We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful garden”

Breezy Knees Gardens
Ranked #20 of 204 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: 20 acres of extensive gardens featuring over 7,000 different varieties of flowers, shrubs and trees. One of the largest gardens in Northern England if woodland and parkland are excluded.
Welwyn
Level Contributor
152 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful garden”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is an exceptional garden which I always visit when staying near York. It's a very new garden, with lots of individual gardens attractively set out in the middle of nowhere to form a stunning display for anyone interested in ornamental gardens. Included are June and September gardens, a rock garden, rose garden, cottage garden, a section on invasive species, pond and damp garden, dry garden, a wild flower meadow and more. Everything is well tended with everything in good condition and very few weeds.

There is a fair walk from the car park to the garden proper with no special arrangements for disabled access other than that wheelchairs are available at the entrance. I think that almost allof the gardens are wheelchair friendly.

Every time I go sees there having been more areas cultivated. So far I have only visited in May/June and August. I found the August visits the most spectacular, particularly as I am very keen on the colours of heleniums. Most things are very well labelled without being too intrusive. I comeaway with lots of photographs and lists of plants I would like to have in my garden - but it isn't as big as Breezy Knees, so mostly they will stay on my lists!

There is also an extensive nursery of hardy perennial plants for sale at reasonable prices. Unfortunately I have so far found that the majority of the plants which I have put on my list whilst in the garden do not appear to be for sale, but maybe they would be at another time of year. The plants are all in excellent condition and laid out alphabetically, so, in theory, finding the plant required should be easy.

There is also a small café at the garden entrance with a limited menu and limited opening hours, open toward the end of the week (Thursday & Friday I think, as well as at weekends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank puttingitright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    42
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Inspirational Gardens”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I took a visiting friend, who is a keen and knowledgeable gardener, to Breezy Knees in early June. Even though the summer had a late start there was a huge variety of plants, shrubs and trees to see. The garden is divided in to 14 different areas; Shrub Garden, Cottage Garden, Summer Garden, Raised Bed Garden and so on. We were there for well over two hours and were enchanted by the huge variety of plants to see and the design and layout of all the gardens.
This place is a must for anyone interested in gardens, especially if you want some inspiration for your own.
The nursery also sells a large variety of perennials which are priced according to pot size! The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. There is a small tea room which is open at weekends.
Entry to the Gardens is £5 each, and is well worth it!!
If you are in the York Area add this to your itinerary.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank megtyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After a wet spring”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Visiting the gardens after a cold wet spring I was not expecting to see much in bloom, although the meadow was still in its infancy the signs of an abundance of species met they eye.

The June garden was coming into its own with a wonderful selection of common and lesser well known plants to inspire the amateur gardener to become a great one. the conifer garden showing what can be done with green..

There are a few areas where improvements can be made especially for wheelchair users as the gating arrangement is not conducive to a wheelchair user going out alone so would be worth Breezy Knees enlisting the advice of their local disabled groups to improve access to bring this wonderful garden into the realms of total accessibility.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SHarris59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“beautiful gardens”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I enjoyed this garden at the end of the season and was amazed how beautiful it was. It is split into sections, Conifers and Grass, June Garden, September Garden and many more and full of surprises. All the plant names are labelled for easy reference and a colourful map/guide is provided. It is so well organised and considering the size is very well kept in my opinion. There are toilets at the entrance and a cafe and plant shop. I will definitely go back to see the show in spring when it opens again next year. I paid £5 entrance fee and well worth the money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank sabHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breezy Knees Gardens also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Breezy Knees Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing