We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit to York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Ranked #9 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Again found a very friendly welcome at the Apple House. Having driven down from Scotland we appreciated the welcome tray with tea/coffee, biscuits & Yorkie bar ! Big choice at breakfast including fresh berries & even peanut butter.
Great location, safe parking, bus stop outside & walking distance to the railway station.
Have no hesitation in recommending to friends & family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeff e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
There are newer reviews for Apple House Guest Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 602 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our room was very clean and very comfortable. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and attention to detail was fabulous. It is in a brilliant location near to the town centre and the races. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. We have already booked again for next year.

Room Tip: All lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank enjoyenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thanks so much for your fantastic review and for booking again next year. Hoping the weather for the races will again be fab. See you then

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We only had a one night stay at this B&B but wish we had booked in for longer. Upon arrival we were made to feel very welcome by the owners and were shown to our family room even though we arrived early. It was very welcoming with teabags, hot chocolate and Yorkie bars. The room was very clean and tidy. Breakfast the morning after was lovely and we got asked on several occasions whether we had enough of everything. When we booked out we were allowed to leave our car in their private carpark until we had been into York again for the day.
I would definately recommend staying at this B&B and if we visit York again in the future, we would book in again too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thanks you for taking the time to write a review of your overnight stay. It was lovely to meet you and your family and we are pleased you had such a good couple of days in York. Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Wonderful friendly welcoming guest house. Very clean, we had come to York to watch the Tour de France and were very lucky to stay here, Pam & Tony really are wonderful host. All the staff are friendly & helpful. We had a very nice stay in York, just wish it was longer. We will be coming back and will be staying here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thanks for your lovely comments following your stay during the Tour de France weekend. What a fantastic atmosphere it was and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have just returned home after another pleasant and enjoyable stay in York, during our stay we were guests at The Apple House, Holgate Road York, Yorkshire.

Over the last 11 years we have booked in at The Apple House, and have found it to be one of the nicest Guest Houses that we have ever had the pleasure to stay at.

The benefits of this Guest House are,

Within a short walk from The Main York Railway Station, and The City Centre.
There is a first class breakfast menu either cooked or a plentiful amount of fresh fruit, cereals, and yoghurts etc. plus tea and coffee.

The rooms are clean and pleasant, with en-suite bathrooms and television. Another feature is the Free WIfi throughout, something other establishments will charge a high rate for.

We have stayed at The Apple House up to 6 times a year over the past 11 years, on a few occasions we have had stayed elsewhere when the Guest House was full, but always preferred to return to The Apple House.

We always receive a friendly welcome from the owners Pam and Tony George and their Staff which does make our arrival pleasant.

The owners and Staff are always, clean, tidy and well presented, which makes them a credit to York and Yorkshire.

We will definitely stay at The Apple House again.

Mac and Carol Gateley
Jersey. Channel Islands

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear are not very far from the main railway line into York, but with the double gla...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thanks for once again reviewing our bed and breakfast. It is always lovely to see you and we are really pleased you are happy here and continue to return to us. Regular clientele make up 50 percent of our guests so it is great to know that even when we cannot accommodate you occasionally, we are always your first choice when returning to York. See you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I booked a twin room and a double room at this B&B guest house. The double room was on the front of the house and was quiet. The twin room was on the back of the house and we could hear trains until late at night. That said, it did not keep us awake even though we kept the window open because it was June. Unlike a previous review, I found the rooms to be extremely clean and that included the bath and toilet. Our room was serviced each day. Breakfasts were hearty and tasty. The hosts were friendly and helpful. Location is near one of the gates to the Roman Wall and walking downtown took about 15-20 minutes. Plenty of off street parking.

Room Tip: As for a room on the front of the house and on the lower floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you so much for writing your review. Our rooms are clean and serviced daily and we thank you for recognising this. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Like most people, I am very reluctant to give a bad review, but when I visited here recently with my partner this one took the apple....I mean biscuit!
The "double" room was so small there was insufficient space for a wardrobe, and a rail had been fitted to a shelf in a recess in the wall. Since our clothes were the most colourful thing to look at in the otherwise dowdy room, on reflection maybe that was no bad thing!
I`m not sure what the owners meant when they said rooms were serviced daily.Judging from the amount of dust on the furniture and lamps in the bedroom, and the fact that the bathroom looked as though it hadn`t been properly cleaned for weeks if not months and had a thick layer of dust on the shaving light, the word "service" must have a different meaning to the owners of Apple House than it does to the rest of us!
Given the disparity between some of the good reviews written and our experience of this guest house, one has to wonder exactly who has written the fantastical reviews?!
Although this guest house claimed to have a 4 star rating awarded by Enjoy England when my partner and I booked our stay with them, on checking this up they hadn`t been a member of Enjoy England (now called Visit England) for at least 3 years! Please see photos I have uploaded as evidence that my review is an accurate account of my experience at this guest house.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aermacchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

We have taken our time to respond to your reviews, as we are courteous, kind and totally professional people and we would like to thank you and your partner for taking the time to write your comments. We take all feedback, good and bad very seriously and act on it. If we are not informed of guests’ unhappiness then there isn’t much we can do about it and we certainly had no idea of yours during your three nights here.
We moved you into a room at your request which wasn’t fully serviced as no-one was due to occupy that room (due to refurbishment of the bathroom). You were happy to take the room as it was on the first floor which suited your medical condition. I came to service the room whilst you were out for dinner but you were resting and this was declined. I knocked on your door later and you informed me that everything was just fine. Your room was serviced the next day, you had used your shower and fresh towels were left – apologies for my chambermaid leaving them on the toilet lid. She has been reprimanded! We did replace them however.

Décor is personal choice and one which is continually being recognised by positive customer comments. We are not a boutique guest house or hotel but a bed and breakfast and utilise the space in the rooms as effectively as possible.

The protocol when using the booking agency with whom you made your reservation is such that we do not have access to your credit card details They, in fact, take the first night’s money as a deposit and your outstanding balance is settled directly with us. It is always more expensive booking through an agency due to the large commissions they charge us. Leaving would not have been an issue if we had known you were unhappy as guests comfort is our priority and had you made us aware of your discomfort we would have resolved the matter gladly. As a successful bed and breakfast business in York our overheads are high and the ‘substantial amount’ of money we make is spent on these.

We are a fully paid up member of Visit York and Visit England and have been for 23 years. They have no issues whatsoever with our standards and would be more than happy to answer any potential guests’ concerns regarding this review. We had our last full inspection from Enjoy England Quality in Tourism in November 2013 and were awarded a high 4 star level which means the requirements were exceeded. This grading is given on an anonymous overnight visit. Once again, if any prospective guests reading this would like to see the report or discuss any issues with us please do not hesitate to get in touch and we will be more than happy to talk.
We do inspect the rooms before guests check in and on this occasion we didn’t as the room wasn’t due to be occupied. The shaver light did have an excessive amount of dust – our chambermaids are titchy and the shaver lights are high but we have made them aware that this area must not be overlooked if you’ll pardon the pun! By posting this response, your comments have been noted and corrective action has taken place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple House Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple House Guest Accommodation

Address: 74-76 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $109 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II listed property privately owned with 10 en-suite quality rooms. Ten minute walk to city center and station. Excellent bus route should walking be a problem. Large private car park. All rooms have TV/DVD, tea and coffee making, toiletries. Very child friendly, garden, play area, games. Freshly cooked breakfast cooked to order along with fruit, cereals, yogurts etc. Friendly and informal. Regular clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Apple House Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple House Guest Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing