We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Considerate owners”
other travelers have booked this property
A converted Victorian coach house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A converted Victorian coach house
The open plan living room on the first floor. The coach house apartment seen from its secluded courtyard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
A converted Victorian coach house
The open plan living room on the first floor.
The coach house apartment seen from its secluded courtyard.
Comfortable furnishing and central heating under your control.
TV with Freeview and DVD player
BT Infinity wireless broadband
Dining in style.
The compact kitchen has a welcome pack of useful groceries.
Leafy views from the dining table across gardens.
There are a dishwasher, electric oven, gas hob, fridge and microwave.
The king size bed in the upstairs bedroom
Views from the upstairs bedroom.
The ground floor bedroom overlooks the courtyard and is next to the bathroom.
The double bed in the ground floor bedroom
Bathroom with roomy shower and two heated towel rails
One sofa in the living area converts into a small double bed for a fifth guest in the living area.
Space to relax in a leafy courtyard
The door to the apartment (with Maytime blossoms!)
A quiet and peaceful corner 10 minutes from the heart of the city
The riverside path (New Walk) provides a pleasant 10 minute stroll into the heart of the city.
The coach house adjoins a Victorian terrace house, recently a location for ITV's  'Dark Angel'.
Handy specialist shops nearby
The Phoenix, one of the fine local pubs and restaurants - full details provided in the flat
A perfect base for exploring York...
... or the rest of glorious Yorkshire..
A cosy, private space to come home to...
with games,,,
..and space to put your feet up.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
padherf
Rhuddlan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Considerate owners”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Due to a film crew turning up at the main house earlier than expected the owners contacted us to explain the situation and offer/suggest a refund of our rental costs. Very pleased with Sue's communication throughout and will certainly book the Coach House next time we visit York

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2015
It's very kind of you to post these comments given the problems we brought you. Thank you, and I hope we see you in York some other time. No more filming, we promise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karine_an...
Rouen, France
1 review
“A Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

That apartment is great, comfortable and convenient.
The bed rooms are large and the beds comfortable.
Well equipped and very clean.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2015
I'm delighted to hear you liked the flat. To be honest, I wouldn't claim that the second bedroom is large.... but I'm glad you found it comfortable. And it's nice to hear that the cleaning is appreciated! Thank you for writing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl-TA...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice accomodation, all as described”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Found place easy following Sue's instructions and pleased that everything was as expected and Sue very helpful. Attractive building 10 min walk from centre (even with slow walking children). Very nice to have the few groceries, thank you. Husband loved the coffee! Also useful having games to amuse kids. Kitchen & dining area and lounge furnishings all good, although sofa cushions getting a little soft, sunk a bit when sitting there. I found bed to be comfortable and good size - some may find it a bit low though! Worth the money for the facilities and location compared to a hotel.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and suggestion. We're so pleased you found New Walk Coach House suited you and the children. (Wish we could have arranged for more sunshine, too!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendyj207
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful home from home”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful 2 night stay here for my Daughters graduation. It is absolutely superb. Very comfortable, clean and modern. Dawn made us feel welcome and comfortable from the start. There were nice little touches, tea, coffee, milk, bread and butter to help us settle in. Just a short stroll along the riverside is all that is needed to get to the centre of town and all of the shops and restaurants etc. It is very good value compared to other rentals that I looked at too. Thankyou so much to Sue, Roger and Dawn for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, comfort and location.
Liked least: I liked everything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2015
I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in New Walk Coach House, and will make sure Dawn hears your appreciation too! I'm sure the graduation lived up to expectations, too. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ideal location and a very airy accommodation”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We traveled as two couples, one from Newcastle and the other from near Grantham, each of us celebrating our 40th wedding Anniversaries very soon. I found New Walk Coach House through Trip Advisor and previous ratings were spot on, thanks to other contributors. The Coach House was very clean and as there was no one in the accommodation before us we were allowed early entry at no additional cost, also as there was no one in after us we were also allowed to leave a little later again without any additional cost. The downstairs bedroom is much smaller than the one upstairs and there is limited space for clothes but there is hanging space in the entrance hall which is not much of an inconvenience. The upstairs bedroom is bigger and very airy. The living space is excellent and plenty of comfortable space for the 4 of us with 2 good sized settees. We were only here for 2 nights so we did not cook in the kitchen on either evening which would not have been too easy as there were only 2 rings on the hob we managed with toast on the first morning and ate out on the second. The location is perfect we could walk into York City Centre in less than 10 mins. directly along the riverside which is only a 30 second walk from the door. Parking was easy with permits provided and plenty of parking spaces in the street, not like previous visits where even with permits we have found it difficult, this was much better. The accommodation was very clean and well decorated and a pleasure to spend time in, we drank Champagne in the small outside courtyard at the wooden table and chairs, very pleasant and the weather on this occasion was also perfect. I would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to anyone, first class.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2015
Thanks for posting this review. Pros and cons - it's all true and very helpful to future guests! For anyone interested in preparing their own meals, it might be helpful to know that there is a full size electric oven with grill, a microwave, and a dishwasher, although space limits us to two gas rings. Delighted you had a good time in York, A.H.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nazima a
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Made our overall visit to York most enjoyable”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

loved the place, we highly recommended it to friends and family and if we were to go back to York we will most certainly stay here again.

Sue was pleasant and most helpful, at the same time left us to get on with it.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: essential groceries were provided on the first day, nice touch
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2015
Thank you! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in New Walk Coach House, and would love to see you again. Kind regards, Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DANIEL G
1 review
“Perfect Place To Stay In York”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Sue and Rodger the owners were perfect hosts. The private coach house was immaculate, safe, spacious, charming and well located to the center of York. The garden patio was perfect for a glass of wine. Rick Steve's recommended restaurants were a 15 minute walk away via the scenic river walk, or short bus trip and other restaurants were just 1 minute away. Food store was a 10 minute walk and a wine and cheese store at the end of the street.

The owners gave you privacy yet were always available if needed.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our Hosts, the location and the property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2015
I'm not sure we qualify as 'perfect hosts', but we are smiling at the thought! We are delighted that you enjoyed the Coach House, York's places to eat, and the patio - even on the chillier days. Thanks and best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing