We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tommy m”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very nice staff, very nice rooms, and breakfast , very clean rooms and smell very fresh . the hotel has the look of a good Scotish woman with a touch of Italy and England very classy . Lots to do in york Will go back to hotel if back in york .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the hotel and it's 'classy' look!. I was also pleased to read you enjoyed your breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,020 - 2,026 of 2,557 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was very impressed with the Hampton, York City Centre. Service, Room, Bar, Location, you name it, it was perfect. In fact the only thing not perfect was the scrambled egg at Breakfast :-) Everything else was top notch, new, clean, and perfect. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the hotel.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the scrambled egg, we will certainly look into providing an alternative product for the future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

read some of the reviews about this hotel before we went, must say that the room myself and my husband had and also the one my son and his partner had were of a very high standard.our rooms were situated towards the back of the hotel with a view of the "York eye". the room itself was very clean and comfortable and very quiet, the bathroom was very modern i particularly liked the fact that the shampoo, conditioner, body wash, body lotion and hand wash was provided not in small travel size bottles but in wall mounted containers, i do not know what the brand of these products was but suffice to say they were very pleasant to use. breakfast appeared to be a little chaotic but if people were patient then everyone managed to get a table be it in the actual dining area or in the bar area, i will admit the reviews saying the tables were too small to seat 4 people comfortably were correct, although with some "juggling" we managed to eat together. more staff to clear away would help with this problem or some area where guests could place their own plates etc would be a good idea. the breakfast itself was very good, plenty of choice and fresh supplies regularly topped up. the hotel was only a few minutes walk from the busy centre of York. all in all a very enjoyable stay and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you had a lovely time in York.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding breakfast. We are constantly reviewing the service and products we provide, so this information will be extremely useful to us.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room is very nice and big, comfortable bed, very clean bathroom, breakfast was excelent many coises, stay here only for one night on my way from London to Edinburgh, within walking distance to almost all the city attraction, so close to the train station, Stay on August 2013, the hotel overal was exelent, should recomend this hotel

Room Tip: The view from the room quit nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendra-Julian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the hotel convenient.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed for 2 nights. York is a great way to see English history from the Roman baths to Viking civilization to castles and museums. Don't forget the chocolate tour either.

The hotel was nice and clean. Breakfast was not quite what we had become accustomed to at the other hotels, but we ate and had a great time. The location is only 3-4 blocks from where most of the sights are located. We happened to be there for the British Cycling championships and that was a great treat.

We would go back to York and would stay at the Hampton again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you had a lovely time in York.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A nearly new hotel in a great location within the city walls. Rooms were large and very clean and tidy, ours had a double bed and a sofa bet that whilst not needed for sleeping provided a comfy space to sit. Breakfast is self service, food plentiful but could have been hotter and took some time to replenish - we gave up on the baked beans. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful, the young man who greeted us also recommended a lovely Italian restaurant and booked for us getting us in even though they were very busy. A couple of niggles: the NCP car park recommended for parking costs £17.50 for 24 hours and although you get your ticket validated by the hotel on checkout we still had to pay £10.30; our room was at the back so was lovely and quiet, rooms at the front overlook a nightclub; and finally, the directions to the hotel are not foolproof - you are better looking up how to get to Micklgate Bar from where you enter the city - we obviously came in on a unfamiliar route as we got very lost!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsK-J149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the car parking. We are currently in the process of updating our website to make this information clearer for our guests.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights (July 8 2013 - July 10 2013)

The service from this place was fantastic. We received an email asking our time of arrival. I told them that it will be around 12pm knowing that i may not be able to check in until 2pm but on arrival, a room was quickly found to get my sleeping son into bed. Later, the staff were able to get a room across the hall for our parents without any problems. Staff were great to show us where all the sights were and loved a chat when we sat at the bar.

The room was modern, clean and had black out curtains!!! There was a nightclub across the road but we couldn't hear a thing.

Breakfast was ok, Had all the things one would want for breakfast but I would have preferred something more healthy. The other downfall would have been the food I ordered from the bar. It appeared slapped together and old. Maybe an upgrade in your menu or chef would do the job.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domenica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast and dinner. Please be assured that we
take all feedback very seriously and this information will be useful to us when deciding what to offer in the future.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#5 of 47 in York
1,439 reviews
1.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $112 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing