We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value (at the offer price)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good location and value (at the offer price)”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very convenient for the station ( 5 minute walk) and only a 10 minute walk over the bridge to the main centre. It is tucked away in a featureless street and there did not seem to be much in the way of dining options nearby. It was very quiet - I had a room overlooking the council offices and had no external noise disturbance and very little from inside.

Everything is clean and well kept, the room was pleasant with good lighting and the bathroom well designed (wish more hotel showers had taps like these, that you can turn on properly before getting into the shower) Good wifi.

I usually really like Hilton beds but this was a bit hard and the duvet cover was disappointingly rough and scratchy - seemed cheap. Also, have never experienced a badly made bed before in a hotel - the sheet was not tucked in on one side and the top and had been so unevenly laid on the bed that there was not enough material to do so. I had to remake it as it lifted off when I turned back the duvet, which was irritating.

Breakfast was self service - I had low expectations from a friend who had been there but at least there was some fruit ( albeit mostly tinned). Coffee undrinkable. All a bit motorway service station but it was fuel.

Pleasant staff, though keeping a customer with a query waiting so that stapling of invoices could be completed was not professional.

Minor point - there is an odd snack station between the ( empty ) bar and the reception - stock should be checked, as all of the bags of crisps I could see were out of date.

At the special offer rate I had of £56, it was good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am sorry to read that some aspects of your stay were not to your liking. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will help us to improve our service and our offering.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,270
    840
    192
    29
    15
See reviews for
557
1,006
82
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great hotel in the centre of York short walk from the main shopping area and plenty of resturants. Hotel is clean and the staff very friendly! The family room is essentially a double bed with sofa bed cosy but did the job! Fantastic selection for a complimentry breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your trip to York and found our breakfast to your liking.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon

Kind regards
Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a short break with my husband and 6 year old son. The hotel seems like a good standard travel lodge and perhaps lacks a little atmosphere but we did visit in the winter during Scottish Schools half term and not at a weekend. Staff very friendly and helpful. Cooked breakfast more sparse than bigger Hilton hotels but a lovely selection of hot and cold food was on offer. When the sofa bed was down the room was obvioulsly a little smaller but adequte and everything we needed was available. Lovely shower room and fresh linen. If you like clean, modern and new this is for you. We loved it! Parking closeby and at £11 per day is reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbells70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was very pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed the cooked breakfast and found the rooms to your liking.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a problem with our room (couldnt get any wifi signal and the tv didnt work) and tried to talk to the lady on reception about this issue. She was quite short, stocky and reddy haired (excuse the description i couldnt get her name) She seemed to show very limited interest and didnt acknowledge us at first we had to say hello excuse me as she was fixated on her computer screen. I also felt she was quite rude in the way she spoke but that may just be my interpretation. It later came clear that she was a manager as i was speaking to one of the other ladies at the bar. After this however i saw very little of her.

GOOD POINTS HOWEVER: great 24 hour bar and pizza service and the bed was so comfortable. the breakfast was busy but adequate and i utilised the use of the gym which was great and handy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to read that your first experience of our Hotel was not the best. I assure you that all the team at the Hotel would be happy to assist any guest request, but I apologies on this occasion that this did not happen. If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at QQYTG_Hampton@hilton.com.

I am pleased to see you made the most of the facilities at the Hotel and enjoyed our hot breakfast and late bar.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Boswells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here for one night with family and it was ideal. Very central,clean and tidy and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend for short break. Breakfast was fine and plenty of it. Close to city centre and decent restaurants nearby

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was very pleased to read that you found the Hotel clean and the staff friendly

It is also nice to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and had an enjoyable time whilst you were in York

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Our room was very clean and comfortable. It had everything we needed for our stay in York. The location is excellent - only a short walk from the train station and city centre. Breakfast is buffet style and a great choice - pastries, cereal, fruit, cooked items all regularly topped up by very friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank JBL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was very pleased to read your positive feedback on the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and found the team helpful

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here for one night while visiting York. We had the family room -for 3- and the sofa bed was a small double size, so perfect for an additional adult /teenager. The hotel was lovely and clean and the staff were very helpful.
The hotel is within the city walls so an easy walk to all the local attractions and restaurants. Parking is provided in he NCP car park nearby for a reduced rate (about £11 for 24 hours).
Breakfast was good for a hotel in this price range, it is self service with all the usual hot and cold options.
There is a nightclub opposite the hotel entrance, but we had a very peaceful night and did not hear anything.
Over all we had a good stay for a reasonable price in a very beautiful city, we will definitely stay here again if we return to York.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Figarogir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was very pleased to read that you found the Hotel room suitable for your family to your liking

It is also great to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and had an enjoyable time whilst you were in York

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Mike Sweeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,714 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing