We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Hampton by Hilton York is the kind of hotel where you have all you need, it is clean, modern, centrally located, well organised, friendly efficient staff. The room was quiet, on the lower floor, nice big window at the rear of the hotel,near the well equipped gym. The walk in shower was fab, the bathroom itself was very clean. We would go back in an instant. The breakfast had all you could imagine, from Crumpets to lovely scrambled egg, crispy bacon, tomatoes etc. Awesome experience all round.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weymouthfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and liked the breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,831 - 1,837 of 2,500 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

Very helpful friendly staff. Spotlessly clean rooms with beautiful shower rooms and large showers. An abundance of fluffy white towels and a large screen television. Overall extremely comfortable although the mattress on the bed settee was rather thin. Lovely 'all you can eat' breakfast which we all really enjoyed. My only small criticism is that the juice was a sugary drink and not pure juice - really minor detail.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Andi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff friendly.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Having arrived to a relatively warm welcome (not the best) we were very pleased with our room, modern hotel with very good facilities.

We went out around York, wow, we never realised that there are so many hen parties!

York was lovely and lived up to all we expected. However,what didn't live up to what we were expecting was the noise and fighting from the club opposite. This really did spoil not only our nights sleep but our total experience. My wife wanted to go home - at something like 2am, not good.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DGandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to read that you didn't manage to get any sleep due to noise from the night club opoosite the hotel. We have recently had additional glazing installed which has proved sucessful in eliminating the majority of noise, therefore I was genuinely concerned to hear your comments. I would be greatful if you could spare me a moment to e-mail me at victoria.burnham@hilton.com, and let me know which room you stayed in so that I can investigate this?

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 night at the end of November the room was very modern and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Very easy to get to the shops & bars. Breakfast was ok a bit of a scrum to get to anything but the staff were very pleasant. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff pleasant.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Actually stayed in December 2012 just when the hotel had opened! The hotels location is ace! A 5 minute walk from the town center and all the restaraunts! The room was spotless and we were lucky enough to have a nice little view of the lit up big wheel! The only downside is that the hotel does not have a car park, however there is an NCP carpark within a 2 minute walk, and the hotel will foot a percentage of the bill! Overall could not fault the place! Especially as at the time it was £180 for friday and saturday stay for 2!, however I see its looking aroumd £260 at the moment, but trust me it would be money well spent! Excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razzled15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

It was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciated the view of the wheel. Unfortunately the wheel is no longer there any more, but the views of the city walls are still nice!

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a good location very close to centre / pubs. Staff very nice and welcoming, Breakfast very nice, room good only minor complaint is the air con a bit noisy. Hotel very modern and new very reasonable price £81 per night per room with breakfast

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

It was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay and liked the breakfast we offer. Please accept my apologies regarding the airconditioning. Whilst it is impossible to eliminate all noise, it shouldn't have been so loud as to disturb you, so we will certainly look into this.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic 2 night break in york. The hotel is perfectly located...just 5 - 10 minutes walk away from the shops and just round the corner from the railway museum, which is excellent!
The Hampton by Hilton staff were so friendly, and the hotel itself was immaculately presented with a lovely room and very comfy bed. Our little boys made use of the sofa bed which was also very comfy!
We made the most of the excellent breakfast with freshly made pancakes and maple syrup...followed by a plate of bacon sausage and egg - which was delicious! The staff also made one of our (fussy) boys a bowl of porridge which he really enjoyed.
Free wi-fi was the icing on the cake to a fantastic weekend away.
Thank you to all the Hampton by Hilton staff....we hopefully will be back in the New Year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 585ricardo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and I do hope you and your family had a nice time visiting York, and I hope the boys enjoyed their time at the railway museum

I was also pleased to read you appreciated the free WiFi and the sofa bed.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we would certainly love to have you here in the near future.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,878 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $118 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing