We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, coffee and cupcakes”
Review of Crumbs Cupcakery

Crumbs Cupcakery
Ranked #1 of 11 Bakeries in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $2
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Crumbs Cupcakery is an independant cupcake shop and tea room located right behind the magnificent York Minster. We bake all of our cakes fresh every day and have around 10-12 different flavours daily! We also have gluten free cupcakes every day too! Come and say hello and relax in our beautifully decorated vintage inspired tea room in a secret little haven area of York!
York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent service, coffee and cupcakes”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

An unplanned visit after spotting the shop while walking around York and I have become a regular. The coffee/tea is served well in varied styles of cups/mugs. The owner is very warm and friendly and makes excellent cakes indeed.

The business also does parties/decorating lessons which is something different to do indeed.
Value for money in relaxed city centre environment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seelenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    69
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cute and Quirky Place”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Popped in for a coffee yesterday, lovely place! Really nice decor inside and good outdoor seating. A coffee machine coffee would have been nice but the cafiterre one we had was lovely and great selection of tea cups!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JRL1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best cupcakes ever!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Fantastic little cupcakery, which we stumbled upon! Beautifully decorated and the staff were fantastic (especially when my boyfriend managed to smash one of their lovely teacups!)
Great selection of teas and cupakes, although I would recommend getting there early for the best selection!
Would go back to York just for the cakes!!
100% worth the visit!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Popped into this cupcakery while visiting York. There's actually another cupcake shop beside it, but we chose this one because the cupcakes in the window looked nicer.

The variety of cupcake flavours was nice and the little bite-sized cupcakes were a great way to try more than one flavour without getting really full.

The All-American cupcake (chocolate cake, peanut butter filling, marshmallow icing) was the highlight! We got 2!

The girls behind the counter were really friendly and did a good job of welcoming customers.

I only have 2 minor qualms. (1) The milkshake was a bit lacking in flavour. It could be improved with some ice cream to make it thick like a real milkshake. (2) I felt that the sit-in price for cupcakes was a bit higher than usual. If it weren't so cold outside, I'd have taken the cupcakes to go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cute & Cosy!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Such a delightful place, cupcakes to die for. Amazing flavours. Some are almost too pretty to eat...Nah! don't be ridiculous....just eat!
I'd normally drink coffee if out and about. Because nobody offers a decent cup of tea (who wants a tea bag dunked in a cup) But not anymore the tea served here is the best ever. It's a real decent strong brew (English Breakfast for me!) and they'll top up the hot water if you need. Nothing is too much trouble. The place is Shabby Chic. It's warm and cosy on these cold wintery days. The staff are friendly and you feel extremely welcome. I could go on all day...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InaTizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crumbs Cupcakery also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Crumbs Cupcakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing