We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My great discovery in York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Ranked #6 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The attention to detail was second to none; it’s the little touches that make your stay away from home pleasant, and there were plenty of those, I couldn’t recommend it highly enough. Marco and Deborah, 5 stars. Up the Palace !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirokas, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope you will choose to stay with us at Bishops on any future visits to York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 631 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Lovely place to stay with very friendly owners and staff, who were all keen to ensure we knew how to get about in York and the best places to visit.
Room was lovely with very fresh bathroom (albeit a little on the small side), and the four poster bed was very comfortable and added a touch of elegance.
Breakfast was also very nice and freshly cooked to order, with a lovely buffet table of fruits, cereals etc to choose from.
Location is easy to find however it was a little bit further out of town than we expected (approx. 20 min walk into the centre of things, which was ok as the weather was fine but would not have been so great had it been wet).
Would stay again if we return to York.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DreamT117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Have just got back from a lovely short breark at Bishops. We'd looked at some of the reviews and where impressed by the comments so decided to give it ago. The greeting was warm and friendly when we arrived, and they couldn't do enough for us, asking us if we'd visited York before, and offering points of interest to visit during our stay. The room was lovely. The breakfast was good, but I would like to see a bit more of a variety, as whilst my partner enjoys a full breakfast I'm not so keen. What would be really nice would have been a bowl of porridge with some fruit but I must stay that the girl serving during breakfast was very helpful. If your planning a visit to York then I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carratala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirokas, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for all the lovely comments. We do serve porridge regularly, with honey for our health concious guests and treacle for the less so! We are always happy to adapt anything on our breakfast menu and try to meet most special dietary requirements so please always feel free to ask

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

What a great weekend break! Not many hotels impress us but Bishops Hotel in York is spot on! Charming and helpful staff, really comfortable room with pleasant decor, all the shower stuff you need & fluffy towels. Off road parking, Breakfast was tops. 5 mins car, 10 mins bus into the fantastic city of York. Cracking example of how to do things properly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulSampson187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed while on a weekend course and it was so good I have booked again.

The welcome could not have been more friendly, On hearing I was on a course I was asked if I knew how to get there and where to eat, and asked if I needed an earlier breakfast. Vanessa even brought me a jug of milk up for making tea instead of the little pots of milk.

My room (3) was a small double, very comfortable with all I needed, warm with a lovely view of the garden. I sleep with the window open and despite the road and the fact it was a weekend I had no noise at all (I live in a very rural area so am sensitive to town noise )

Breakfast was lovely, clearly freshly and very well cooked with proper coffee, rare in the most expensive of hotels these days, and the young waitress was a delight open friendly and efficient.

I have stayed in this area of York on a number of occasions in the past 6 months and can easily say this is the best one so far, it's so good I have booked it for the remainder of my visits and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodie501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Bishops hotel a short while ago because it is rated at 5 star and being within walking distance of York center. We can confirm it is definitely 5 star and is beautiful luxury with terrific breakfast food. We loved Bishops so much that we modeled one of our bedrooms on the Bishops bedroom. The hotel is within easy walking distance to all of York,s many attractions and would return to this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had been hopefull after reading previous reviews and was looking forward to our 2 night stay. On arrival we were welcomed very warmly and giiven a very comprehensive list of sights to see which was greatly appreciated. We were then taken to our room but had problems with the doorlock which required a joiner which we sat pensively waiting for (we were given a complimentary drink but given the loss of our first 3 hours of our weekend was not really satisfactory). I had upgraded to a superior room however while it was acceptable I am not sure warrants the high review scores. The room was quite large however the bathroom was tiny. The sofa in the room was adequate however the bed was not particularly comfortable. Breakfast and service during such was very good. I feel that Bishops is a good base to explore the city however not the best if you are sharing valuabl time with your loved one.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 2soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirokas, Owner at Bishops Guest Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with Bishops. My staff and I read all reviews as we are always looking for ways to improve on our service and we were all dissappointed that you didn't seem particluarly happy with your room. Unfortunately the lock problem was completely out of my control we were unable to offer you a different room as we were fully booked but informed you that a repair or replacement would be made. At 4.0pm on Friday we contacted our joiner who was here by 5.30 ( I was impressed by that as traffic alone on Friday teatime can take 30 mins across York). It took him about 30 minutes to complete the repair . We advised you that there was no problem if you wanted to go into the city, the repair would be completed by the time you returned, you informed us you may go out but hadn't decided. We were under the impressions that you were happy relaxing after your journey and to make this time more pleasant Vanessa offered you complimentary drinks of your choice. I don't feel we could have handled this one off issue any more professionally than we did. Bishops is a victorian villa and part of its charm is that no two rooms are the same in dimension or style, this does mean that some ensuites are bigger than others but the size of the room I would have imagined should have made up for this. The leather sofa is a two seater and is about 18 months old, there are no marks or scratches and is very comfortable. The majority of Bishops' mattresses are from York bedding, we buy quality semi orthopeadic mattresses, the one in this room is 3 years old and so again I was saddened by the uncomfortable comment as of course any bed other than 'the one at home' will always feel different. You did give us lots of positive feedback, great staff, lovely fresh breakfast lots of helpful information offered all of which we appreciate and yet you finish with not a great place to spend time with a loved one! I think this is the sentence we don't understand most of all, hopefully our other guests dont agree and thankfully that is why our returning guests numbers increase year on year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,448 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#9 of 194 in York
364 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#5 of 194 in York
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
885 reviews
0.9 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
0.9 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#24 of 194 in York
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishops Guest Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishops Guest Accomodation

Address: 135 Holgate Road, York YO24 4DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $106 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bishops Guest Accomodation 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishops offers 5-star Guest Accommodation with a silver award. Our restored Victorian villa has individually designed en-suite rooms in comfortable, family-run surroundings. Relax with a delicious award-winning Yorkshire breakfast, served in a sunny dining room with views of the gardens. Alternatively, unwind with a drink in the licensed lounge. Bishops is within walking distance of many of York's main attractions. Take advantage of our local knowledge to find hidden treasures and unique restaurants. Free off-road parking available. It is a short walk to bus and train stations, making Bishops an excellent base for exploring Yorkshire's countryside and coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishops Guest Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishops Guest Accomodation Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing