We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Raj

The Raj
Reserve with OpenTable
The Raj is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #233 of 860 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blackpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely restaurant, visited York for a friend's birthday. Superb food, brilliant staff and spoilt us rotten. Thanks Guys will be back agsin when we visit York.

Helpful?
2 Thank Helsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    116
    55
    24
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
s.yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Go to this restaurant every time we visit York, went again 30/12/13 and was not disappointed by the service, price, and quality of food. 5minutes walk from Minister. You will not be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cocknhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Food was great, atmosphere good and the staff were very friendly. It was a busy Monday night prior to New Years Eve and the place was very busy, staff were still friendly though and they sorted us a table really quickly. No rush for us to leave after the meal and you even get a complimentary drink at the end!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Having read the reviews on the tripadvisor about the rushed service we have booked the table in advance. As we have arrived on time we still had to wait for 30 min for our table at the crowded lounge.
The atmosphere in the dining area was quite cosy even though the tables are definitely too close to each other.
5 min after our drinks arrived the waiter started to collect our glasses from the table and asked us to change the table „if we don‘t mind“. Another couple next to us has been moved as well.

The food was far from perfect, didn‘t seem to be very fresh, but it was alright, nothing to complain about.

As soon as we have finished the food, the bill has arrived. I asked the waiter if they have any desserts. Unfortunately, we were told we can‘t have a dessert because it is too busy!
Then the waiter asked us if we can „do him a favour“ and leave the table as many customers are still waiting. We were shocked and told him that we want at least to finish our wine. He picked the bottle up and checked how much we have left and told us we can finish it at the lounge!! No need to say that lounge was crowded with people waiting for their tables.

The best example of the worst customer service. We were literally kicked out from the restaurant before we have finished our dinner. Will never come back again.

If you are about to visit Raj remember: even if you book the table you only have half an hour to enjoy your dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Inesa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We reserved a table here for New Year's Eve and had a lovely meal. I thought it was a bit odd that we weren't asked if we wanted any poppadoms before our meal but thought nothing of it. I now know that's because they want to make as much money as physically possible in the shortest space of time! We waited quite a while between our starters and main. By this point I was quite thirsty but we weren't asked if we we wanted another drink and noone was around to ask. When we finished our food, our plates were miraculously swiftly taken away and then the bill came about a minute later without us even asking for it! I thought this was a bit rude as we'd just finished eating and weren't quite ready to leave yet. If I wanted the bill, I would have asked for it! About two minutes later, the waiter came to see if we'd sorted out the bill, which we hadn't as we were chatting. He then got annoyed and asked if we'd mind leaving the table immediately as they needed it! SO RUDE! We were there in total for about an hour and a half which I don't think is dawdling by any stretch of the imagination. I will not be eating here again because of this experience. Very poor of the Raj. It;s a shame as the food was nice, but not amazing so we will take our business elsewhere in York if we want a curry.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rassal, Manager at The Raj, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
thank you for your review , I sincerely apologise for your recent visit to The Raj this was New Years EVE the busiest night of the year as always and things did go a bit slower than expected this was due to the 200+ we had booked in. so we had a time scale to stick to so every table got 1 and a half hours witch I think is a reasonable amount of time to enjoy your meal and please bare in mind this is only 1 day out of 365. I can assure you this will not happen again as we did learn a lot from this night we are glad you enjoyed your meal so for this reason we hope you do come back and you will be well looked after. we was not trying to make as much money as possible this is unfair we was just trying to get all our bookings sat down on time and most people was taking more than 1 and a half hours this is why you was feeling rushed but no excuse I am sorry
we hope to do dine with us again as you no our food speaks for it self. I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a happy new year
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raj also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing