We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good location”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice place, good location”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A group of 18 of us stayed in a combination of the different apartments (17,18,28,29) on a Hen Party over the bank holiday weekend. The young lad on reception was really helpful upon check in and sorting us all out so we could park in the car park and opening the hot tub for us early sat morning as it was busy fri night.

The apartments were basic but as expected when catering to large groups of people and had everything we required. One of the single beds in room 18 was not sleepable as it was that old and sunk in the middle but all the other beds were fine.

We all had a great stay and loved the cinvenience of the location - 10 min walking distance to York centre.

Thanks to the staff for being lovely and accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsRachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    503
    142
    46
    19
See reviews for
240
873
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Level Contributor
285 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked another hotel through www.booking.com but when we arrived they had no record of the booking although we had the confirmation email with booking number sent to us from booking.com. I have possibly booked up to one hundred bookings via the internet and this was the first time anything like this had occurred. They got in touch with Hedley House and we reluctantly went there as it was one of the busiest weekends of the year with York Races being on. The first room was in an annexe away from the main hotel and there were difficulties with the internet connection. Internet access is paramount to me as I was in York on business compiling a York Visitor Guide which will go live on the internet shortly. Ironically I am compiling a list of suitable accommodation throughout York so the first hotel St Raphael Guest House failed miserably. Hedley House is without doubt one of the friendliest hotels we have ever been to and we have stopped in many five star hotels and numerous cruise ships where service is at it's best. The staff were very courteous and helpful and were overall excellent. The rooms and the hotel itself is very clean and modern and it has it's own car park. The breakfast was also very good. The rooms do not match the service but they are comfortable and clean, if the rooms matched the service I would be leaving 5 stars and I rarely give out five stars. We will be visiting again shortly as I need to be in York on a regular basis for my work. I would recommend Hedley House as I feel it offers fantastic service and good rooms at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireFellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We needed a last minute short break and where else to spend it but here. Everything was as stated on their web site and no hidden extra's. All the staff were very accommodating who treated you with the upmost courtesy and nothing was too much trouble. We have stayed here before and have noticed several difference which enhance it even more. The apartment was spotless and had everything that you would need to relax and enjoy a much needed rest not that we had one too busy seeing all the wonders that York has to offer!
On returning from our excursion's we could relax in peace without the bustle and noise of a city because this excellent bolt hole although in the perfect position for sight seeing, being only 10 minutes walk from the city centre, has the advantage of it's quiet surrounding near to pleasant gardens and river walkway.
As an added bonus you have also the use of a hot tub, barbeque area and quiet secluded garden with no need to worry about the car because of their private secure on site parking. What more could you ask for. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: 51 Ebor is excellent and ticks all the boxes for a perfect holiday escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had a great stay here, the staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was fantastic and spotless. We wanted to go in the hot tub and sauna first thing in the morning and the chef came in early to set it up, can't ask for more than that. The secure car parking at the back of the hotel was a great bouns too. Would definitely stay here again 10 out of 10

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by friends and we stayed for 2 nights in August 2013. The service was great, and the staff very welcoming. Parking was available, the room was spacious and quiet. Location is great for walking into the city, or using the station.

Everything you could ask for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymakery2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Toronto
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We left our bookings a bit late for this trip so were thrilled that we could get a family room in a small hotel so close to everything. Had a warm welcome and directions to parking. We were given a full housekeeping unit at the back and down a little set of stairs. With the hot weather in England, this kept us cool and comfortable for sleeping. Everything was clean and there was enough space for the four of us - two adults to teenage boys. The room had one double and three single beds. The bed we did not use looked a little suspect, but we did not need it so can only report that we all slept well and had lots of space for our luggage. It is only a short walk into town and when you take the route through the gardens, it is very enjoyable in the evening. Breakfast was generous and made to order. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoRoadWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I spent four days here and highly recommend it to others. Easy walk to everything. No elevator but staff was helpful carrying luggage. The hostess was a very accommodating and personable woman who made us feel very comfortable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mjf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,202 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
610 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Property: Hedley House
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing