We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton by Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and I would highly recommend it to anyone. The hotel is literally a 5 minute walk from the train station and a 10 minute stroll from the city centre. The staff were friendly and efficient, the hotel spotlessly clean and modern. It was quiet at night despite a couple of bars/clubs opposite and we were not disturbed at all. The breakfast area is well stocked and has everything you could want...lots of choice, hot and cold options and the breakfast host - dark haired young man - was helpful and cheery.

We will definitely be staying at the hotel when we visit York again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyF1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and was really pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful. It was also really pleasing to read you had a good nights sleep, which is extremly important to us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    804
    184
    27
    15
See reviews for
531
943
79
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there in early December and the city centre hotel was pretty full. It is essentially a good hotel in most respects but badly let down by the quality of the breakfast.
Good things:
-The rooms are well appointed and comfortable with modern clean bathrooms. Plenty of tea & coffee provided in the room. They are mostly quiet and you can't really hear your neighbours unless they try hard ( but see my further comments on this below).
-The staff were all friendly and clearly due their best to ensure guests were well looked after.
- There is a reasonably well appointed bar and also a 24 tuck shop by reception. York is full of excellent characterful pubs, so we didn't make use of the hotel bar.
- The location is very good. It is easy to reach by car. 5-10 minutes walk from the Minster. Lots of restaurants (and cafés) nearby.
-Parking is fine. There is a designated area outside the hotel to unload and an NCP carpark a few hundred yards away which offers a discount to hotel guests. Remember to get your ticket stamped.

Bad things

Only one - the breakfast, which was truly dreadful and frankly to be avoided. The ingredients used were if very poor quality. Watery squash from a vending machine instead of fruit juice. Weak tasteless coffee. Tinned instead of fresh fruit salad. Cheap sausages (no animal harmed in their making). Funny tasting scrambled eggs. Stale buns and bread. The pancakes were obviously microwaved out of a packet and tasted like pieces of cardboard. The only redeeming item was the bacon, which was, strangely, quite ok. On the second morning we simply made bacon sandwiches with toast and they went down perfectly well. On balance, don't bother with breakfast. There are lots of cafés nearby serving very good breakfasts.

Other observations:

The hotel is medium priced and attracts commensurate clientele. Make what you will of that.

During our visit there must have been a family party as number of families with ill-controlled kids (and adults!) stayed on our corridor. The kids ran up and down the corridor most of the evening and went in and out of the rooms clunking the highly sprung doors every 30 seconds or so. Chinese water torture. The adults compounded this by tipping up from the pub at 1am and chattering loudly outside their doors. This was not the fault of the hotel. We did complain but as they were full they were unable to move us to a quieter location.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CW1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read you liked the hotel and had an enjoyable stay. It was however disappointing to read you did not enjoy the breakfast we offer. We constantly review the products we provide and do take on board comments passed to us regarding the breakfast and we'll certainly look at reviewing the products you have mentioned in orer to ensure we provide a good quality breakfast to all of our guests. Please accept my apologies that on this occasion we failed to meet your expecations.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Myself and nine friends stayed here for two nights, 7th and 8th December. We had a warm welcome from the gentleman on reception and a very nice young man gave us maps of the area and told us about all the facilities in the hotel.
The rooms were immaculate and we had two very large comfy beds in our twin room.
The breakfast was buffet style and had everything that you could ever want to eat at breakfast time.
We found the Hotel ideally situated and an easy walk into the centre of town for shopping.
We passed lots of restaurants on our walk into town so you would never be stuck for somewhere to eat.
All in all a fabulous hotel and we would definitely return and recommend to other people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am so pleased you had a fabulous stay with your friends and was really pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crosby, liverpool
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay here to do our Christmas shopping. Hotel was spotless and could not be faulted. In ideal location for all of York's attractions. Toiletries, safe, hairdryer etc all included in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank catherine059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am so pleased you had a nice Christmas shopping trip. I hope you managed to buy some loevely presents. I was really glad your liked all the facilities we provide in the room.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit, provided you have enough money left after your last shopping spree!

Merry Christmas

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel was fab stayed one night last month check in and service was fantastic room was warm and welcoming, breakfast was also great didn't expect much as it was free but it was really good

Will be back soon York is a lovely place

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am so pleased you had a pleasant stay and you enjoyed the breakfast we provide.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORK, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I met up with a Friend from Scotland and we stayed in this Hotel. It was good value for the money but a restuant would have been nice - but the meal we had in the bar area was o.k We found the Hotel was abit far from the town centre for us - but it was near the station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to hear you would have prefered the hotel to be more central. We are one of the most centrally located hotels in York and only a 5 minute walk from most of the shops and attractions and 2 minutes walk from several lovely restaurants, however I do understand that if you would like these facilities to be right next to the hotel, then this hotel may not be central enough for you.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Christmas just would not be the same without a trip to York for myself and my husband and for the past two years we have stayed at this hotel and it is fantastic from the reception service to the rooms, a lovely clean and comfortable hotel. The staff are very helpful and provide an exceptional service, very professional.

Thank you so much for providing us with the room we had previously stayed in last year, very kind and really appreciated, a fantastic room. I understand comments made with regards to the breakfast area but what I would say is there us something for everyone and nice it is too you just need to be patient if you choose to eat at peak times. We have never written a review before but think this hotel is worth it, a gem in York, thank you.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms in the hotel are to an equally high standard but our room was situated on the th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMWP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am so pleased you chose to saty with us again, and I am glad we were able to allocate you to the same room. Thank you for your helpful comments regarding breakfast also.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us next Christmas.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing