We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Curry”
Review of The Deramore Arms

The Deramore Arms
Ranked #314 of 881 Restaurants in York
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Deramore Arms is a historic pub in the York suburb of Heslington, close to the University and Science Park. We serve a wide range of real ales, craft beers and seasonal British food. We have a large carpark, beer garden and a microbrewery on the premises.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fabulous Curry”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Sampled Curry night on Saturday.Best Indian food I have ever tasted!Freshly cooked,delicious flavours and super service!We will return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GMH13860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-J_ReevesRowley, Manager at The Deramore Arms, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Deramore Arms.

I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your curry so much! Our curry chef does indeed freshly prepare the curries, and aims to provide a selection each week that suits the tastes of any curry-eater, whether mild or hot! We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    58
    18
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food! definitely going again”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

best sunday roast in weeks! VERY high quality food, you can tell there has been a lot of thought into the meals. great menu, something different than any other pub and very good for people who have special diety needs. the wait isnt long at all, think we waited 10 minutes. great vaule for the food you get.
lovely atmosphere and im deinitely going again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-J_ReevesRowley, Manager at The Deramore Arms, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your experience with us. And such a positive one too.

I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your Sunday roast. Our Head Chef does put a great deal of thought and effort into producing seasonal menus using quality, locally sourced produce that provide interesting, tasty and value for money dishes suitable (wherever possible) for people with dietary restrictions. We pride ourselves on being "that little bit different" with our food menu, rotating beer options, craft beers and high quality wines and spirits, and its nice to hear that our efforts to generate a traditional, high quality local pub atmosphere are successful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidmas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small portions! But tasty.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The atmosphere was nice. The menu for Sunday lunch was limited but what I would expect for the day of the week. The chicken roast dinner was tasty however the portions were disappointing- a bit nouvelle cuisine, not what I expected in a pub "setting". Not good value for money!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sidmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-J_ReevesRowley, Manager at The Deramore Arms, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your Sunday lunch experience with us.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your roast. It is unfortunate that you were unsatisfied with the portion provided. Your comments have been passed on to our chefs, who will take your concerns on board. I hope that on a return visit you will be happier with the value for money provided by our portions and prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best curry I have had for years”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went with my daughter who is at uni here. It is her Friday night haunt. The curries are excellent-limited choice-always a good sign in an eating house. I would especially mention the rice which has a fabulous flavour. Good beer and nice atmosphere. She has another 2 years to go so will be back

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Highlandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-J_ReevesRowley, Manager at The Deramore Arms, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our curry night! The curries change week-on-week, so a return visit will yield a different curry experience for you. We look forward to having you back to dine with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice friendly pub for lunch”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Handy pub when visiting my daughter at University. Only ever had lunch but food is good. Quiet on day we visited, Tuesday during Easter break, so we coukd sit & chat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janandbrian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-J_ReevesRowley, Manager at The Deramore Arms, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of us. I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunchtime visit. Perhaps one day your daughter will treat you to dinner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deramore Arms also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Deramore Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing