We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clifton Bridge Guesthouse
Ranked #155 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at this Guesthouse on Saturday 14th September 2013............ Arrived early, parking was easy and safe, we were able to check in at 1145am and the room was lovely........ We staying the a family room for 5, which consisted of 1 double bed and 3 singles. Bed really comfy, loads of pillows and lovely thick quitls........... Arthur was lovely and could not be more helpful and the breakfast was really tasty and plenty of choice. would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJC00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 229 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is really good value amd really clean its a good 15 min walk to centre on york but its an amazing hotel and the owner is really friendley helpfull this is a deffo stay if your staying in york

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Positives:

*Lovely, comfortable room with extremely comfortable beds
*Generous supply of teas, coffees etc.
*Very clean bathroom
*Flat screen TV
*Situated close by a scenic river walk (20 mins walk)
*Owner works hard in cooking breakfast on his own with a tiny bit of help.

Negatives:

*Bad start. My friend is an older man (who accidently spilled coffee on the
back of his trousers). We were led into the lounge and were just about to sit on
the leather sofa and chair when he shouted to us not to sit on his leather furniture.
He noticed the stain on the back of my friend's trousers and asked him if he was
incontinent.And other questions. Shocked, my friend said No. My friend kept on
saying No, that he wasn't.
He then told us to leave, to get out. That he didn't want us here.
(We had spent hours travelling using public transport since 6.45am.
and now nowhere to stay. Plus, a bit tired.
A few mins later, he came out trying to explain, apologetically, that he had a incident or 2 where
a guest who was incontinent basically ruined the bed and he had to completely replace the
bed. I understood what he was getting at and that it had panicked him that this
may have happened again but I still don't think he should have jumped to conclusions.
My friend explained to him that he had spilled coffee on his trousers. The owner
asked my friend to turn around to check the back of his trousers carefully and
then said I believe you.
Took us back and said which room did you want, double or twin room.

*Emailed owner a couple of time prior to our stay but no reply. Maybe have been
though. Does not seem to reply to email.

*Owner has a generous character, I understand,
that it must be very stressful trying to cope with running B&B on his own, with the
help of a lovely lady at the reception.
But when stressed and in a panicky situation, he finds it difficult to
express himself in a professional customer service of excellence way.
Especially in this type of job, you need to have the excellence of customer service aptitude.
Although, he says he has been doing it for 40 years.
*Apologetic again on last day for what happened. He even offered to give us a lift back to train station.
Thought I was my friend's carer.

Apart from that, put the whole thing behind us and had a lovely time in York.
And a lovely sleep in the extra comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanflower75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have been in the UK on a 3 month holiday and used many B @ B's and this was one of the best so far. Paid only £50 a night for a single. The room was modern and clean with a big flat screen tv. By far the best modern clean bathroom, with a really strong shower which was a pleasure to use. Great breakfast selection in a big dining room. Big selection of cereals, muesli, yogurt, fruit juice and fruit. Then a full cooked English breakfast, and toast, really sets you up for the day. It took 20 minutes to walk along the river into the centre of town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for one night in August last year.

It was a 10 minute walk to the town centre and so it was nice and quiet.

It was easy to find and the hotel gave us good instructions on what to do when we arrived.

The room was on the small side but it was clean and comfy and we both slept well.

I would stay here again when visiting York.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wato20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were let down by another hotel in York so we ended up staying here. Double room was a good size, complete with flat screen tv on the wall, tea & coffee making facilities that were restocked daily, bed was comfortable and a good sized bathroom. Various cereals available for breakfast along with fruit juice followed by the traditional English breakfast with toast and tea or coffee. Guesthouse itself was all very clean and well presented,. Very pleasant and friendly owner who always talked to us when about and seemed genuinely interested in what we were going to see / what we'd already done in York and gave some recommendations. Next time we head for York I'd certainly look at availability here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thehitmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hen weekend. Had a brilliant weekend at the Clifton Bridge Hotel. 5 bedroomed family room beds comfortable. only 4 in room but suitable for 5. plenty of room. comfy beds, clean sheets, large tv. large power shower. great breakfast, gluten free as well. nothing too much trouble for Arthur who runs and owns the hotel. Got back from night out about 11.30 and he offered to make us all a drink. Even gave our driver water to drink on way home as such a hot day to be travelling back. Will definitely go back in few weeks. same place same room. thank you Arthur for being such a nice man.

Room Tip: excellent service and value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothy1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.2 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beckett Guest House
Beckett Guest House
#172 of 194 in York
103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,448 reviews
1.7 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#35 of 194 in York
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Bridge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Bridge Guesthouse

Address: 21/23 Water End, York YO30 6LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $86 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Bridge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Clifton Bridge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Bridge Guesthouse Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing