We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Tapas and First Class Service”

Sotano Charcuterie & Bar
Ranked #57 of 882 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sotano (Spanish for basement) is situated in the heart of York in the Old Latin Quarter. Sotano offers a relaxed atmosphere, serving authentic tapas/small plates/sharers, fine wines, craft/world beers, rare spirits & bespoke contemporary cocktails. Open Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday & Friday from 5 PM 'til late, and all day Saturday and Sunday until 4 AM. We have Ruby Tuesdays, hosted by Chris Helme (seahorses) Live music from 9pm and live Jazz every Sunday from 9pm
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Tapas and First Class Service”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I have visited Sotano on a number of occassions now and it never fails to impress us. The staff are brilliant and the choice of beers, wines and cocktails superb. The limited food menu is perfect and all the choices, great value. We love it and can't wait until the next time. Highly Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    45
    8
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best cocktail bars in York”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Visited twice in June with friends for drinks. The cocktail menu is varied and interesting, with some very innovative drinks. The prices are moderately expensive, but they're totally worth it.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, really couldn't ask for better service.
The decor, lighting, and music choice all give this bar a great ambience.
I would strongly recommend this bar, it might well become one of my favourites in York.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great hidden bar”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Best cocktail bar in York in my opinion. If you like a bit of sophistication, good quality spirits, and a friendly cool atmosphere, this is the place for you.

Staff are friendly and they're happy to make up any variation on a cocktail... we didn't have any their small plate selections as we were going out for dinner but they all looked really good... next time we're back in York we will have to sample some.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodgoorou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Top tapas, quality cocktails and great value for money all in a cosy relaxed atmosphere! Would highly recommend this place and look forward to visiting again soon! 10/10.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“siesta no”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great wine and cocktail bar; lovely fresh tapas we love it and will return very soon, go and try it you will be suprised how good it is if you can find it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t38eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotano Charcuterie & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sotano Charcuterie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing