We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Ranked #10 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

On a recommendation on trip advisor from an old friend, we decided to book this Guest House for our next visit to York and we were not disappointed.
Location is great and if travelling by train, it is only a few minutes walk from the station. We travelled by car and left it in the large private car park at the rear...no more trying to find a parking spot on a 'permit only street'.
A great welcome from Pam before being shown upstairs. Our room at the front was large, clean and airy with everything you need for a short stay. In fact the whole establishment was well kept.
Breakfast...well where do you start? Good selection of cereals, yoghurt fruit juices and fresh fruit followed by a Full English or Veggie alternative with toast and tea/coffee.
Would highly recommend staying at the Apple House....in fact we are planning our next visit to York with family.

Room Tip: All rooms appear similar but if you are a light sleeper, would probably say a room at the rear may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve-and-Andie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Cheers for your lovely review. Thanks for leaving feedback for other guests. We are chuffed you had such a good weekend and it was great to meet you both. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 607 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Accommodation was excellent. And Pam and Tony the owners of the guest house was so friendly and helpful. They couldn't do enough for you will definitely stay with them again. Location was excellent for walking into York. Can leave your car there all day when you leave which is a plus cause u don't have to pay for parking. You don't have to check in at a certain time you can just tell them what time you exspect to arrive when you book.

Room Tip: we would recommend a room at the front of the guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Great review and lovely guests. Thank you for choosing to return to us and write your comments. Our rooms at the back of the house face the railway and the rooms at the front are on the main road. We are very central so cannot claim to be in a peaceful location however we hope we offer the little extras to overcome any disturbance from outside. All our guests have their favourite rooms and we will always, as far as possible, let guests have a choice of room. We look forward to seeing you next year (front of house next time!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our first stay at the Apple house and it certainly lived up to its high review ratings. Pam and Tony were very good hosts, nothing was too much trouble and they helped us with directions to the places we wanted to visit. The room was very clean and comfortable, with a good sized en-suite. There was also a Yorkie bar in our room upon arrival which we thought was a nice touch. We had the opportunity to meet both of the friendly waitresses, Jade and Carla and you can see they work hard and do a good job! The cooked breakfast was of a high quality and very tasty, including a good selection of cereals and fruit from the buffet table.

The Apple house has a great location and is only a short walk to the beautiful city of York. We visited the Minster, walked the walls and enjoyed a meal at Betty’s cafe. However, the highlight of the visit was the Railway museum which was free entry. We even had a go on the new Mallard simulator they have, which was great fun.

Our stay at the Apple house was excellent and we have already told our friends that this is the place to stay when they are in York.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos0015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments after your stay with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind feedback. We love running our guest house and meeting everyone and aim to provide the best service possible. We also think our staff are lovely and we feel lucky to have girls who also pride themselves on great service, friendliness and genuine interest in our guests. We hope to see you again next time you visit the city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

They were 6 of us that stayed at the apple house from Friday 19th July to Sunday 21st we were met by pam as we came into,the carpark which by the way is very roomy and private and is locked for security in the night she introduced herself and showed us to our room which were very nice comfy and clean we were all impressed straight away, they was fans in each room which we were all glad of because of the weather which had been very hot over the past few days we all unpacked and got ready to walk into town which is only about a 15 min stroll. The breakfast was lovely and the service excellent we all enjoyed our stay and would definantly return again.... Tania, mell, Helen, Jane angie and Lindsay....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Hi there Ladies. thanks so much for your super review. The weekend seemed to be a great success for you all and we really enjoyed having you to stay. You were great fun and we loved decorating the dining room with all your bits and bobs for Tanias birthday. All our other guests enjoyed the decorations too!! We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had a 2day stay at the apple.Was at front of house and at night it was VERY NOISEY. When we told pam she just laugh and said she could not sleep in that room and just offered me and my wife EARPLUGS.Not happy when paying £160

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaimo158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and comments of your stay at The Apple House. We are very disappointed we were unable to please you on this occasion despite our very best efforts. Race weekends are extremely busy in York and as we are in a very central situation and very close to the racecourse it can be noisy on a weekend with raceday revellers. Had rooms been available we would have gladly moved you to a quieter room but I did explain that the room had been made available to a very late cancellation. Your stay included free wifi, free parking and provided an extensive gluten free breakfast and we try to manage sleep disturbance as much as we can.
Booking in advance is always recommended to choose the room you require.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in Room 10 at Apple House for two nights, Friday & Saturday, 19th & 20th July. We have been staying with Apple House, at least once a year, for many years past, and, it has to be said, we find no need to look for other accommodation as this is a great place to stay. The welcome is always warm and friendly, and, having slept in most rooms, they are all fine and cannot really be faulted. The Breakfast is excellent with lots of choice. A huge bonus ( for York) is the ample parking. Leave the car and get the bus from right outside the front door into the City centre. There is a "Local" just down the road and a R.C.Church over the road, down the next street. All in all a great place to stay and next July , God willing, we shall be here again.

Room Tip: Room 10 is the only Ground Floor Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review of your weekend at The Apple House. It was great to see you again and we are looking forward to seeing you again next year - I think you will have been in all my rooms by then!! The weekend was good fun with the birthday group staying and we are pleased you enjoyed their festivities!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lovely bed and breakfast within walking distance of the City centre. Great car park and garden at the back. It was in the heatwave so Pam gave us two fans - which helped!

Lovely breakfast and the black pudding was great! The room was at the front and the busy traffic woke us up but the windows were open fully as it was so hot!

Room Tip: The best bit was seeing Tony in his cycling shorts when we were have a drink in the garden later on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redwinedrinker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for writing a review of your stay here and in particular mentioning Tony in his cycling shorts! I have to live with that!!
It was a very hot week and we do appreciate that it can be quite noisy with traffic at the front when the windows are open which of course they will be at this time of year. Fans and ear plugs are provided in all the rooms to try and ensure everyone has the most comfortable stay they can. If rooms are available at the rear of the house we will always move guests if required subject to availability. Our location is great for easy access to all the attractions and being able to leave your car but noise can be a problem in the hotter months. See you next time when you may experience Tony in his Tri suit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple House Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple House Guest Accommodation

Address: 74-76 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $110 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II listed property privately owned with 10 en-suite quality rooms. Ten minute walk to city center and station. Excellent bus route should walking be a problem. Large private car park. All rooms have TV/DVD, tea and coffee making, toiletries. Very child friendly, garden, play area, games. Freshly cooked breakfast cooked to order along with fruit, cereals, yogurts etc. Friendly and informal. Regular clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Apple House Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple House Guest Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing