We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, near downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, near downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, well run, though a bit pricey. Breakfast was excellent, the room was very adequate, and the en suite bath was fine (although my wife slipped on the tile floor and fractured her pelvis). Parking is available in the back, although it takes a bit to find the entrance to the car park.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so if you have a problem call ahead for a ground or first-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leathem04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    497
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
237
860
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, MI
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hedley House in York. Very clean and nice.. The service was excellent. However, the wifi did not work in our room so we were forced to sit in the lobby to use it. And the mattress in our room definitely needed to be replaced. Overall the location was excellent with just a short walk to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tornadomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Was delighted on arrival polite friendly .
Questioned the receptionist regarding the outdoor spa room outside our bedroom window ... What time it was locked up for the evening 10 pm we were told. At 1.45 am the party was still going in the spa .... No staff member around to notify !!!! Second night pleasant enough was given a apology and a speach that WEEE have forgotten what it is like to be young !!!!
Next night nice enough third day our shower takes on it's own life and stops and starts when it likes ....next night up till midnight with my partner in the roof doing plumbing duties because the night manager doesn't know what to do calls the owner who calls the plumber to give us directions to fixing the problem !!!!
Not even a thank you !!!!
Wt??? At 110. Pounds a night I wouldn't bother!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed for one might over half term. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The location couldn't be better a few minutes walk into the centre of York via the river and the museum gardens. The room we had was small but a huge bed and brilliant ensuite. Reasonably priced for location and have recommended to family and friends. Also loved Oscar and Riley.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giraffe07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed two nights. The room was large, clean and comfortable with a fantastic bathroom. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choices. The location was superb, close to center on a quiet street with a very easy walk to center (note: we had a room on top floor facing the back parking area). Staff/management was very friendly and helpful in showing us where to go, including providing recommendations on where to eat. Although excellent value, the hotel was a bit on the pricey side. We did not try the spa as weather was vey warm during our visit. Would stay again and/or recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarG170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We spent two days at the Hedley House. It was a wonderful experience. Everything that chef Kevin prepared was fantastic. Bartender knowledge of brands and types wonderful. While no lift we were placed on the second floor and it was quite easy access for mobility challenged seniors. Great bed. Wonderful staff who go out of the way to make suggestions. This is a place we would definitely come to again.
No swimming pool only hot tub

Room Tip: Call from the U.S. To tell them what you need and they make it happen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buttle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend with a group of friends and really enjoyed the hotel. The twin room we had was spacious and clean with a good bathroom and a great shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Lovely atmosphere and a really great location with an easy 10 minute walk to the Minster and town centre.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovelyladybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing