We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience!”
Review of Warrens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Warrens
Ranked #94 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great experience!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have recently returned from a two night stay at Warrens. What a lovely little gem of a place! The room we stayed in was lovely and spotless! It really did feel like we were staying with friends. A fantastic breakfast, with the best sausages ever :o) really soft bedding resulting in a refreshing night's sleep and looking forward to the day ahead. All staff we met were lovely and friendly and all had a smile on their face. When coming to York you should stay here, don't go for a boring bland hotel!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1, although at the front of the house, there isn't much noise and a great thic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelling37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    48
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
127
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Warrens in June 2013 and had a great stay. This B&B is very well kept which is apparent as soon as you arrive from the outside. It is a very contemporary B&B that doesn't feel dated like so many can. The bedrooms were lovely, extremely clean with crisp bed linen and a spotless bathroom.

The team at Warrens can't do enough for you, we were greeted when we arrived, and given lots of advice for our stay in York. The breakfast that is served is delicious, certainly sets you up for the day!

This B&B is very well located from the town centre, and on a very nice road surrounded by well maintained houses.

I will be returning to this B&B next time I’m in York, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. I don't know how anybody could find fault with this B&B.

Room Tip: I would recommend room 5 as it is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al1j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Absolutely lovely a B&B. Beautifully presented from the outside and care and attention carried through inside. Warm welcome on arrival and owner very helpful in showing us how to get into the centre. Room was lovely and spacious and very well equipped. The room and the bathroom were absolutely spotless could not be faulted at all. It was lovely to eat breakfast in the conservatory it was lovely and bright. Breakfast was beautiful and service fantastic, you never want for anything, owners really interested in asking what your plans were. Overall would not hesitate to recommend this B and B to anybody everything is to the highest of standards and nothing is too much trouble for owners they are very hospitable. And easy walking distance in to town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If all Bed and Breakfast were like this one, what a standard we would have. Very friendly, helpful people making for us a relaxing enjoyable stay!

You always want a clean place and a good breakfast and Warrens delivers that in a brilliant way. So if you want to book a place close to York center and actually relax here it is, great people.

York always provides so much in shopping the old streets to the varied restaurants to the amazing old places. Combine that with a good place to stop and you have a dam good time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Warrens is an excellent friendly B&B within walking distance of York centre. The rooms are great and the breakfast superb. The owners gave excellent advice on places to see and eat. The private car park is a real bonus as parking is expensive in York and a lot of the residential streets are permit only. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 889LouiseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in double room.
Room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Bathroom was spotless and looked brand new. Clearly a well maintained B&B. car park was such an added bonus as well! Breakfast was lovely - fresh fruit and cereals as well as a selection of freshly cooked hot options. Other members of our party stayed in other nearby b&b's for similar cost and we definitely got the best one! Would highly recommend and will be back whenever we're next in York.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frankiemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Have just returned from York having stayed 3nights at warrens guest house the rooms were spacious modern and spotless on arrival the landlady was so helpful she explained about all the sight seeing that was local giving us a map on how to find the different landmarks breakfast was good and plentiful I would recommend this this guest house to any age group my only criticism is if you are a light sleeper you do get traffic noise in the rooms at the front but we walked so much we were tired but I think if this was an issue the landlady was so good she would accommodate you in a different room

Room Tip: When booking state you would like a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#51 of 192 in York
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#16 of 192 in York
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#58 of 192 in York
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poplar House Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
Reubens Court Apartment
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#49 of 192 in York
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrens

Property: Warrens
Address: 30 Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Warrens 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to say a massive thank you to all our wonderful guests. After a whirlwind 13 years of welcoming guests from around the World we have made a decision to have a break and Warrens will be permanently closed from Christmas 2015. We will genuinely miss you. Lots of love Richard and Jenny Warren ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Warrens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing