We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were so happy to have found this great hotel in York. The hotel is very clean with lovely bedrooms/modern bathrooms. The location is also great with a 5 min walk into the city. The breakfast is good, the big disappointment is the hot drinks machine. I enjoy fresh coffee and this milti drinks machine does not deliver!

I would like to mention 3 members of staff who are/have been extremely friendly and helpful to us during our stay and they are Danny, Anthony and Abdalla - each one of these members have staff made our stay very pleasant indeed.

All of the above are very professional.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor which was fine, I am sure all rooms are of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked the inclusive breakfast. I was also delighted to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for your comments regarding the drinks machine at breakfast, we do review our products regularly and this information will be invaluable to us when choosing what to offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,060 - 2,066 of 2,514 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Well situated modern non-smoking hotel in York. Excellent proximity to major local attractions and within walking distance to train station. Helpful hotel staff. Rooms were clean, modern, with comfortable beds. Our room on the main floor easily accommodated our family of four although the second bed was a hide a bed. Wide variety of both hot and cold breakfast items. Lovely lounge area with computer access, Wi-Fi included with rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a good nights sleep. I was also delighted to hear you appreciated the inclusive breakfast and other facilities we provide.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 15th July for three nights. The welcome on arrival was superb all down to the staff. Sorry I didn't get names!! as it was my sisters 60th Birthday which came up in conversation on arrival - card and chocolates in the room by the time we got there. All staff we came in contact with throughout our staff were chatty and very attentive the one name I did get was Anthony but the girls in the bar were great always a warm welcome.
The hotel décor is very modern and certainly clean.
Really enjoyed breakfast - nice selection and hot food (Hot).
The location great for railway station and pleasant walk into centre of York.
I'm afraid there was one thing that was negative - showers not very much pressure and fluctuated between hot and cold!! didn't spoil our stay but may need to be looked at?
A comment made by a member of staff when I complimented them on their personal treatment of guests - was that the Hotel was owned by a very nice gentleman.
Well done Hampton - a hotel for the people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and your sister had an enjoyable 60th bithday. I was also delighted to hear you found the staff friendly.

Thank you for your comments regarding the water pressure, we will certainly be investigating this to ensure that this is corrected immediately.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nice Hotel and excellent food, we stayed on 8th July 2013, room was a bit small for a family of four but for all the time you spend in it, nice bathroom, bed comfortable . Check in was professional, staff very polite. Would stay again very good location .Keep up the great work Hampton

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with your family and you
liked the food we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of a work colleague, mainly because in the heat the hotel is modern and has great air conditioning in the rooms. I arrived by car and as there is no parking on site this can be found just down the road and you get a preferred rate when you get your ticket validated by reception. The check in was efficient, welcoming and I was made to feel welcome. The rooms are a large, very modern, comfortable and clean. For an evening meal I would suggest going out as the snack menu is a bit limited but for breakfast there was plenty to choose from. The hotel is well situated for the city and close to most attractions. I will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: No preference but a double is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillyP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the inclusive breakfast we provide.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Had a most enjoyable stay at the Hampton and am surprised to see that some people found fault with this hotel. For a 3 star rated hotel I found the facilities second to none.
The location is ideal and is the reason I left my car at home and took a relaxing train journey to York. I have stayed in one or two hotels in York and found the Hampton to be among the best. The staff were very friendly and helpful in providing suggestions on places to visit and somewhere to eat. The hotel was very busy but the breakfast was well cooked and although the breakfast area was busy the ground floor is significant with ample facility to sit and enjoy the meal.
The Bar/recreation area offered what I thought was a very reasonably priced menu offering snacks and drinks at affordable prices comparable to the cafes in the area
In my book the Hampton is a well deserved 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you gave us such a positive review.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Good Location however, NO comparison to York Hilton, what has been replicated is a "Ramada Jarvis" the main weakness of this hotel has been highlighted many times as the breakfast, pure chaos with very limited choices e.g. no fried eggs or rice crispies?, and most importantly cannot cope table wise, some directional flow system would greatly help the situation. TV is also very variable in terms of reception. Staff and decor however is nice and for Hilton association drinks and food competitively priced. Parking is confusing, however it shouldn't be, as car park is on the same street £10 per Night NCP when ticket is stamped by reception, air conditioning is effective but noisy, tea coffee and buffet supply problematic and no HHons water supply.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the location convienient. I was also delighted to hear you felt the bar and meal prices were good.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast, whilst we are limited by what the brand allows us to provide for breakfast, we do review our products regularly and this information will be invaluable to us when choosing what to offer. We are aware that breakfast can get very busy at peak times, and we do provide information at the lifts as to which are the quieter times, and ask guests to use the bar seating area as well as the restaurant. Unfortunately as we provide an inclusive breakfast for all our guests, it is often busy, especially when many guests choose to eat between 9am and 10am.

With regards to your comments regarding your HHonors water in the room. This is not longer offfered at Hampton by Hilton hotels. We now offer all Gold and Diamond members their choice of any drink and snack from our 24/7 snack area. Most guests feel this is better for them as it allows them more flexibilty to choose an item that they would prefer. If you would prefer to have a bottle of water in your room, we would be happy to update your HHonors profile next time you stay with us so that we can have this ready for you.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,390 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $117 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing