We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“NEW YEAR CELEBRATIONS”
other travelers have booked this property
A converted Victorian coach house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A converted Victorian coach house
The open plan living room on the first floor. The coach house apartment seen from its secluded courtyard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
A converted Victorian coach house
The open plan living room on the first floor.
The coach house apartment seen from its secluded courtyard.
Comfortable furnishing and central heating under your control.
TV with Freeview and DVD player
BT Infinity wireless broadband
Dining in style.
The compact kitchen has a welcome pack of useful groceries.
Leafy views from the dining table across gardens.
There are a dishwasher, electric oven, gas hob, fridge and microwave.
The king size bed in the upstairs bedroom
Views from the upstairs bedroom.
The ground floor bedroom overlooks the courtyard and is next to the bathroom.
The double bed in the ground floor bedroom
Bathroom with roomy shower and two heated towel rails
One sofa in the living area converts into a small double bed for a fifth guest in the living area.
Space to relax in a leafy courtyard
The door to the apartment (with Maytime blossoms!)
A quiet and peaceful corner 10 minutes from the heart of the city
The riverside path (New Walk) provides a pleasant 10 minute stroll into the heart of the city.
The coach house adjoins a Victorian terrace house, recently a location for ITV's  'Dark Angel'.
Handy specialist shops nearby
The Phoenix, one of the fine local pubs and restaurants - full details provided in the flat
A perfect base for exploring York...
... or the rest of glorious Yorkshire..
A cosy, private space to come home to...
with games,,,
..and space to put your feet up.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
felicity...
1 review
“NEW YEAR CELEBRATIONS”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed for 3 nights over the New Year, apartment was warm, cosy and very welcoming, had all the amenities you require. The property is in a great location with a pleasant 10 minute walk into York centre. Sue the owner was very friendly. Hope to go back soon. Would highly recommend

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2017
So pleased to hear you had a comfortable and cosy stay At New Year. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gva1970
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed December 13, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

A beautiful, modern, very comfortable and spacious apartment in an ideal location for visiting York attractions....ten minute stroll away! We were 2 couples on a weekend break and this accommodation pleased us all! Great communication from Sue, the owner, in the lead up to our trip. Just Perfect! Highly recommended! Will definitely return!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2016
Thanks very much! So pleased everybody liked being there. It was great to have you stay and we look forward to the next time. Sue and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keithed
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Central well equipped and welcoming”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After looking for a central location in York we found the New Walk Coach House. The price was great and we were very happy with our stay. It's a quick walk into town but you have all facilities at hand in the beautifully converted coach house too. Parking is right outside and the M6 is a short drive away to come and go.York has lots to see and do and an amazing historic town centre. Sue the owner answered our questions promptly and could not have been more helpful we really appreciated the welcome pack. Thanks.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
Very kind of you to write and we appreciate your remarks. I'm sorry we didn't get to meet and are pleased arrangements worked out well for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The big leather settee.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. I must tell you that we have successfully rehung the bedroom door following your friend's advice - so thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southampton
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2016
We're very glad you enjoyed your time in York, and found it easy to make your way along the riverside walk into the city centre. Thanks for going to the trouble of writing these kind notes - and we hope to meet you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TriciaJJ2...
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just came home from a wonderful weekend stay at New Walk Coach House to celebrate my birthday with friends. Fantastic property, which included everything you could need for a relaxing stay. Very peaceful location, and loved the 10 minute walk alongside the river into town. We will definitely book this property again, when we next visit York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The two ring hob
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2016
We're delighted to hear you enjoyed celebrating your birthday in the coach house. It is a lovely walk by the river,isn't it. Thank you for writing about your stay. Sue and Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarahaye...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worked really well as a city base for us and our baby”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Really convenient for the city centre and lovely location by the river. The accommodation worked really well for us as there are two bedrooms, a living room and a kitchen area. It meant that we could spread out a bit, have our baby sleep in one bedroom, and my husband and I still have a nice evening together in the living room and kitchen, before retiring to a separate bedroom. I looked into hotels but even with family rooms just couldn't find anything with the space to make it work comfortably. All in all this gave us more space and probably wasn't actually much more expensive than 3 nights in a hotel in York anyway. Great views across the gardens to the river and stunning sunsets! Handy having the beer and cheese shop at the end of the road. I know this area very well and it was wonderful to be home again, even seeing familiar faces amongst the neighbours. Thanks again - we will likely book again for future visits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Downstairs bedroom a bit chilly as by the front door and drafts
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2016
We're so pleased the flat suited your family well. Like you, we love the sunsets across the river, not to mention Jim's special Beer and Wine (and cheese!) shop. So glad you enjoyed revisiting York, nd I hope we meet next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing