We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location clean and well maintained hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel on business. I was very pleasantly surprised the hotel was well located for the city and train station. The rooms were clean and functiona. The only down side was lack of hotel car park. Would stay here again great location and competitive cost.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and found the hotel suited yoiur needs for a business trip.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit

Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,310 - 2,316 of 2,646 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for two nights the weekend just gone and both thought it was an excellent hotel. The room was spacious, clean and modern with everything we needed, and the public areas were the same. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the hotel itself was ideally located a short walk over the bridge from the main city centre, but far enough away that it was quiet on a night. Plenty of choice for breakfast, and even when it was coming to the end of breakfast time there was still fresh food being brought out. We both agreed that our stay was better than we have had at some of the more expensive hotels in York, so I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank icklecalol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent weekend stay and found the hotel to be in a good location. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit

Regards

Victoria Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very close to the train station ,easy walk from there and into the city,very new, modern ,and clean.Staff very helpfull.breakfast was ok,but cooked breakfast could have been better.Beds were very comfortable,we had 2 single in our room and they were a really good size.Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and found the hotel to be in a good location. I am glad you liked the comfort of our twin rooms as well.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit

Regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked this for a night away over a weekend so we didn't want anything too pricey but central. Hampton by Hilton satisfied both requests and I was really happy with the room and the hotel. I wouldn't say this is a budget hotel along the Premier Inn/Travelodge lines but strives I think to provide good value and good service.

Parking is close by at a NCP car park - £10 when validated by the hotel. Our discount hadn't been applied properly when we got to the ticket machine but the hotel reception staff had already primed us that this might be the case - one quick discussion with the NCP helpdesk and it was sorted out.

The hotel seems pretty new, a stone's throw from the railway station and within the city walls. It's only a 10 minute walk into the centre of York but quiet enough as well to give a good night's rest. It's away from the pubs and we didn't experience any disturbance despite having a room overlooking the road.

The rooms are fairly small, but designed to make the most of the space. Modern, clean bathroom with a great walk-in shower rather than over a bath. It's a bonus that the breakfast is included and the choice was also pretty good. I'm a fan of buffet breakfasts but if you want something more personalised then it may not be for you. It was busy at 9am on a Sunday but we managed to find a table.

I'd recommend this hotel and would book again with Hampton by Hilton.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sek1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hotel and found your stay good value for money. I am also pleased that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast and found the rooms to your liking.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit

Regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We are just back from a weekend break from this hotel, good location, 10 mins walk from centre and about 5 mins walk from train station.
Clean and modern hotel with friendly staff, nice room with a comfy bed, plenty of electrical sockets in good locations. Breakfast was really good.
The only negative about this hotel was the water pressure for the shower which was poor, and a couple of minor issues, there is'nt a fridge in the room and also the tap for the sink is too far back from the sink bowl, the hole for the tap has been drilled in the wrong place in the marble but it has been decided to just go ahead and use it anyway.
Having said all that if we were to come back to York we would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tattieheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hotel and found the breakfast enjoyable. Your feedback regarding the room is very much appreciated and something we are looking to address in our new property.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed with friends for one night to visit theatre. The Hotel is modern and spotlessly clean - no niggles on that front at all. The staff on arrival were very welcoming. Good selection for breakfast to please all tastes, although the chef wouldn't provide a poached egg for my wife as only scrambled eggs were on offer. Tea and coffee facilities in the rooms could be better although when requested extra sachets were provided. Before we set off for our night out we requested an ice bucket and champagne flutes for a celebratary drink, which we had brought with us, and these were provided without issue. Hotel is a short walk from the centre (10 -15Mins) and its position ensures a quiet nights sleep. We requested directions to the theatre and the staff were only to pleased to help and even provided a map to help us on our way. Would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent theatre break at in York and found the staff friendly and knowledgeable about York. We are restricted by brand as to what egg options we can offer on our buffet, so I apologies that we could not offer you a poached egg.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit

Regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This new hotel within the city walls is ideally located for a city break. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious and the included buffet breakfast makes the stay extremely good value. The staff are friendly and welcoming and discounted parking is available nearby.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gordy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hotel and found the rooms comfortable as well as finding us good value for money.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, we do hope to see you again soon

Warm regards

Mike sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.6 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#30 of 47 in York
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $102 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing