We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a takeaway, not a restaurant.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shambles Kitchen

Shambles Kitchen
Ranked #15 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: Cafe, Fast Food, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Seating, Takeout
Description: A glorified sandwich shop. We only have 8 seats but have a very quick turnaround. All our options are available to takeaway. Our specialty is our succulent Pulled Pork sandwich. It's cooked overnight, rested for 1 hour and served quick-sharp to avoid drying out. It's served in a soft, warm, sour dough bun with zingy slaw. Come between 11am and 3pm to avoid missing out on it. All our food is made on site, from scratch - including one vegan soup each day as well toasted wraps and veggie juices. Oh, and we set up smoothie bars in schools with our profits. It's fast food. But not as you know it.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“This is a takeaway, not a restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I am sure this venue is as everything and more as reviewers state, we left for York on a very wet day, with the intention of eating here only to find it is a takeaway! I should have looked more closely when searching for reviews, and don't mean to be negative towards what's clearly an excellent establishment, but I think it is unfair of trip advisor to list takeaways under the restaurant heading,

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank B8747501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for still giving us 5 stars, despite not meeting your expectations. We've tried to make it as clear as possible that it's informal, mainly take away, eating. We started life as a smoothie bar so the shop was the ideal size. Now that we serve more food we'd love to have more seats. This is a work in progress. In the meantime, we'll continue to pour our heart and soul into our small, tasty menu. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    109
    26
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our tasty taggine and healthy smoothy. Reasonable prices. Highly recommended. Very friendly owners.

Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent affordable food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great food at a good price in a very quaint location. There weren't a lot of options, but what they did have was very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaethuaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for the review. We have a small shop and we don't want to buy processed food in. So we're proud of our small tasty menu. Glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food/customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Don't eat fast food when you can pick wholesome, natural tasty food from these guys! Gluten free goodness & fabulous customer service to boot! The vibes in this place are amazing -the chef obviously loves his job - dancing away to James Brown whilst concocting the dish of the day. You won't regret it - eat here!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fieldy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review. James Brown definitely makes you cook tastier food. I do love my job too. Especially seeing all the clean plates. Chef Simon. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's got the wow factor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

To date I have tasted the Moroccan Chicken, the BBQ Chilli, and a couple of soups that were just amazing, home made, full of flavour and interesting combinations. Great portion sizes, much better than the norm.

Very well done, I recommend you to everyone!

SABL Leeds

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shambles Kitchen also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Shambles Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing