We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warrens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warrens
Ranked #84 of 205 York B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2006

We have spent a couple of nights of relaxation in York.

Warrens provided a comfortable and friendly base to explore the City.

The room was clean and provided everything we expected, such as tea making facilities in the room, tv etc. a few nice touches included Ovaltine and biscuits they also provided extra towels and pillows when we asked.

Breakfast was nice and fresh but was very busy.

We read the reviews on the time to walk onto the Roman Walls, it took us 7 minutes. There is a nice restaurant nearby called Meltons, it was very expensive so we went to the Hot Pot cafe 2 meals for £7.

We enjoyed our stay at Warrens and will come again but not when the Horse racing is on as it makes York busy and expensive.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    48
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
127
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2006

We recently stayed at Warens for 4 nights. We found the hotel convenient for the City Centre as we did not need to use the car through our entire stay as it was a short walk into the City.

Our room was spacious, comfortable and immaculately presented. The ensuite was small but had plenty of toiletries and we had fresh towels every day and again very clean.

Breakfast was cooked freshly and we ate something different every morning.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were made to feel very welcome.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting York.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2006

We had a perfectly good time at Warrens. We were using it as a base for a weekend stopover, so it was literally B&B, with us out until quite late both evenings. But, it was comfortable, the breakfasts good [not great, the sausages rather let it down] & the off street parking [for which the owner moved his car to make room] a bonus. Well placed for strolling in to York centre, and, if you follow the Piccadilly/Fossgate route some interesting stuff on the way too. We also stayed in Room 3 [reviewed below] & apart from getting the hang of the shower controls [pull the lever out] any complaints would be nit picking. Having stayed at a number of York B&Bs over the years, we’d say Warrens was pretty much up there in the top end of the range.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2006

Everything was fine
Rooms a little dated but fine
Breakfast good, service a little slow but I think everyone came down for breakfast at the same time so the two waitresses did their best
Rooms were extremely warm contrary to an earlier review - we had to open the windows to let in some air!
Parking a tight squeeze but a bonus to find a hotel with parking so close to the town centre
very close to city walls so a very convenient stroll in to the City over the river
maybe a little pricey - £140.00 for my family of 5 in two rooms which was quite a lot for one night

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rome_at_Easter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2006

We had a lovely time staying here, we celebrated our wedding aniversary (30 years)
We booked a 4 poster room and a champagne and flowers package, a nice arrangement of flowers with a bottle of chilled champagne in the room ready for when we arrived, it was a great start to a 4 night break.
We ate in the restaurant on 2 evenings, simple food but very fresh, nothing microwaved or reheated as you order your evening meal before 1 pm and they purchase the meat and fish just for your dinner and cook it ready for you to sit down.
Breakfast is nothing less than great with a large selection of fruits, yoghurts, cereals and a cooked breakfast.
There is a lovely lounge to sit in and an area to sit outside (we never sat outside, to cold, but I bet it is lovely in summer).
A short walk and you are in the City, there is a lot to do in York. We had made plans to visit the dales and Leeds etc but never moved the car once until we left...we never had the time!
I would strongly advise visiting York, and if you do could not imagine a better place to stay than Warrens.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Barrington House
Barrington House
#95 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#60 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#52 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#48 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#51 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrens

Property: Warrens
Address: 30 Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Warrens 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to say a massive thank you to all our wonderful guests. After a whirlwind 13 years of welcoming guests from around the World we have made a decision to have a break and Warrens will be permanently closed from Christmas 2015. We will genuinely miss you. Lots of love Richard and Jenny Warren ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Warrens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing