We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bar in York!”

Sotano Charcuterie & Bar
Ranked #56 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sotano (Spanish for basement) is situated in the heart of York in the Old Latin Quarter. Sotano offers a relaxed atmosphere, serving authentic tapas/small plates/sharers, fine wines, craft/world beers, rare spirits & bespoke contemporary cocktails. Open Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday & Friday from 5 PM 'til late, and all day Saturday and Sunday until 4 AM. We have Ruby Tuesdays, hosted by Chris Helme (seahorses) Live music from 9pm and live Jazz every Sunday from 9pm
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best bar in York!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I am SO delighted that York at last has my idea of heaven in a bar. Wine, cocktails, fantastic charcuterie boards all at good, appropriate prices - if you like all of this then this is the place for you! Whenever I am in York (often) we always come here and recently I reserved an area for a birthday party and the staff were so lovely and accommodating. The atmosphere is always great, even when it is quiet in the week and at the weekends it gets buzzy and the music is always really good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emiliem87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    44
    8
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place for Cocktails in York!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Sotanos has to be to be the best place for cocktails in York! Everyone i have tried of the menu has been amazing. The bar staff are so freindly and certainly know their stuff when it comes to cocktails. The atmosphere is great and the music is really cool.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joannab842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little gem in York”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Discovered Sotano last night after being turned away from two other restaurants that were fully booked for the evening. A great find, enjoyed the best gin and tonic I've had in ages that was made with care and attention to detail. This was then followed by a platter of Iberico ham, patatas bravas and a cheese board to die for, all washed down with a bottle of wine that was an excellent recommendation. Try this place if you are looking for a relaxed evening with leisurely grazing of quality tapas and quality drinks. Excellent find, made to feel at home and great, attentive service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Etak2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Thank Heaven”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Thank heaven that York has this lovely bar to go for excellent wine, drinks and service. My previous 'favourite' was The Biltmore which has gone downhill faster than Eddie the Eagle on a scooter. We had a sharing platter after a hard afternoon shopping, gorgeous wine, excellent service....the music was great. I think my only criticism after returning later in the eve is that the place is too small.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharp-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Already looking forward to my next visit”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stumbled upon Sotano by accident after visiting one of the nearby bars and I'm so glad we decided to give it a try.
Initially calling in for a quick drink, it didn't take us long to be tempted by the tapas menu, which was closely followed by the wine list.
Excellent food, excellent drink selection and very nice surroundings.
Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotano Charcuterie & Bar also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Sotano Charcuterie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing