We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would come again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poplar House Serviced Apartments
Ranked #12 of 56 Specialty Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Clean and spacious apartment with great amenities plus complimentary eggs, muffins and milk. Warmest welcome from the owner who is extremely handy throughout our stay. Our stay in York could not have been better. Ten thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meliyanni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 105 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

Apartment with plenty of space and room to move. Kitchen well equipped and the muffins, butter and jam etc. supplies came in very handy. Conveniently located to explore the centre of York. 10 minutes gets you you to the outer wall and another 10 mins to the heart of the old town. Shaun and his family were very welcoming. Free wifi was great and we enjoyed seeing the locals play bowls and croquet in the fields next door. Having a washing machine was great and there was a hanging frame to dry clothes on. We stayed in Unit 2 with our adult son who was provided a good quality folding bed that he placed in the lounge at night.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank DebbieB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from an overnight stay at these apartments, I have to say they are excellent. 2 x1 bedroom apartments fully serviced with everything you need from the complimentary breakfast muffins, eggs, milk, tea, coffee etc. A great welcome from the proprietor Shaun who was very helpful and friendly. The apartment we stayed in was exceptionally clean and is in a superb location for York and all it has to offer. A very enjoyable stay and we hope to return next year.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun C, Owner at Poplar House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for your very kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Poplar House for 2 nights on may bank holiday. The apartment was spotlessly and beautifully furnished. All the rooms were a good size and well layed out. The apartment is very well located 10 min walk from the train station. There was even eggs muffins milk tea coffee and jam for breafast in the kitchen, nice touch. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. We will defiantly stay there again and can't recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkerj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun C, Owner at Poplar House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for your very kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Shortly after booking we received an e mail from Shaun with an information booklet attached. What a good idea. We found this really helpful.
On arrival the welcome pack of muffins, eggs,milk,butter and preserves is a lovely touch and adds to the" home from home" feel of the apartments.You have everything you need and the décor is clean and fresh. Lilian met us at the door and was helpful and informative and for the rest of our stay we felt that although the Clarks were on hand should we need anything we were left to enjoy our stay without intrusion.
We are a middle aged couple and I have mild mobility problems but I found the walk into York was easy, about 10 minutes, all flat ground, and you are there. We visited the York Dungeons, York Castle Museum, York Minster, the Railway Museum and the Yorkshire Museum and spent hours meandering round the shops in the centre of York, all on foot - we left the car at the apartment all the time.
Although we ate out during our stay (I can recommend Yorvik Spice Indian restaurant/takeaway) two minutes walk away), the kitchen is well equipped and you could easily cook as you would at home.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Poplar House to anyone wanting to stay in York and we will definitely be staying there again!! Thank you Shaun and Lilian!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun C, Owner at Poplar House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for your very kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband was greeted by name as he checked in, a simple but lovely touch. The apartment (number 2) was exactly what we hoped for, clean, spacious and very well kitted out. We have a 2 year old daughter, Sean couldn't have done more to make her stay comfortable! A choice of beds and bedding and high hairs! Thank you.
Just a 10 min walk from the city centre ment we could enjoy a few cocktails to celebrate our anniversary and walk home via a lovely Indian takeaway. No noise on an evening and waking up to all your home comforts. We will definitely be back. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun C, Owner at Poplar House Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Hi Suzanne,

Many, many thanks for your kind review! It's greatly appreciated!! I'm glad you had such a nice time staying with us.

Cheers for now,

Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The apartment was clean and comfortable with a nice view of the green, and wifi. Great modern interiors. The Clarks were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.
The apartment has the perfect location 10 min walk from the centre and close to the Race Course.
We can't wait to return and will be staying here again without a shadow of a doubt

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyMckew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
657 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clearly Holiday Apartments
0.8 mi away
Staycity Aparthotels Paragon Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lawrance York
The Lawrance York
#11 of 56 in York
348 reviews
1.0 mi away
Goodramgate Apartments
0.4 mi away
Reubens Court Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplar House Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar House Serviced Apartments

Address: 64 Scarcroft Road, York YO24 1DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 Specialty Lodging in York
Price Range: $127 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Poplar House Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW, NEW, NEW **** EXCLUSIVE, INDEPENDENT, HIGH-QUALITY, FULLY_SERVICED SELF_CATERING FLATS / SERVICED / APARTMENTS **** NEW, NEW, NEW **** Close-by the city-wall's and just a short 10/15 minute walk to York city-centre and Minster, Poplar House Apartments are situated in an inner-city conservation area with private parking. Each of the individual, self-contained and private first floor apartments have been immaculately and tastefully furnished. **** Each apartment consists of a large and airy double or family-configured bedroom (with garden views and a king-double or multi single-bed options), that are suitable for 2 adults and 2 free-stay children to 16 years (Note: Cot's available), or 3 (2 + 1) adults, a full-sized bathroom with individual shower, a large reception-hall, a fully equipped multi white-goods kitchen, and a large and comfortable integrated lounge and dining area with fireplaces. **** Crucially, for inner-York visitors, Poplar House has its own private off-road, front-of-house, and secure on-site multi-spot (free) parking for all its residents. Perfectly situated for city visitors the serviced apartments are also conveniently just a 8-10 minute stroll to York Railway Station (and the nearby internationally acclaimed 'National Railway Museum'), as well as the big new York sight-seeing 'Eye' / 'Wheel', about the same distance to York Racecourse and Grandstand on the Knavesmire, and in the other direction towards York City-centre itself. **** TERMS AND CONDITIONS: 2 ADULTS and up to 2 free CHILDREN (to 16 years of age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Poplar House Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing