We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money central hotel and ideal case of get what pay for!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value for money central hotel and ideal case of get what pay for!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Every year for last 4 we have been to York between Xmas and newyear for family break always stay at the Hilton but this year was unavailable so booked next best thing!! Arrived early 1130 but room was ready had family room very new of a little cramped with double bed and sofa bed but bathroom fab!! Breakfast great and plentiful only gripe was keycard stopped working husband went down receptionist frostily re keyed without apology!!
Parked ncp across rd had ticket validated so £10 24 hours v reasonable think will go back Hilton next year as much better location for extra cash!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummyrothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely Christmas break.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Wishing you a happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    819
    186
    28
    15
See reviews for
540
960
80
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brit in Gulf
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Only 2 months old, the hotel is clean, and in excellent order. Rooms are modern and well designed; a good budget hotel but oozing quality and service that comes from the Hilton stable. Room 524 is on the top floor and in the corner so we got 2 extra, small windows - a good room to request midweek. We spent 2 nights but the first (a Friday) was disturbed somewhat by the Tokyo Nightclub opposite. It was noisy and not even the modern double glazing could eliminate all the noise. If staying over a weekend, ask for a room at the back.

The next morning, we asked for a room at the back and we were immediately accommodated. The receptionist (K) was fantastic, she took care of the move, made sure the room was ready on time and did everything possible to make up for the previous night. Service throughout the hotel was top class.

Breakfast was included in the price and it had a decent selection of hot and cold food. We ate breakfast late and all tables were taken, that was no problem as we simply ate in the bar area, which was even better with its floor to ceiling glass walls. Throw in free internet, you have excellent value of a centrally located hotel - only 3 minutes from the train station. I would highly recommend it and will return whenever visiting York.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie-In-Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely Christmas break.

I was sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed by the nightclub opposite. You may be pleased to hear that we are having work completed early in the new year in order to resolve this issue.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Wishing you a happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This new hotel is not as expensive as some nearby hotels and is central enough to be convenient to both town and the railway station. fresh and modern, I like the big beds with firm mattresses and the bathrooms with walk in showers. having breakfast can be a pain, about 25 tables for 119 rooms so be early if you can!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely Christmas break.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Wishing you a happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night with my partner, very modern & clean hotel. Bit of a mix up at reception but was sorted & the manager was very apologetic. Thought the reception staff could be a bit friendlier & thought that when i booked too but didnt let it put me off! Breakfast good & great selection. Rooms are great & bathrooms are lovely. Good location only short walk to the centre. Would recommend & would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lsaxbyrobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely Christmas break.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Wishing you a happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I spend four days of the Christmas holidays in this hotel and had a very good time. The room was new and modern, with tea/coffee facilities. Only the beds were like concrete for me. But everything was cleaned well, friendly staff. You could walk to the city center within 10 minutes. No complaints about that at all.
Breakfast was 'free' but very English. After four days of baked beans, schrambled eggs, sausages and bacon I could do with some bread and cheese as a Dutch girl ;) But not a big problem. So the hotel itself is lovely and I would certainly go there again, however...the opposite neighbour of the hotel is a nightclub. Fortunately the nightclub wasn't open all nights because of Christmas...but on the last night: screaming boys and girls, loud music, vomit all around the place. Not a nice site. The loud basstones went right through my earplugs. Such a pity. If I was the owner of this hotel (Mr. Hilton?)l I would buy the damn place and shut it down immediately.
Take a room at the back of the hotel or else you won't sleep a wink. And if this is not available, I would consider another hotel because of this.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel is a must, or else you won't leep a wink because of the nighclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna196537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely Christmas break.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Wishing you a happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed at hotel with my daughter just before Christmas on short break to York.
The first room we were given was at the front of property but it had no blinds only net curtains. As windows are floor to ceiling that wasn't ideal but front desk happily moved us to another room.
We had no problem with noise but hotel is across road from a busy York nightclub so this might have some noise at weekend.
Couldn't get wifi on my Ipod touch in room which was a bit annoying - hotels shouldn't advertise free wifi unless they have a strong signal in all rooms. Front desk was unhelpful when I asked about this and blamed it on fact that I only had an Ipod touch - it works other places including Starbucks so think it is their problem.
We had twin bed room - clean and spacious. Large walk in shower but basic toiletries and towels rather unfluffy given that this is a new hotel.
Tea/coffee making facilities in room (no biscuits!) and large TV. Adequate hanging space.
Breakfast was good, self service - fruit juice, cereal, yoghurts, grapefruit segments, bacon, sausage, egg etc. Make your own toast and coffee. Warning given that breakfast area gets very busy after 9am but we found that guests were mainly businessmen so breakfast actually quietened down after 9am although probably the opposite at weekends.
Hotel is less than 10 minute walk from station, no car parking but there is an NCP at end of road.
Very good Chinese restaurant - Red Chilli - less than 5 minutes walk away (do not confuse with the all you can eat Chinese buffet restaurant on opposite side of road) but only 5 minutes from lots of other restaurants in York centre.
If you want a clean, basic hotel that is a cut above Premier Inn then I would recommend.
Don't book on hotel's own site as cheaper deals through other hotel booking website - even if these don't say free breakfast included it is as this is one of Hampton's selling points.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel as possible noise from nightclub across road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cannytraveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely Christmas break.

I was sorry to hear you could not get WiFi on your Ipod touch. This should not have been the case as the WiFI should work with all Ipod's. I will ensure that this is investigated and resolved. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience this caused you.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Wishing you a happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife booked to stay in this hotel as a break before Christmas. The hotel is very near the train station so you can leave the car at home. The hotel is very clean with a spacious bedroom and bathroom you could not ask for more . The staff were professional and friendly the manager s very cheery . Breakfast is first class and is set out to help yourself .
We will return in the future !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely Christmas break.


Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Property: Hampton by Hilton York
Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing