We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base to explore York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What we liked most about the hotel was its modern style situated in a very nice location within easy walking distance from York's railway station and the city center. The hotel is new and clean. During this trip in Yorkshire and Northumberland we stayed in a number of hotels and this hotel had by far the best value for money deal. There was a comfortable sofa bed in the room for our 11-year old daughter, the bathroom was very nice, the breakfast buffet was also excellent. It was very busy at the breakfast, so we were offered a seat in the bar area because the restaurant was full, but we did not mind. In fact, from the bar area the view was even nicer. In spite of being very busy, the cook did not mind making us fresh pancakes and bringing them to our table. Really loved our stay and would recommend this as an an excellent place to stay during a visit to York.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiaLaenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and was really pleased you found the staff helpful and friendly. I was also pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast along with it's lovely views of the courtyard!

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,087 of 2,579 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Good central quiet location, with parking really close by. Nice views of the city wall from some rooms. Rooms spacious, comfortable, modern and clean. Nice walk in shower. Could just do with bottled water being in the room. Breakfast is ok since it is included in the price but the selection on offer and meat quality could be improved. It was also a little chaotic at the buffet breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Back2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and was really pleased you liked your room.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night midweek and would highly recommend it. The hotel is well situated, being only 5 minutes walk from the station and 5/10 minutes walk into the centre of York. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well sound proofed although you are unable to open the windows and have to rely on the air conditioning to keep the room cool. That didn't bother me but it might bother some people. The breakfast in the morning is a help yourself affair but there is loads of choice including cooked options and you can eat as much as you want. The staff are very accommodating but they did overbook the hotel on the night we stayed and threatened to move us to the Premier Inn around the corner. We are very glad they didn't because that particular Premier Inn isn't a patch on this hotel. One other thing, the car parking is in the NCP just down the road (only a couple of minutes walk) and the car park closes at 10pm so if you are arriving late, I'm not sure what you do. Other than that, I can highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere reasonably priced in the centre of York.

Room Tip: Didn't use the fitness centre but they do have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaghetti16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and was really pleased you liked the breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have always stayed at Hilton Brands and normally use the Mint hotel (now doubletree) and so was comparing against them. Although some of the Doubletree features were missing there was the same feeling of luxuary in the Bedroom and bathroom and with the exception of the IMac found the room to be better (the bathroom definately was) there were only 2 slight grumbles, firstly there appears to be a problem with hot water in the morning, but it became boiing in seconds. The other is a problem only men will have - although there are plenty of plugs there are no shaver points for electric razors. A trip to reception solved this as they have plenty of adaptors. The staff though are excellent! I make a point never to praise staff by name but Danny was excellent, firstly he resolved my shaver problem, secondly he was able to sell and explain the Hampton Brand - result I have now book 2 more stays whilst in the USA. The breakfasts are fantastic and whilst there is a buffet your server will happliy serve you decent american Pancakes with Maple syrup for Breakfast. Will highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: stayed on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amsterdam352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and was really pleased you liked the facilities we provide and Danny will be really pleased that you took the time to mention him.

Please be assured that we will investigate the issue with the hot water in your room, as this should certainly not have been the case.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My impression of this hotel prior to my arrival was that it would be like a "Premier Inn" but by another name. Thankfully it was a lot better than that. The man at the desk genuinely seemed to enjoy his job, therefore making him helpful and this made for a positive start to our stay.
We had a family room which was reasonably priced, maybe a little on the expensive side, but all in all it was clean, comfortable and functional.
The gym had good facilities and the location of the hotel itself was great for venturing out into what is, in my opinion, a beautiful city.
Breakfast was buffet style and the choice was very good, a lady was on hand too to help at all times which was handy as I had quite a severe hangover. Another nice touch to breakfast was the take-away cups on hand so you could grab a drink on the way out too.
So all in all it was a very good stay in a hotel which did a little bit more than the usual suspects and I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and was really pleased you found the staff helpful and friendly.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hotel clean and modern. Staff are accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was enjoyable, however the plates were cold therefore the food got cold quickly. Other reviews mentioned that the dining area was too small for the amount of guests, however we went for breakfast at 8 o'clock and there was plenty tables free.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and was really pleased you found the staff helpful and friendly. I was also glad you enjoyed your breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting York for my Birthday in March this year and while it was a pleasant stay, it was a pity as it was very cold with heavy snow. The hotel has very good facilities such as a gym and a 24 hour bar. The breakfast was self service and very nice. The food was kept on top of by the servers so they never ran out of any food or drinks and dirty plates and glasses were cleared promptly. The staff all seemed very professional and the gentleman on the bar late at night was very bubbly and kind. The room was very big, clean and well furnished - a nice modern bathroom. We stayed on the ground floor though so couldn't open our curtains for people looking in. We will probably return next time visiting York but will ask for a higher room.

Room Tip: Didn't like our ground floor room, next time will ask for a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieMay169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your birthday with us at the hotel and that you enjoyed our inclusive breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit. Please feel free to give us a call next time and we'll certainly allocate you to a higher floor.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,957 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,461 reviews
1.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $107 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing