We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in BIshops B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Ranked #10 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely stay in BIshops B & B”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

From the minute we checked into the Bishops we felt at home, made so welcome and given info on York as it was our first visit there, we had booked a superior double room and this was on ground floor, a large bright lovely decorated room with a good sized en suite shower room , double wardrobe and full sized ironing board and iron electric fan , hairdryer everything you could wish for the towels were huge soft fluffy also bathrobes .
Breakfast was so nice with plenty of friut juices, cereals, fruit salad, yogurts, homemade jams, a good choice of cooked food freshly cooked to order, plenty of fresh coffee and tea the service was great friendly fast and efficient, nothing wss to much trouble.
The location of Bishops was ideal just 15 min walk to the railway station and 20 into the city, There is s bus that runs every 10 mins into the city centre and stops outside Bishops. We will definitely recommend this lovely B & B go family and friends .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirokas, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Bishops in York and for your lovely comments. It is great that it is your 2nd visit with us and hopefully more visits to York in the future will mean you will need to choose a different room each time till you find your favourite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    83
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
80
340
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I booked the Bishops with the hope of finding a nice quiet Guest house. Boy was i not wrong. On arrival the check in was swiftly done. We were shown too our room which was large, light and lovely and warm, with views over the garden. The location of the Guest house is a 20-30 min walk fron the centre of York or you could get a bus, which stops outside. The choice for breakfast is extensive and is made to the Bishops high standards. This was our first visit to the Bishops, but it won't be our last. I would highly recomend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirokas, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Bishops and for all your lovely comments. York is a great city to visit at any time of the year and we are pleased that Bishops will be your BnB of choice for any future visits to our historic city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This has been my second stay at Bishops. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and creatively decorated. Deborah, Marco and their staff are delightful warm and helpful. First class breakfast. I strongly recommend this small boutique hotel/guest house.

Room Tip: Both rooms I have stayed in have been quiet and comfortable. No 7 has a great view if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieHolden23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirokas, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Bishops York ,I will pass your great comments onto our staff and hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed over Easter week end taking our daughter back to University.Stayed in annex which had 2 rooms and she stayed one night we stayed 2.Lovely and clean, pretty view of garden, and the other room was onto street.Found it nice and quiet no problem sleeping, quality comfy beds.Super thick quality towels.
Breakfast was superb, I had locally smoked salmon with scrambled egg and it was delicious, husband had full English first day and thoroughly enjoyed it, second day he tried the salmon.FOod was hot, well presented, locally sourced.A nice touch on Easter Day eggs were left for daughter.Overall exactly what we needed would stay again.

Room Tip: Annex suited us very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 384ClareB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirokas, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Bishops, thanks also for the lovely comments. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on a future visit to York and to see your daughter. She couldn't have picked a nicer city for Uni (we are trying to convince our daughter to choose York too!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Overall our stay at Bishops York was very enjoyable, comfy, clean, spacious room with all the extras you would expect from a 5 star bed & breakfast. Breakfast was exceptional, quality produce, cooked to order and a wide choice and staff were friendly and down to earth. Bishops is a good 30 mins walk from the old rowdy town which is lovely when you've over eaten and is far enough away from the many stag n hen nights the city seems to attract.
My only criticism about our stay and this isn't aimed at the b&b (however better glazing might help) the emergency vehicles pass by continuously throughout the night with sirens sounding even when there's NO traffic on the roads. This will no doubt effect all hotels and b&bs in York.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirokas, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our accommodation and service, we are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us!

It's a shame you had an issue with noise from sirens, its not something we have had a problem with before, we are on the opposite side of town from the Police station and A&E so can only assume it was 'one of those nights'.
Just to clarify we had top rated double glazed windows fitted to every Guest room in 2011.

We hope to see you again, and I will give you a few tips for the best 'independent' restaurants (which need to be booked in advance) and where to go to avoid the big groups!!

Regards Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

It was a last minute decision to have a night in York and whilst this was slightly above our usual budget for guesthouse it was well worth it. We stayed in room 10 on the ground floor and apart from my usual gripe about sachets of instant coffee (I don't like instant coffee) it was faultless. Spacious and very comfortable room with sumptuous furnishings and a well designed ensuite with lovely toiletries.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and served by two lovely waitresses. Another bonus was the private parking space and being within walking distance of the city centre.
Bishops was just as good as some 5 star hotels we have visited. It was just a shame that we were only there for such a short stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirokas, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Bishops and thank you for your great comments. We did try the cafetieres in our rooms for a short time as we both really enjoy good coffee as well, unfortunately it was totally unpractical. We found the coffee grinds were everywhere in the bathroom if guests were wanting to make more than one drink and we had a couple of guests not sure how to use them resulting in spillages so back to the trustee Nescafe sachets! Thankfully it didn't put you off staying with us at Bishops in the future and we look forward to seeing you on another visit to York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
around the world!
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a special break in York and can't speak highly enough of the staff and accommodation. Vanessa checked us in and then spent time running us through a map and recommendations of things to see and do - which led to a lovely meal on Saturday night. The guest house itself is immaculately presented and clean. We had a superior room and it was fantastic - it comes complete with a huge bed and lots of space as well as plush carpets and plenty of storage space. Breakfast was superb - freshly cooked to order and quality ingredients. There's nothing not to like about this place - the owners Deb and Marco are attentive hosts and all the staff are warm and friendly - everyone says hi as you pass. Top marks to all for a fabulous break!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hambo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirokas, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Bishops and I will pass your great comments onto our staff. I am so glad you enjoyed your break and look forward to you staying with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,203 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 192 in York
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishops Guest Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishops Guest Accomodation

Property: Bishops Guest Accomodation
Address: 135 Holgate Road, York YO24 4DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bishops Guest Accomodation 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishops offers 5-star Guest Accommodation with a silver award. Our restored Victorian villa has individually designed en-suite rooms in comfortable, family-run surroundings. Relax with a delicious award-winning Yorkshire breakfast, served in a sunny dining room with views of the gardens. Alternatively, unwind with a drink in the licensed lounge. Bishops is within walking distance of many of York's main attractions. Take advantage of our local knowledge to find hidden treasures and unique restaurants. Free off-road parking available. It is a short walk to bus and train stations, making Bishops an excellent base for exploring Yorkshire's countryside and coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bishops Guest Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishops Guest Accomodation Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing