We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic and dated, poor service”
Review of Astley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astley House
Ranked #178 of 192 York B&B and Inns
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very basic and dated, poor service”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed at the place for two nights when I visited York with my wife over Easter. Since I planned this trip quite late, there were not many places left with available accommodation. Key points

- The reception is not open 24 hours. It is open till 7 pm which is not good if you plan to arrive late or need any help late in the evening.

- There is a surcharge of 4-8% for paying by card which is very inconvenient and annoying.

- The place is very dated with lot of creaking noise around the stairs and the room. The stairs going from second to third floor are too narrow which makes it very difficult to carry your bag.

- The room was very small with hardly any place to walk. Towels are not provided in the room though you can rent it by paying £1

- The whole place has this feeling of a ghost place.

- You don’t see any staff anytime of the day. When we left, we were just told over intercom to leave the keys on a table at the reception.

- The staff need some training with hospitality. It doesn't cost a penny to welcome the guests with a smile.


To be fair, card surcharge and towel rent is mentioned in the fine print when you book. It was the cheapest accommodation available when I was booking and hence I guess you get what you pay for. It is a very basic place not too far from the centre and you should consider this if you just want a place to spend a night, nothing more than that.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the third (top) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anil_agarwal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    41
    29
    27
    60
See reviews for
11
80
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Room described as Double En suite, this turned out to be a bunk bed and very rickety at that. Room very small, TV didn't work, but no one around to mention this to. Had to pay for towels or take own which have never known before neither known a charge being made for using a debit card for payment. Apart from when checking in saw no staff even on morning on leaving no staff about left keys on a hook. Paid £62.00 for room which sounds ok until you realise how far out it is £5.00 to centre each way also no breakfast included.

We are frequent visitors to York and and this was the worst accommodation we've ever stayed in

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 with my partner whilst we visited York.

Positives

* spacious double room
* the room was clean and tidy
* free tea and coffee in the room
* the price £35 for a double room with 4 poster bed.
* loads of leaflets and flyers of yorks attractions in the foyer.

Negatives

* The hotel staff were very rude , Eric was unkept, unfriendly and rude and a little aggressive upon arrival, the lady when we checked out through an intercom just said leave the keys in a drawer no thankyou
* Parking is a premium , 4 spaces for 25 guests.
* breakfast £10 each!!!!! No chance
* it states was a 4 poster bed, which I paid £5 extra for, it wasn't , was a bed with a frame around it....
* trying to work the shower was like performing surgery impossible, the noise from the pipe work was so loud I turned off the shower so I didn't disturb the guests.
* the bathroom was so small I had to go in sideways in the shower, going to the toilet was painful.
* the bed was uncomfortable and very hard.
* the tv's are old and remote didn't work
* on a main road so very noisy.
* church opposite played bells from 6am.
* no staff around at all the ask any questions was like a ghost town.
* was quite far from town and hard to spot.
* £4 charge for debit card...this was stated on website but refused to let me go and get some cash to pay him, said if I left I would lose my reservation.
* weird whale/pan pipe music playing on a loop in reception???? Creepy
*£1 to rent a towell

If your looking for a warm welcome, nice hosts, good breakfast, good nights sleep , no extra charges for debit cards and towells.... Then avoid like the plague.

If you are looking for the very basic hotel and are no bothered about the extra touches and just a roof over your head fairly close to the centre of York..... This is it.

I though, will not be returning to this hotel....mainly because of the poor attitude of the staff who work here. Manners do not cost anything (unlike the towells and breakfast)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The man who runs this establishment needs to go back to hospitality school he was very very rude, arrogant and not at all helpful. The accommodation is very dated and run down. Would not recommend this place to anyone. I have stayed in lots of basic accommodation but this place is just awful and manners cost nothing - do not go

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank dsgillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Had a recent stay at this establishment, I should have saved my money and slept on the pavement.
Absolutely woeful customer service from a totally ignorant, poorly presented man.
Had the damn cheek to charge £4 for a DEBIT card payment.
The room was totally unacceptable, no soap, no towels, bed belonged in a nissan hut, furniture was firewood and shower was full of grime....need I go on.
Most importantly the fire safety precautions/routes were questionable at best. I will be contacting the relevant authority in respect of this.
I have stayed in some poor establishments in my time but this place takes the biscuit.
I'm convinced that other guest houses in the area do not appreciate reading this and other feedback, as it could ultimately affect trade in their locale.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eric e, General Manager at Astley House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We have welcomed over 50 000 guests to York of the past 10 years and we continue to welcome more than 5000 guests every year, many of which are regular returning guests and reviews like htis is an insult ot their satifactory standards and service we provide with care.. We do not usually respond to reviews on this site because the authenticities of the reviewers are not verified, but on this occasion we will make an exception.
All businesses in the UK require a current fire certificate to remain open and I'm afraid to say that this guests allegations about our questionable fire safety is uninformed. We have always and currently hold a valid fire safety certificate and we display this in the reception area. A firesafety company inspects the property twice a year and their credentials are highly regarded nationally. No businesses are able to remain open without this. The fire department has also inspected the property to check the work carried out by the fire safety company.
A housekeeper cleans all rooms when guests vacate rooms and a manager checks all rooms before we allow new guests to occupy rooms. The manager keeps a log and every area of rooms are sighed off. On this basis, the reviewer’s allegations about a grimy shower cannot be factually correct and he has even refused to provide us with his dates of stay so we can double check the records. We do not replace our furniture if they are not broken and not everything is brand new, but we pride ourselves by the fact this is most environmentally friendly way to run a responsible business. We also do not include towels in the rooms for this reason and as advertised on all websites and we only charge £1 per towel to cover laundry costs. Most of our guests bring their own towels and are happy to reuse them. This saves a lot in environmental costs.
Information about the card service charges are displayed on all websites and guests are informed to pay in cash if they wish to avoid these charges. Some people are under the impression that it is free to process debit cards, but in actual fact, there are numerous costs involved in processing any card payments. We have to rent terminals from merchants and pay them a monthly fee for this and then we need to pay them for the transaction and the transfer of the money into our bank account. Some other businesses will include these charges in your room rates but we like to give our customers the freedom to choose. The fact is that card charges cannot be included in room rates fairly because card issuers charge different rates to process different cards. Debit card users end up having to pay highest costs included in the rate because managers include the debit/credit card average rate in the total room/product total. I’m afraid Nothing is free, some costs are just added more fairly than others.
There is no doubt that we provide great Value accommodation in what is a very expensive city. All our beds have memory foam mattresses and we are full most of the time, because our guests know that we ensure an excellent night’s sleep.
I sincerely hope that this response helps you to choose a suitable place to stay in York and please let us know if you would like us to take you on a video tour of the property or send you some detailed photos of your room before you book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent one night here having booked the day before through Laterooms. A family emergency necessitated our having to spend the night in York. It is fair to say that the hotel is pretty grotty. It feels like a throwback to the drabbest decor of the 70's and I'm not sure whether the dim lighting in our room actually made this better or worse. As previous reviewers say, towels, breakfast, paying by card are all charged extra. Parking is very limited and the wifi when we visited was patchy at best. We couldn't get the TV to work either. Check in and out isn't straightforward either. However it was cheap, clean, warm and it met the need of the moment as far as we were concerned. So you pays your money ........

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Having read the scathing reviews on here, we were a little apprehensive about staying at Astley house. However we were surprised by the friendliness of staff (didn't meet the apparently rude owner, just the receptionist), the cleanliness of the place and the decor.

Being students it was imperative that we got our money's worth, and we both feel we did. We stayed in Room 7 on the 1st floor and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everything worked and was well-maintained. My only criticism would be that the walls are thin so be prepared to hear your next door neighbours.

Recommended. Bed was really comfy too.

Room Tip: Floor 1 was good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
851 reviews
1.4 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#50 of 192 in York
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#104 of 192 in York
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Diamonds Guest House
Diamonds Guest House
#107 of 192 in York
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#123 of 192 in York
7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astley House

Property: Astley House
Address: 123 Clifton, York YO30 6BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astley House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Astley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astley House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing