We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful, after checking in the receptionist telephoned our room to see that everything was to our liking, in the room there was a safe, tea and coffee making facilities, extremely comfortable beds and air conditioning. The breakfast area had everything that you could want. The hotel is about a 5/10min walk from the rail station and town centre bars and restaurants about 15/20 minute walk.

Room Tip: A room on the fourth floor would maybe have better overall view, but I feel this hotel is about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the bedrooms to your liking.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    819
    186
    28
    15
See reviews for
540
960
80
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great location for those on business or vacation in York. 5 mins to train station and 10 mins walk to city centre. Great value. Comfortable and great for value. Good for business, especially with complimentary internet connection and breakfast (though not great for dinner). Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 13echo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your business stay with us and you found the Hotel to your liking. I am sorry you did not enjoy your evening meal. We are looking into changing the burgers we offer.
Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a nice hotel not far from the train station and walkable from the centre of the city where the tourist sites are. Good breakfast although could be crowded after nine. The family room was adequate for our needs if a bit tight with all our suitcases. The only reason to go anywhere else would be if you wanted a pool. Not worth it as York as so much to offer.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the Hotel liking. I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel before and after a family wedding in Thirsk. It was very nice and local to the city centre. The rooms were great and air con. The breakfast was excellent and the staff all very friendly and helpful

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the Hotel location to your liking. I do hope the wedding you went to was enjoyable!
Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

My son and I came on a two day trip to celebrate a birthday. The stay was pleasant, rooms clean and functional. The breakfast was standard, good choice and well laid out, on a buffet style for you to help yourself. Staff were pleasant and gave you basic standard information, nothing more. Good location, close to lots of the great sights of York, however if you want a room with a view this may not be possible, we looked out onto a back street where a nightclub was being renovated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the rooms clean and to your liking.
Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

MY Son recommended this hotel as excellent location providing good facilities at a very reasonable price I agree totally. In particular the bedrooms were of a good size and allowed us to have undisturbed rest. We wiil certainly come again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank apalmer1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the room to your liking.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in July and had a very nice stay. The room and hotel in general was absolutely spotless and had a very modern feel to it. Location is great, just within the city walls and a 5 minute walk or so to the station or to the city centre. It’s located in a quiet area, next door to the council buildings and an office block and as our room faced the rear of the hotel then at night it was very quiet. The room we had was very spacious, nicely decorated and had a nice comfy sofa, walk in shower and air con. What we did notice however was opposite the front of the hotel was a night club. At the time we stayed it seemed to be having a refurbishment so was closed but if you get allocated a room on the front of the building when the club is open then you may want to check with reception what the noise levels are likely to be like. And in respect of the reception staff, they were very pleasant and knowledgeable, always having a smile on their faces. Breakfast was very tasty and there was plenty of selection for all tastes. Again here the breakfast area was spotless and the staff done an excellent job in clearing tables once guests had finished. Would definitely recommend this hotel and probably recommend it over its sister hotel, the York Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FuggyWuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the room to your liking. The Team will be delighted to read that you found them knowledgeable and pleasant


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing