We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, five minutes from the centre of York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, five minutes from the centre of York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We took our grandchildren aged 4 and 8 for a couple of days in York and booked an overnight in the Hampton by Hilton. We went on the train and it was only a 5/10 minute walk to the hotel so extremely handy. The kids loved the hotel room, in fact they asked if they could stay another night! The sofa bed had been made into a double bed so there wasn't masses of room to move around but we were out most of the time so it was fine. The kids started messing about at bed time so we split them up, the older sleeping with grandpa and me sleeping with the 4 year old. I thought I had maybe got the worst deal but it was a really comfy sofa bed with a nice thick mattress. The only problem I had was the grandson wanting all of the bed! (bless). I did wonder why there was only a voile type curtain which meant it never got really dark, but as we had packed such a lot into our day we all fell asleep very quickly. As others have said, the windows don't open and the air con kept the room cool but it also dries the room out. Not sure how they can remedy this. The bathroom is beautiful but we all found it difficult to get anything other than slightly aired water for our showers. As the weather was really hot, it wasn't a problem but I hope it's warmer than that in winter. Breakfast was lovely and the staff are very pleasant. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: It's not high rise but the fourth floor means there's no noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixtynotout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with your grandchildren, and was really pleased you found the room had everythign your needed.

I was sorry to hear you felt the room wasn't dark enough at night. We do have black out blinds in all of our rooms as well as voiles. Perhaps you may not have noticed this?

With regards to the water temperature, it certainly should not have been the case that the shower was luke warm. Please be assure that we regularly check the temperatures of our showers, and as a result this will be rectified immediately.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    819
    186
    28
    15
See reviews for
541
960
80
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wonderful hotel, very clean. The hotel is only a few months old so all the fixtures and fittings are in a great condition. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning lent itself to a full nights sleep. Great staff who were very helpful and couldn't do enough for me. Close to City Centre and quiet. I had a very happy stay and would return anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and was really pleased you found the staff helpful and friendly.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I cannot praise this hotel enough! Everything about the stay far exceeded our expectations. From checking in to checking out was a pleasure. If travelling to York give this hotel thought. A fantastic location, 5 minutes (if that) walk from York railway station and a mere 10 minute stroll into the center of historic York. Our room was spotless and the included breakfast was amazing. Without a doubt stay at this hotel and would recommend to all without hesitation. This hotel also give a 100% satisfaction guarantee, if you are not happy then you don't pay. I cannot imagine anyone would not be happy with the service given at Hampton, York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and was really pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and found the hotel offered everthing you wanted.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

What we liked most about the hotel was its modern style situated in a very nice location within easy walking distance from York's railway station and the city center. The hotel is new and clean. During this trip in Yorkshire and Northumberland we stayed in a number of hotels and this hotel had by far the best value for money deal. There was a comfortable sofa bed in the room for our 11-year old daughter, the bathroom was very nice, the breakfast buffet was also excellent. It was very busy at the breakfast, so we were offered a seat in the bar area because the restaurant was full, but we did not mind. In fact, from the bar area the view was even nicer. In spite of being very busy, the cook did not mind making us fresh pancakes and bringing them to our table. Really loved our stay and would recommend this as an an excellent place to stay during a visit to York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiaLaenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and was really pleased you found the staff helpful and friendly. I was also pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast along with it's lovely views of the courtyard!

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Good central quiet location, with parking really close by. Nice views of the city wall from some rooms. Rooms spacious, comfortable, modern and clean. Nice walk in shower. Could just do with bottled water being in the room. Breakfast is ok since it is included in the price but the selection on offer and meat quality could be improved. It was also a little chaotic at the buffet breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 509F_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and was really pleased you liked your room.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night midweek and would highly recommend it. The hotel is well situated, being only 5 minutes walk from the station and 5/10 minutes walk into the centre of York. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well sound proofed although you are unable to open the windows and have to rely on the air conditioning to keep the room cool. That didn't bother me but it might bother some people. The breakfast in the morning is a help yourself affair but there is loads of choice including cooked options and you can eat as much as you want. The staff are very accommodating but they did overbook the hotel on the night we stayed and threatened to move us to the Premier Inn around the corner. We are very glad they didn't because that particular Premier Inn isn't a patch on this hotel. One other thing, the car parking is in the NCP just down the road (only a couple of minutes walk) and the car park closes at 10pm so if you are arriving late, I'm not sure what you do. Other than that, I can highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere reasonably priced in the centre of York.

Room Tip: Didn't use the fitness centre but they do have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaghetti16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and was really pleased you liked the breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have always stayed at Hilton Brands and normally use the Mint hotel (now doubletree) and so was comparing against them. Although some of the Doubletree features were missing there was the same feeling of luxuary in the Bedroom and bathroom and with the exception of the IMac found the room to be better (the bathroom definately was) there were only 2 slight grumbles, firstly there appears to be a problem with hot water in the morning, but it became boiing in seconds. The other is a problem only men will have - although there are plenty of plugs there are no shaver points for electric razors. A trip to reception solved this as they have plenty of adaptors. The staff though are excellent! I make a point never to praise staff by name but Danny was excellent, firstly he resolved my shaver problem, secondly he was able to sell and explain the Hampton Brand - result I have now book 2 more stays whilst in the USA. The breakfasts are fantastic and whilst there is a buffet your server will happliy serve you decent american Pancakes with Maple syrup for Breakfast. Will highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: stayed on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and was really pleased you liked the facilities we provide and Danny will be really pleased that you took the time to mention him.

Please be assured that we will investigate the issue with the hot water in your room, as this should certainly not have been the case.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing