We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, lovely people give it a go...you may not need to read the rest of the review.”
Review of Shambles Kitchen

Shambles Kitchen
Ranked #19 of 903 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: A small sandwich shop with a big reputation. Everything is made from scatch, on site, to our own recipes. We only have 8 seats but have a very quick turnaround and all our food is available to takeaway. Our specialty is our succulent Pulled Pork sandwich and Shambles Reuben. The meats are smoked overnight, rested for 1 hour and served quick-sharp to avoid drying out. Come between 11am and 3pm to avoid missing out on it.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I've visited the Shambles Kitchen a few times and both the service and the food has been spot on.
Most of the reviews mention the pulled pork, it really is worth a try. Plus they make proper, fresh coleslaw instead of buying in mass produced over mayonased rubbish.

Also try the cloud 9 smoothie, it's really refreshing. I will be back for more!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mmmmmmcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thanks a million. We're very picky about who we employ. I'm very proud of them all getting such great reviews when i'm not there. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Shambles Kitchen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 519 of 654 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

The green juice was delicious a good blend and quite light and refreshing on a hot day in York, freshly prepared, I called back later for a bowl of celariac and coconut milk soup, very creamy with a chunk of sourdough bread. Great place for a snack lunch when shopping/sightseeing in York. A couple I sat next to said it was the best pulled pork wrap he had ever eaten.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank babs089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thanks Babs. The celeriac soup is a personal favourite. It goes beautifully with little blob of horseradish sauce too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Had a nightmare drive through York ( Race Day, and it was heaving) so we were starving by the time we stumbled across the Shambles Kitchen, and chose it because we wanted something quick.

We both had the 'Pulled Pork sandwich, barbecue and apple sauce, with zingy home made coleslaw on warm sour dough bread' and hubby had one of the berry smoothies.

Wow the pulled pork sandwich was delicious. The pork melted in your mouth and the sauce was beautiful - not overpowering like most are and still allowed the flavour of the meat and coleslaw to come through. I've had pulled pork in the US lots of times and this was the best I've ever tasted.

Nice to see their community projects for helping set up smoothie bars in schools too.

Polite and friendly staff too.

Great little place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Smoggy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Cheers. We try to let the taste and tenderness of the pork come through by letting the meat rest for an hour before serving. And only serving each shoulder for a short period of time. Personally, i'm not a fan of sloppy pulled pork. It's tempting to drown it in treacle-based sauce when it gets dry. We don't.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Yup, seats 9-12 folks depending on butt width. Was very busy our entire lunch, good sign. The BBQ pork was great, and the soup was excellent. Nice price, too. I'd go back.

3  Thank NATOPatsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Cheers! We couldn't possibly comment on the size of butts. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The blackboard outside read "Pulled Pork Sandwich and Slaw 5.50£, which sounded like a bargain. We needed to get to the theater soon and it wasn't busy inside the Shambles Kitchen, so we placed our order at the counter and sat at a table looking out onto the lane. Succulent and tender pulled pork spilled out of our sandwiches while delicious Apple BBQ sauce dripped down my hand. Delicious choice for a quick meal. Friendly staff, yummy fresh lemonade too. We left stuffed and happy. If we lived in York, we'd return often.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thanks Linda. Glad you appreciate the value for money too. I hope you enjoyed your visit to York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shambles Kitchen also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Shambles Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing