some pitches have attractive hedging and glades which provide not only a scenic treat but also ensure your privacy. The caravan park is within easy walking distance of the beautiful and historic city of York and also makes for an excellent base from which to explore the Yorkshire area. York itself has so much to see and do that you'll find the time can slip by all too easily. Using a pedestrian gate at the back of the site leads you to a parade of local shops, including a fantastic fish and chip shop with cafe, Indian and Thai restaurants and numerous takeaways as well as a selection of Cafe's, food and convenience shops. Although the site is near to the city centre, it is peaceful and has a lovely rural feel, with pleasant walks down the side of the river to the Millennium bridge and more. York Rowntree Park Caravan Club Site is ideal for those wishing to visit York Minster - the largest gothic cathedral in northern Europe. Do include a walk to the city's medieval walls and the Shambles to get a feel of the old city with its medieval timber framed houses. You may also stumble across Snickelways of York which is a collection of small street and footpaths. Why not walk down Whip-ma-whop-ma-gate: a street of historical interest which is the shortest street in York with the longest name. Whilst staying at York Rowntree Park why not call in at the many real ale pubs, The York Dungeons, Jorvik Viking Centre and take a time-car, which will transport you back to the city's distant past. Should you have any budding archaeologists in the family, visit the ARC at St Saviours Church and train enthusiasts of all ages won't want to miss the award-winning National Railway Museum. The site went through some exciting changes over winter 2014/15. The warehouse that lined one side of the site was demolished was converted into pitches, while the riverside annex was closed. The newly developed area contains 16 new hardstanding pitches which are a combination of awning and non-awning. There is also a new dedicated service point for this area and TV booster system added to the bollards. The development work this winter means that all visitors will now be together on one site. Please note that we can accommodate up to five 1 or 2 man tents for backpackers and cyclists. There is no parking available for cars or motorbikes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing