We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb stay at Bishops”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Ranked #14 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb stay at Bishops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We originally booked for four nights in a charming room, and were moved to a bigger room when one became available and extended our visit for a few more nights. Tea, coffee, biscuits and sweets in the room on arrival and topped up each day. Very friendly, very clean and excellent personal service. Toiletries provided were refilled when used. The cooked breakfast was filling and tasty, with a huge choice of extras, eg cereal, fruit etc. The Owners were friendly welcoming and helpful. Location was great as it was only a fifteen minute walk to the Old Town.
There was also parking available on the premises.
Unfortunately we picked a race weekend to visit and York was extra crowded with people.
We would return and I have already recommended the Guesthouse to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    82
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
75
323
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very easy to find, friendly and helpful receptionist, smooth check in, free upgrade to suite. We were in room 5 large double room, all toiletries provided including toothpaste, shampoo and soap etc, tea/coffee/hot chocolate in room. Re prev reviews, yes the B&B is next to a busy road but you cannot hear the traffic with the window closed. Very comfy bed, strong hot shower, clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast is buffet which includes cereals, yoghurt, fruit salad and juice, followed by menu choice of either full english, vegetarian or continental breakfast with tea/coffee. There is no bar here but beers are provided in the lounge area and you help yourself and sign the book to confirm you have taken a bottle (very trusting). No problems at all parking plenty of spaces on the front drive, we were told we could leave our car in the car park all day the day we checked out too but were too tired to walk back into York! The B&B is 10-15 walk to the centre, right out of the building walk down Holgate Rd and left into Blossom Road which becomes Micklegate which is the walled/gated entrance to the city centre (one of them). I would stay here again very impressed with the whole experience. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

A weekend stay that was superb in every way. Great communication from owners beforehand and keys available on arrival. A superb spacious and relaxing room and the hotel was spotless, warm and welcoming. Superb breakfasts with excellent personal service.

Location great - York Centre walkable, but also excellent bus service (no 1) outside hotel takes you to railway station and City Centre. Very nice small and welcoming Chinese Restaurant short walk away towards city.

Will definitely be back to stay here !

Room Tip: Web site has full details of rooms - owners very friendly if you ring. Our room overlooked lovely ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsbottom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Lovely warm and friendly environment. Exceptionally clean. All the things you would expect in a hotel and more. Chocs and sweets a nice touch. On our way back from shopping on Saturday night there were lovely mince pies for us to eat left on reception. Great breakfast , we have stayed in a few 5 star hotels over the years and there was nothing missing from the breakfast, love the sourced local ingredients. More than anything its been years since we have been in a guest house and very young then, but I loved entering the breakfast room and guests said good morning, which you don't get in your larger hotels. We will be back and thank you tracey and chris Hamblet

Room Tip: look on the website and book direct not through a company
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyhamblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stopped her for one night & found it to be excellent. We will most definitely be coming back for a longer stay too. We had the four poster bedroom and arrived slightly earlier than we had expencted but was greeted with a lovely warm welcome & cannot fault the information given upon arrival. The room was warm, spacious & comfortable & the added little touches were excellent (toothpaste, shower cap etc) oh also, as wee arrived slightly earlier we could choose our room out of the two with four poster beds which was a lovely little gesture too.
The breakfasts were very enjoyable, we opted for the full English and I couldn’t finish mine as I had filled up on fruit and yogurt.
Just sorry we didn’t have a pen on us to leave a comment about how lovely it was in the book on reception.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChellyAndCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stopped her for one night & found it to be excellent. We will most definitely be coming back for a longer stay too. We had the four poster bedroom and arrived slightly earlier than we had expencted but was greeted with a lovely warm welcome & cannot fault the information given upon arrival. The room was warm, spacious & comfortable & the added little touches were excellent (toothpaste, shower cap etc) oh also, as wee arrived slightly earlier we could choose our room out of the two with four poster beds which was a lovely little gesture too.
The breakfasts were very enjoyable, we opted for the full English and I couldn’t finish mine as I had filled up on fruit and yogurt.
Just sorry we didn’t have a pen on us to leave a comment about how lovely it was in the book on reception.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandMHudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights
Place was beautiful staff was lovely, friendly and very helpful
Breakfast was lovely
Could not fault this place at all
Would recommend this place everyone

Mr and Mrs tulloch (Kent )

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcjules281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishops Guest Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishops Guest Accomodation

Property: Bishops Guest Accomodation
Address: 135 Holgate Road, York YO24 4DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bishops Guest Accomodation 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishops offers 5-star Guest Accommodation with a silver award. Our restored Victorian villa has individually designed en-suite rooms in comfortable, family-run surroundings. Relax with a delicious award-winning Yorkshire breakfast, served in a sunny dining room with views of the gardens. Alternatively, unwind with a drink in the licensed lounge. Bishops is within walking distance of many of York's main attractions. Take advantage of our local knowledge to find hidden treasures and unique restaurants. Free off-road parking available. It is a short walk to bus and train stations, making Bishops an excellent base for exploring Yorkshire's countryside and coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishops Guest Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishops Guest Accomodation Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing