We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We took advantage of a KGB deal at Hedley House for our first visit to York. Admittedly there are add-ons for upgrade of room and extra for a full English breakfast and for parking. I guess it is O.K. if you still have to pay for these even if you book direct. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we had a very enjoyable 2 night stay Sunday 1st to Tuesday 3rd December. We were in room 6 which looks out on the carpark and was nice and spacious. The bed was sizeable and comfortable and the hotel provided; on request; a single duvet each which we are used to at home. Bathroom and shower all good. The hotel is in an ideal location just a few minutes walk from York Minster and the centre of York. We did n't dine in the restaurant on either evening as we were out and about but it all looked very nice.All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 127Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Service, bed comfort & location make this a good place to stay. A bonus is the car parking. When we arrived there were no spaces left, but we were advised to leave our car in the middle of the car park. It was later re-parked for us in a space in front of the hotel & a parking permit had been displayed.
As we were on the 2nd floor, there were a lot of stairs to climb, but the room (9) was clean with a double & single bed in it. The bathroom was spacious too.
The cost for the night was felt to be expensive for a small hotel, but all hotels in York were extremely expensive that night. It happened to be one of the busiest nights of the year!
Breakfast was very good, with a good choice of menu.
Overall, it is a hotel we would use again, as we found the location very good, being just minutes to walk from York Minster. The service is excellent, with all staff being very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was our second visit and the place is a real find. Just five minutes walk from the centre of York. Service and attention from the staff was first rate. In particular I must mention Andrew who just couldn't do enough for you. We had a really good meal on the first night and as we went to a concert on the second night we had to make do with an inferior meal before the event in a local pub. That was a big mistake as we were spoilt on the previous night by the good food at Hedley House.
Car parking was available at the back of the hotel and the directions to the place are excellent. We will most certainly come again and can only recommend this place. One of the really good points is that he doesn't offer an inferior service to those clients who book via discount sites such as Groupon or KGB. I have felt second rate several times when taking these deals and it just doesn't happen at Hedley House, long may this continue.

Room Tip: We stopped up on the top floor last time. This time we had an excellent ground floor room which I f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffkayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Even though this hotel is still undergoing some upgrading (does not interfere with your stay) the service was first class (especially at breakfast) Very convenient as only 5 - 7 minutes from centre of York and nice and quiet. Do not know why some people are complaining about their stay. We have stayed all over the world and found Hebden House a very good experience. The car park has plenty of room and they move your car for you if there is a problem. Comfy beds, plenty of hot water and service at breakfast excellent with the waitress remembering who you are and what you like! We would go back and could not fault them.

Room Tip: Apartment overlooking the garden was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janelledarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

A lovely stay at the Hedley House Hotel, the staff were all very nice and the rooms clean and comfortable. The central heating was timed and this could be left on a little longer.
we stayed for 2 nights and had the full english breakfast each morning which was perfectly cooked and very tasty.
The hotel is only a 5 min walk to the center of York and there is parking at the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16 and our friends in room 10, both rooms were very nice with room 16 being on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reddins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great trip to York the hotel was clean, well equipped and a great location. Hotel was located About a 7min walk to city centre. Our room seemed recently refurbished with a nice comfy bed and very nice furniture. Bathroom was clean with a nice shower. Staff all very polite and helpful. Off road parking available for £5 per day. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tilly82Ljb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We are just back from this hotel, do not understand why the comments of late have been so negative, the room we stayed in was very roomy and comfortable, the breakfast was nice and staff attentive. Within close walking to main attractions. Room lovely and warm. Only problem we had was I tried to book online and it said my booking had failed, then phoned and booked. Turns out my attempts at booking online had not failed and I was charged for four rooms! This was however picked up by one of the staff and a full refund was processed there and then. Must have just been a glitch in the system. Would stay here again, absolutely loved York. Would recommend the ghost walk.

Room Tip: Can't comment on any of the other rooms, but the room we stayed on was perfectly acceptable, com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $121 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing