We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean modern hotel”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed one night, ideal location, room ok but looking onto dustbins. Very good breakfast lots to choose from. Didnt realy have anything to do with staff only receptionist who was ok. Would stay again. Lots to do in York

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLUE078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you chose to stay with us and enjoyed the breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    845
    196
    32
    15
See reviews for
569
1,016
82
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely hotel for one night ( sunday 1st feb ) for a boozy night in york, its central location ideal for walking into town. We were welcomed by a lovely man called stephen who was so friendly i thought id known him all my life, he directed us to our rooms and pointed out all the facilities, our room was spotless and warm. The morning after a good nights sleep we went down for breakfast, ( a full english off course) it is self service but that suits hungry me and it was lovely, we where just finishing when stephen came in asked if we had enjoyed our night in york, did we sleep well is the breakfast ok? yes yes and yes, i would highly reccomend this fine hotel and if you are lucky enough to get stephen on reception itl make your stay even better. I hope iv spelt his name right if not il apologise next time we stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Torky-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you had a enjoyable night out in York, and that you appreciated the buffet breakfast in the morning. Steve will be delighted you mentioned him in your review. Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I would definetely recommend this hotel if you are okay to stand under a shower with a controlled water flow which will take ages to wet even a small portion of your hair in the head. It's a compromise between a nice/refreshing shower to the other aspects of the hotel. Except for the shower, i would defintely recommend this location for its cleanliness of the room/cutleries, nice breakfast, friendly staff, nearer to the station (less than 5 min walk)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rajaji K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to hear that there was an issue with the shower presure in your room when you stayed with us and please accept my apologies that we were unable to fix this whilst you were here. We have since managed to locate the fault and I can confirm that the pressure is now back to normal.

On a more positive note it was pleasing to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great hotel with everything you could expect. Short walk to the city centre which is very lively. As a University city you can expect to see lots of students around but that adds to the atmosphere. Get down early for breakfast to avoid the rush.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Don Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and had an enjoyable saty in York.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Decided to take my wife away to York for 3 nights as birthday surprise and spent hours on the internet reviewing the various hotels available. Because of the good reviews and central location, I decided on the Hampton by Hilton. It was a good choice with attentive, friendly staff and ideal as a quiet, comfortable and relaxing base for exploring a beautiful city. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting York.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanM667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you chose to stay with us for your wife's birthday surprise and I do hope she had an enjoyable birthday with us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great hotel, with the only downside being no parking (but in a city centre who expects that).

Staff were welcoming and couldn't have been more accommodating. Admittedly the food in the bar area was limited, but there are so many great restaurants nearby, it isn't an issue.

Breakfast in the morning was free and very good too.

Room was clean and tidy and bed was comfy.

Overall a great stay and much nicer than the equivalent Premier Inn, which was the same price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrKiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel, and thank you also for your lovely comments about the staff.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Really liked this hotel. Very modern and staff were brilliant. Rooms were great, bathroom spotless and nice fixtures/fittings, no external noise, facilities spot-on and generally really a pleasant stay.

Would recommend to anyone needing a hotel in central York.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am pleased you liked the hotel and the staff will be delighted to read your comments about them.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,755 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing