We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightfully authentic”
other travelers have booked this property
Luxurious linen, comfortable bed, plasma TV
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxurious linen, comfortable bed, plasma TV
We welcome you to Yew Tree Cottage Beautiful farmhouse table with open fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
Luxurious linen, comfortable bed, plasma TV
We welcome you to Yew Tree Cottage
Beautiful farmhouse table with open fireplace
this room has gorgeous views over the fields
Beautiful dining table
Outdoor entertaining area with family sized bbq
The cottage interior is warm, with farrow and ball colours throughout
Sit by the fire and relax with a glass of wine from the hamper
Front of the cottage
Why not enjoy a cosy fire
A chef's dream! Large family sized kitchen with all the cooking implements you could ever need
All natural, organic aesop products to get you relaxing in no time
Traditional claw foot bath
Large family sized kitchen with all the implements you could need
Your own private outdoor area
Plenty of space for all to cosy up by the fire, or watch TV with surround sound speakers
We fully cater for young families - from cot, highchair, baby bundle of essentials and more
Summer fields surrounding the little village of Westow
The beautiful river Derwent at Kirkham Priory just down the road
The beautiful heather turns purple on the North Yorkshire Moors in Summer
Indulge in the complimentary Aesop bathroom products with wonderful earthy ginger root and geranium
The community of Westow is strong - why not try some of our local produce?
Yew Tree Cottage is located in an area of outstanding natural beauty in the Howardian Hills
Yew Tree Cottage is amazing in Winter - snuggle in front of the fire with your complimentary wine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lynwen M
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightfully authentic”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable, (mind your head), delightfully refurbished 200 year old cottage in a quaint village setting, only 50 metres from a traditional English Pub. Nearby Kirkam Priory is worth a look and the cottage has easy drivable access to the historic city of York and the smaller more rural town of Malton. The house was well equipped with everything you could need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood fire
Liked least: Low ceilings
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy feel
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EnglandMi...
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would have been 5 stars but...”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed at Westow for a week in September. Westow is a lovely village with friendly people and a fantastic pub. The village is extremely well located with so many things to see and do. We caught the train to York, had a day at Sandsend and Robins Hood Bay and visited Helmsley and Pickering. The local town Malton is also worth a visit. It is still very much a working town and has a livestock market and lots of independent shops.
The cottage is very well presented, spacious, homely and extremely clean. It did not feel like a holiday cottage at all. We would however have liked an OS map to have been available.
We have given the property 4 stars because we did have a couple of issues on arrival. The keys were not where we were told they would be and we had no access to the cottage. Luckily we came across a very helpful village person who sorted us out.
We found the cottage on Baby Friendly Boltholes and although a cot was requested it wasn't installed and we had to try and find it. Sheets are also not provided for the travel cot and I feel that this should be highlighted prior to arrival especially as it is advertised on a website targeting young families. Apart from these minor issues it would not put me off visiting the cottage again and I would definitely recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Village, location and lovely cottage
Liked least: Cot issues
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quite
Liked least: The iron and ironing board
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norwich
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$194
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing