We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 15 Stonegate Court

The Minster from our piazza
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Minster from our piazza
Sitting area Sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
The Minster from our piazza
Sitting area
Sitting area
Dining area
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Second bedroom: super-king configuration
Second bedroom: twin-beds configuration
En suite bathroom
Main bathroom
Our private south-facing terrace
Floor plan
Another view from Stonegate Court's piazza
The Shambles
Low Petergate
Betty's Café - 50 yards from our door!
Walking the wall
A local resident...
The Minster organ
Another local resident...
The Archbishop and friends...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gemma C
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Fantastic apartment in an ideal location, John was easy to deal with and a lovely gentleman.
Wine and cake waiting on arrival which was a lovely touch. Apartment spacious and clean and had everything you required and more.
We are already planning our return.
We couldn't fault it on anything at all, brilliant time had by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central Location and excellant facilities
Liked least: Going Home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvieP
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning view of York Minster,, great location.”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We received warm and welcoming emails and phone calls from the owner before and during our stay. The apartment is tucked away to the rear of the building, so no street noise and a lovely private balcony. Once you leave the apartment you are right in the middle of everything, there is a wonderful mixture of shops, cafes and bars. The apartment itself is well apointed with tastful and good quality decor and furnishings, very clean also. Loved the welcoming cuppa and 'Betty's cake', we had a super weekend and will definitely return and recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Reviewed March 8, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deborah B
Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quality Apartment in a superb location”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed here over the Christmas period and enjoyed it very much. Despite being very central, it was peaceful. We were a few steps from Betty's Café and just round the corner from the Minster. If you stay at Christmas as we did, do not miss the Nine Lessons and Carols - a wonderful experience. The apartment and its contents were an excellent quality and we had a lovely welcome pack with a little treat from Betty's café on our arrival. It is very well managed - I cannot imagine many owners who would turn out on Christmas Day to attend to a small unforeseen difficulty we had. Altogether an excellent experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W
None of your business
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed apartment in a great location, highly recommended.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Stonegate Court is in a superb location for exploring the city of York. Almost everything that we wanted to do in the City, was within walking distance of the apartment. Every detail had been considered beforehand by the owners and even though we arrived much later than anticipated there was no issue with access to the apartment and the owners could not have been more helpful. When we arrived at the apartment a good bottle of wine and sweets for the kids were a really personal touch which characterised the quality of service throughout our stay.

Even though the apartment is right in the centre of the city, there is no noise from the city streets, because of the location above street level, even during the day and early evening when the streets were very busy. The kitchen is really well equipped and the living room is a comfortable space for a family of 4 (it would suit 4 adults just as well). Central location also means that shops, restaurants / takeaways, pubs and supermarkets are all very close and parking is local and saves a lot of time and money on Park & Ride which you would probably use if you stayed further away from the City Centre.

This apartment was everything it claimed to be on Trip Advisor, and more. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful and well appointed apartment”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I would highly recommend booking this apartment for a holiday or short break. The apartment is beautiful furnished and exceptionally clean, with wonderful attention made to every little detail. There was a bottle of wine, Yorkshire Tea, Betty's cake and milk in the fridge waiting for us when we arrived, which was just what we needed after a long journey! The fresh flowers were also a nice touch. John made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for him. The apartment is perfectly situated for shopping and visiting the tourist attractions in York, with wonderful restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. I did not cook once during our stay, although the kitchen is exceptionally well equipped! We would also recommend a visit to the York Castle Museum if you have children with you. It will keep them entertained for hours!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the apartment
Liked least: Coming home!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill
Reviewed November 28, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking not on site (due to location!)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing