We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place.”
Review of Warrens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Warrens
Ranked #99 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for three nights after seeing the good reviews aon TripAdvisor and the York Information Office. We took two rooms, both a nice size with comfortable beds. I wish I had asked for twin beds though as I am used to a King sized bed and the basic double was a bit tight for us. Our room was road side, so was a bit noisy which meant we couldn't have the windows open during the night. The car park is a bit tight to get in and out, but we did manage it. Breakfast very nice with specials every day. I don't walk very much, so it took me 15 minutes to walk into the City. By the end of our three days, I was getting a bit weary of the walk, so took the car. They do have a trust bar, which is a nice touch, although we didn't use it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pottydotty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 216 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We chose Warrens after reading reviews here on Trip Advisor. What a good choice. We had a lovely room at the front of the hotel - the only downside was that we were on the road which seemed to be noisy most of the night and had a variety of locals passing in the early hours who needed to shout at each other down the road. None of this, of course, was the fault of the hotel.

The room was spacious, clean and well decorated and the rest of the hotel was so quiet it was a surprise to see so many other people at breakfast. The car park was an interesting challenge - but you'll need to visit to see why :-)

Room Tip: If its warm and you like to sleep with your windows open, choose a room at the back of the hotel awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Warrens has quite a few things in it's favour. It is close to the city centre & all that has to offer & the staff are very friendly & helpful. I stayed for 2 nights recently with my sister & brother in law. Their double room was quite roomy (including the bathroom) & beautifully decorated, on the ground floor at the front of the house. It was a very sunny room which made it very warm & uncomfortable for sleeping & the road is quite busy making it impossible to keep windows open all night. My room was quite different. It was on the first floor & at the back of the house overlooking the carpark. The room itself was adequate in size but in need of a bit of an upgrade. The bathroom was very small to the point of claustrophobic. We stayed at 3 other B&B's during our week away I would rate this room as the worst of the 4. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with reasonable size bathroom. Room 1 would be nice if the weather was not hot. Bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

You'll pay a lot more to stay elsewhere in York, but you won't get as much for your money.

Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. I'm not a big breakfast-eater but there seemed enough food available to feed an army, and it was good.

Location is excellent: two Indian restaurants and a coffee shop with sinful-looking cakes just round the corner, a small park just down the road and the city walls about a 10-minute walk away. A great base for exploring the city, with advice on hand if you need it.

Downsides? Squeaky towel rail drove me nuts (but the towels were clean, large and nice), and the bathroom mirror was at chest height rather than head height.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outsidehalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We came on a last minute long weekend break and chose The Warrens from the York tourist website. What a good choice!
Will come again and do recommend it for your stay. Good advice for local eateries freely given.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimicr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was a "lucky dip" booking for us as we decided to stay in York at the last minute. What a prize lucky dip it was! Located 15-20min walk from York's city walls, with car park at rear, makes it ideal base for exploring this beautiful city.Our first phone call put us in contact with Norma and her friendly, pleasant attitude left us confident we had made a good choice. On arrival, Jenny was most welcoming and helpful. The building, outside and inside is very clean and well kept. We were shown to our room which was spacious, clean and well fitted out. Norma cooks a great breakfast, cooked exactly as we asked. They were also very helpful in sharing their local knowledge, even down to suggesting a fancy dress/retro shop for our party! They kindly let us leave our car in their park as we went shopping. Unfortunately our stay was only for one night and we would make Warrens our first choice if we are ever back in the area and we have already recommended to friends who are going to York for a wedding. There are quite a few awards hanging on the walls and they were all well deserved.

Room Tip: Situated in residential area all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coachduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

just returned home from our second stay in two years at warrens one week each time. rooms on both stays comfortable and spotless clean breakfast out of this world .jenny and richard very friendly and most helpful with any problems giving advice on directions to attractions bus and train routes best bars and eating houses. norma and alice two fantastic girls serving breakfast always smiling and very hepful and cheerful like to thank them all for another great time in york p.s. good luck at uni alice james and christine maguire scotland

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjm1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
6.2 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
145 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrens

Address: 30 Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Warrens 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to say a massive thank you to all our wonderful guests. After a whirlwind 13 years of welcoming guests from around the World we have made a decision to have a break and Warrens will be permanently closed from Christmas 2015. We will genuinely miss you. Lots of love Richard and Jenny Warren ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Warrens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing