We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Wanted to go shopping and sight seeing around York so decided to book into this hotel as looked like it was close to shopping center and also attractions.

Staff very friendly - bed very comfy and brilliant shower (I am fussy with showers like them powerful). Stayed on a high up floor so thankfully we had a lift.

Didn't use the Gym but had a look at it and looked impressive. Same with food - we didnt have the breakfast as liked a lay in.

Sadly we went to the hotel during the February snow and had a power cut - this however cannot be blamed on the hotel as the neighboring area was also out.

In a great location for the center of York for the shops. Would definitely use the hotel again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamstm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked your bed and found the shower brilliant.

I am glad the power cut in York did not spoil your shopping weekend.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,254 - 2,260 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Fabulous room, location and service. Very clean very friendly and in the centre of York so easy access to the wonderful city and all it's attractions. Handy if you are arriving by train too I would imagine, it is just over the road from the station. However, if you have a car, they suggest you park in the NCP car park across the road. Warning, this costs £13 a night! Add this to the cost of the room and breakfast and I'm afraid it puts this hotel out of reach for me in future. Shame.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thaw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you found the rooms fabulous and the service and location good. I am sorry you found the parking charge expensive. We do find this price very competitive for York.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Lovely spotless modern hotel bathroom was excellent so sparkling an spacious soft fluffy towels ,beds so comfy and pillows like fluffy clouds. Breakfast was good no complants only problem was ncp car park no pay machines working and had to wait about half hour for it to be sorted ,but not hotels fault ,will defo stop in hampton again loved it

Room Tip: We stopped on 5th floor so peaceful and good views of walls and the York eye
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hetty r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the soft fluffy pillows and enjoyed your views from the 5th floor..

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

After an initial booking problem that was very quickly sorted everything else at The Hamptons was excellent. The staff are indeed friendly and cannot help enough (special mention to Danny). The hotel is in a perfect position between train station and York Centre itself (It is literally 5 minutes from both). The hotel was very clean and modern and so was the room I was surprised at no biscuits in the room but this is very minor and nothing to complain about. The all you can eat breakfast had a small but very nice hot selection of food as well as all the usual fruits, pastries, cereals, yoghurts and mini muffins to name but a few of the breakfast items available. I aslo had orange juice and coffee from the breakfast selection and found both to be very tasteful. My partner and I stayed at the front of the hotel opposite Tokyo nightclub. The triple glazed windows meant 99% of the noise is cancelled out, which is good news with all the hen/stag partes that York now attracts. On that note the Hamptons seemed to be full of couples and families, not sure if its their policy but it didn't seem any large groups of males or females stayed the 2 nights we stayed (Friday/Saturday). The fact that the hotel will look after your bags after you have checked out means you can make the most of your stay (if its pleasure trip). Meant we could visit more attractions on Sunday afterwe had checked out. We have agreed that if (when) we come back to York this is the first hotel we will call!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cunning-runt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your breakfast. Thank you for the feedback about our triple glazing windows. I’m pleased that it kept out 99% of the noise. Thank you for the really positive feedback, particularly regarding Danny.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Rather unfortunately a mixed bag at this hotel. The hotel is excellently located and close to the city but our stay didn't start well when we were incorrectly overcharged for our room. However they were apologetic, refunded the difference and offered a complimentary bottle of wine. Excellent customer service.

The room itself was modern and clean and the bed large and comfortable. However the was extremely hot - there were no opening windows and the air con was limited and insisted on constantly turning itself off after a few minutes of use.

The room was laid odd poorly, an extra chair would have been useful and annoyingly the cupboard door and bathroom door were one and the same. Sadly one on occasion this meant that my companion opened the bathroom door which rammed into me while removing items from the cupboard. We had to adopt a signal system following this!

On our first morning there was no hot water - I understand from reception this was due to an issue with the boiler. An overly hot room and a freezing cold shower did not put me in the best mood for exploring the beautiful city of York.

The breakfast was good and very welcome, other than the stale croissants. However, as a parting note, I feel this hotel should seriously invest in teaspoons. Both at breakfast and in the room you have to chopstick your tea bags out with wooden sticks. Not easy, or classy.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am sorry you found the Hotel not quite to your liking. Thank you for the feedback regarding the layout of our rooms, our Brand will always welcome the feedback for when new Hamptons are built.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Kind regards

Mike sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is an excellent hotel in the heart of York. The rooms are modern, clean, well-equipped, and relatively spacious. The staff are absolutely fantastic: very friendly, helpful and above all competent (something that seems to be a rarity these days!). Parking in the nearby car park is available at a discounted rate (£9.90/24hours). Just remember to validate your parking ticket at hotel reception.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yehia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the rooms and found them well equipped for your needs throughout your stay

Thank you for a very positive regarding the Reception Team, I am really pleased that they made you feel welcome in our Hotel

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Kind regards

Mike Sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Arrived early to drop our bags and was very surprised to be informed our rooms were ready, very rarely does this happen. The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming and informative giving a great start to our weekend. The rooms are very clean and modern and had a "nice" feel. The staff in all area's were very friendly and particular attention was paid to the presentation of the public area's. The breakfast choice was a little limited, but sufficient.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Winchest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the rooms and found that the Receptionist was friendly and welcoming

Thank you for a very positive regarding our public areas, I will be delighted to pass on your praise to the Housekeeping Team.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit.

Kind regards

Mike sweeting
Mike sweeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,949 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,458 reviews
1.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $108 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing