We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clifton Bridge Guesthouse
Ranked #130 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Proprietor at cash and carry when we arrived on a busy Saturday afternoon at 2.30. When he eventually arrived, he told us he had overbooked and would we be prepared to share a room (two couples)! The answer of course was no. At that he became increasing rude and asked us to leave. He claimed we were refusing to pay and said he would be taking the money out of my account anyway. This necessitated me to cancel my card and have to wait a week for a new one to be delivered. Very disappointing as we were looking forward to a weekend at York illuminations. However, all was not lost as we were lucky enough to get a couple of rooms at the Premier Inn not far off.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    52
    17
    14
    59
See reviews for
38
67
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This man appears to be a serial over booker. Too many previous reviews have him being terminally rude and abusive to people when he is over booked. This happened to us. When he finally arrived he told us that he had a problem as he was over booked. He offered the four of us a family room though our ages range from 40 to 66 and we are two distinct couples. When we declined this offer he suddenly found a pair of rooms for us and asked for payment. When it was pointed out to him that the conditions of booking state that payment is taken at the time of booking he became verbally abusive and demanded that we leave. He was totally impervious to reason and could not wait to usher us from the premises. What a good thing we left! We have never been treated this way in many years of travelling - he appears not to consider that he is part of a service industry. The main pity is that he is not a member of a professional body or organisation so that these reports might be taken seriously. He does no good to the reputation of York hoteliers. We were made very welcome at the Premier Inn up the road to restore our faith in hotel keepers.

Room Tip: Do not even bother to try. Please!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank PJ46Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

stayed for one night 3rd november 2012. made very welcome. room clean but a little outdated. good breakfast with good choice. in a good area of yark. near to the town centre, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digbystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

13 of us stayed at Clifton bridge for my hen do. I was apprehensive about the place due to other reviews but have to say we found it the complete opposite.
The owner was friendly and couldn't do enough for us, even dropping and picking us all up from the town centre! We all had good sized rooms that were clean and looked after and the breakfast was lovely, an overall great valued b&b, would definitely go again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrssewelltobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place was recommended to us by a friend who had previously stayed with her grandaughter and felt very comfortable. We had a great time. The owner was extremely busy making sure everyone was well cared for; nothing seemed too much trouble. He never stops! He offered to take us into town in his vehicle to save us walking and, although we passed on the offer, we did see him taking other guests on a couple of occasions over the weekend. He'd also travelled back across town to get my husband some milk, as we'd run out, even though we said we could wait for it. The bedrooms were clean and tidy, the breakfast was good and it's in a great location. You're out of the city hustle and bustle so you get a peaceful night's sleep yet the city centre is only a few minutes walk down the lovely river. Would definitely visit again. Great service - What a gent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cag-n-Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having read one of the reviews comparing Arthur to Basil Fawlty i was quite looking forward to a "themed" style stay at the Clifton Bridge.... how much fun would it be to stay at Fawlty Towers ?

Disappointingly, Arthur turned out to be nothing like the crackpot Landlord of Fawlty Towers. He was courteous, helpful and friendly.....

We arrived at 3 o'clock, Arthur wasn't around but arrived within a couple of minutes of us ringing him. He showed us to our room which was quite small.... largely due to the massif King sized double bed (which was very comfortable and clean) taking up so much space. The smallish en suite bathroom with a great power shower was also very clean. A decent size TV and brewing facilities were present and correct. Large radiators in both bedroom and bathroom were piping hot .... so much so, we had to turn them off!!!

We stayed the one night.... it was actually difficult finding a hotel or B&B that takes one night bookings in York.
Full English breakfast with cereal, toast, fruit, fresh orange juice and coffee included in the price.

Anyone who as visited York will known how parking can be difficult and expensive.... when we asked Arthur for directions to a car park he suggested we leave the car at The B&B and collect it at the end of the day before leaving for home ....

I can recommend a stay at the Clifton Bridge we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrcManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights bit apprehensive reading the reviews. Went with the missis and little dog. Upon arrival no answer at the door but quick call to mobile and owner greeted us. Decent room, very comfy and clean bed. 2 mims walk to river Ouse and great river walk into town which we walked more tan once. Very nice park over the road. Breakfast was fine. The owner was made us feel welcome, looks like he runs it on his own and does a great job! Wasn't rude in the slightest. Dormouse pub round the corner (by car) serves some good food
We'd go again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rawlinson's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Nags Head York
The Nags Head York
#100 of 192 in York
87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
1.6 mi away
Diamonds Guest House
Diamonds Guest House
#107 of 192 in York
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Bridge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Bridge Guesthouse

Property: Clifton Bridge Guesthouse
Address: 21/23 Water End, York YO30 6LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Bridge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Clifton Bridge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Bridge Guesthouse Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing