We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic fresh food. The best Gelato outside Italy”
Review of Trinacria

Trinacria
Ranked #58 of 870 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh food. The best Gelato outside Italy”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We ate there Saturday night and didn't have enough room for their wonderful Gelato so we went back on Sunday morning for Coffee and Gelato. I enjoyed a scoop of Gooseberry with one of Cinnamon. I only wish they were in Sevenoaks so we could go more regularly.

Whenever we visit York we go to Trinacria and the food each time has been beautifully balanced and fresh with innovative flavours and locally sourced food. They have a passion for food and the restaurant is a very light and airy space that is a joy to eat in.

The service is good and friendly and you can see the Chefs working clearly with a passion for food. There was a good selection of different wines at reasonable prices.

They cater well for families. The local fruit and veg shop in the same parade is worth a visit for local York produce. It is hardly any distance outside of the City Centre and an easy walk.

Don't miss out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    54
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked for a birthday meal for 15, and everyone really enjoyed it. The menu was varied and interesting, including catering for coeliacs and vegetarians, and the food looked and tasted amazing. Staff couldn't do enough to help and we had a really memorable time. Highly recommended for all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmcb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Just beautiful!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Simply lovely! The beat coffee and ice cream in the most unlikely location, not in the city centre :-( found by accident but will definitely be going back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happilyfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Visited for breakfast on Saturday morning. Staff very friendly and did not turn us away even though we arrived before they had opened. Food was tasty and good value, and it was enjoyable to sit outside although the space on the terrace is limited. I look forward to visiting again for an evening meal to try some more of the great food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All rounder!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Couldn't ask for a better experience of Sicily! Lovely consistent staff, authentic food, amazing made ice-cream and a warming atmosphere. Definitely recommend this little gem and we will most definitely be visiting time and again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trinacria also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Trinacria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing