We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+++”
Review of Warrens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Warrens
Ranked #92 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Can only concur with previous reviews here.We found Richard,Jenny and their staff friendly (but not intrusive),professional and v helpful with local knowledge. They were v accommodating and if we return to York we will have no hesitation in staying here again. The parking is a little difficult to negotiate but at least when parked the city is within walking distance. Breakfasts was v good and various choices.Just ask. The room we had was immaculately clean and there was no hesitation in using the shower/bathroom area.The only minus is that we had the top room and the WiFi signal there was weak.Apart from that everything else was v v good. Richard & Jenny were on hand to provide much information on local places of interest.Nothing was too much.Bed was v comfortable.

Room Tip: Top room v quiet.Bed v comfortable.Bathroom (shower but no bath) v clean.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Warrens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 216 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Good location for all the attractions of York. Secure parking means you save a fortune as you can walk to them all in about 15 mins. Yes, it's not the easiest car park to get in and out of, but worth the peace of mind. Our room was at the top of the house with a view to the towers of York Minster. It was big enough for our stay to attend a conference. Everything was clean and neat. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast was wonderful. There was a wide choice of fruit and juices, plus cereals and yogurts. Besides the full Yorkshire breakfast, poached eggs, scrambled eggs and other choices were available. All cooked to order. Better than some so-called 5 star hotels. Would come back here as first choice if coming to York again. As others have said Norma is a treasure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldieEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely friendly Guest House with own secure car park, although getting in & out of it an interesting experience! Once parked we didn't need car again as everywhere within walking distance.
Friendly welcome from owner Jenny.
Twin room at back of house was small but very comfortable.
Very quiet at night, even with windows open (it was surprisingly warm in York for September). Great full English breakfast, cooked by Jenny's husband, Richard, that set us up for the day. Nice breakfast room in conservatory. Cereal, fruit, yoghurt also available.
Thanks Jenny & Richard for lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janandbrian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Well located just outside the city centre and so avoiding the noise and high room rates, Warrens provide a friendly and efficient service that can only be offered by a family run business. Breakfast was of a quality normally only seen in expensive hotels and was ample enough for me to skip lunch!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QQQQQQZQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was the first time my partner and I visited York and we were most delighted to discover Warrens, (run by Richard and Jenny, assisted by the lovely Norma).

Warrens guesthouse itself we found to be cosy,friendly and inviting.when we booked in and spoke to Jenny she was most informative and pleasant, with the right information for us on our stay in York.

We stayed in a room on the top floor, which we found more than adequate,
clean and tidy en-suite more than enough room for a double.

To be honest at breakfast time we felt quite spoilt with the lovely array of choices on offer from....- fresh fruit in a bowl consisting of Strawberries,Grapes and KIwi fruit,another bowl of peaches,yoghurts,selection of cereals.orange juice and cranberry juice,bananas apples and pears.

Also each morning was a specials board,aside from a menu that had full English breakfast amongst other items that could be ordered.All of this comes with waitress service.

Warrens is within 10 and 15 minutes easy walk to York city.The car park at the rear is most useful as you can leave your car most securely.

The most important part of any holiday is that you have a good start and an excellent place to stay. Richard and Jenny provided this superbly making us most welcome and hopefully enjoying our company. We thank them both for their hospitality...and not forgetting the lovely Norma who was also wonderful.
We shall return to adopt Norma!!! Great times...Lovely people

Room Tip: Our room was No. 6 at the very top of three flights of stairs, very quiet with a view over the back...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadicforrager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay today 19th September. Everything was just so right. The hotel was modern inside the Victorian building, the owners were very welcoming, rooms were spotless and comfortable as was the ensuite where there were loads of towels. Breakfast in the conservatory were great as was the lady who looked after us. Parking at the rear was a great bonus we never moved the car after that as the walk to the city was just nice. Really enjoyed our stay and will hopefully return, still lots to see.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dendim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in the first week of September. The owners were on holiday, but Norma looked after us wonderfully. Our was at the back of the building and was very comfortable with en-suite facilities. The location itself is residential but very quiet and the rear parking is gated at night so everything is reassuringly secure. The city is in very easy walking distance so once parked up we did not use the car at all, which was great. We slept well whilst there and enjoyed our continental breakfasts..All in all, a very happy stay. Thank you, Norma!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#49 of 194 in York
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#56 of 194 in York
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#60 of 194 in York
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#19 of 194 in York
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poplar House Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrens

Address: 30 Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Warrens 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to say a massive thank you to all our wonderful guests. After a whirlwind 13 years of welcoming guests from around the World we have made a decision to have a break and Warrens will be permanently closed from Christmas 2015. We will genuinely miss you. Lots of love Richard and Jenny Warren ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Warrens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing