We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Blake Mews, York

View of York Minster from Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of York Minster from Master Bedroom
Exterior of Development Front Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
View of York Minster from Master Bedroom
Exterior of Development
Front Entrance
Front Hall
Kitchen
Living Room TV
Living Room
Dining Area
Dining Area
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Family Bathrom - Top Floor
Bunk Room
Bunk Room
Bunk Room with star ceiling
Downstairs Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PS19
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We booked on the spur of the moment for 2 nights shortly after New Years Day. I almost don't want to post a review as I want to keep this fantastic place to myself! The attention to detail from first enquiry, through the booking process, to being met by Roxanne on arrival was something that other self-catering companies should strive to achieve.
The property itself is located in the centre of York with secure parking a short walk away.
As we only had two evenings in York we ate in nearby restaurants, but feel that catering at Blake Mews would not have been a challenge as this is a family home with a fully equipped kitchen ( I felt compelled to purchase a bottle of white wine so that we could do justice to the wine fridge!)
The bedrooms are extremely comfortable, each with their own bathroom close by and the view of the Minster from the roof terrace is one that I could happily wake up to every day!
The main living area is open plan. Even with 3 generations, ranging in age from 10 to 71 years old, nobody felt compromised for space and the selection of board games, together with TV, DVD and excellent Wi-fi coverage, kept everyone entertained during time spent indoors.
We look forward to booking a longer break.

Date of stay: January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2014
Dear Alison
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and the comments made. We are pleased you enjoyed yourself and look forward to welcoming you back some time again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Date of stay: July 2013
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The stairs
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2013
Glad you had a great time - thanks for taking the time to write the review. Hope to see you again.

Margaret & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KathyWC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Beautiful Home, Wonderful View”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The location couldn't have been better for seeing York. Directly in front of the Minster with convenient parking. The house was comfortable and well decorated - a nice oasis amid all the hustle and bustle of the city. It would have been nicer if the apt had provided more than one kitchen towel and more than two chairs on the patio to enjoy the view of the Minster.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, view from the property
Liked least: had only one kitchen towel. had only two chairs on the patio.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the constructive feedback - the kitchen tea towels have been re-stocked and we will look into getting additional chairs for the deck. Hope to see you back again.

Margaret & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillr828
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous property in the heart of York, we can't wait to return!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I booked this stunning Mews House for my husband's 50th Birthday weekend and stayed for 2 nights with our 3 teenage daughters.
Everything was as I hoped for and better, it was like staying in a luxury hotel.
We enjoyed being in the centre of York although you wouldn't know it as it was very quiet despite being right behind busy shops.
The view from the master bedroom was wonderful to wake up to and the peel of bells from the Minster on Sunday morning a joy.
I would highly recommend this property and Cafe No. 8 where we enjoyed a meal.
We have already booked to return Blake Mews with my in-laws later in the year.
Thank you
Jill, Will, Hope, Hannah & Chloe

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & furnishings
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2013
Jill

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we are delighted that you and your family had a great stay at Blake Mews. We look forward to welcoming you back again later this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross
Reviewed March 3, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Date of stay: February 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sam j
1 review
“THE place to rent if you wanted to spoil yourself, or better still, somebody else!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

The information given on TripAdvisor does not do Blake Mews justice. You are right in the centre of York with a spectacular view of the Minster, which cannot be appreciated from the picture in here. The Shambles and town centre is a two minute walk away with restaurants and shops leaving you spoilt for choice. Blake Mews itself is extremely homely yet you also feel spoiled as everything there is top spec. You also have complete peace and quiet despite being in the town centre. My fathers 60th birthday was made all the more memorable for staying in Blake Mews.... Will definitely be booking again! Thankyou Nigel and Margaret for sharing your property. Sam Jones

Date of stay: January 2013
Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2013
Glad you had such a great time- thanks for taking the trouble to post the review.

Nigel & Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TTY
Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Blake Mews”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed Blake Mews in the centre of York. Location perfect, finishes within the property upscale, especially the kitchen and bathrooms, and very nice touches such as handmade chocolates, excellent toiletries etc, Loved the linens and towels.

Very good service from Kimberley from The Fixer [Concierge Service] upon arrival, and very clear and helpful information within the property. Internet access is essential these days, and we got very good Wi-Fi signal within the Blake Mews.

A couple of things I thought I would mention – obviously the property was immaculate upon arrival. It might be helpful if there was a dustpan / brush, etc available. We ate two nights at home, and I was conscious that the kitchen floor was getting a bit messy? I couldn’t find an iron/ ironing table – again might be useful? Maybe there was one and I couldn’t find it.

Also, for future guests it would be great to have ready stocked tea, coffee, uht milk and basics like salt / pepper perhaps? Just a thought.

We usually take a holiday rental if we have family visiting, and this is certainly one of the best. Even better was the additional night for free which allowed to make the most of beautiful Yorkshire.

Delighted to recommend Blake Mews to anyone

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury finishes and location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2012
Thanks for your review Angela, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in York. With regards to the dustpan & brush and iron/ironing board, we have now placed these items in the property for future guests. Thanks for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing