We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Cracking Easter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Ranked #7 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
1 review
“A Cracking Easter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

As usual another lovely stay over the easter weekend nothing to much trouble lovely breakfast and easter egg left for us in room on easter sunday what a treat can't wait to go back in september Eggcelent service.

Connie & Ralph Lang

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Connie and Ralph - Thanks for your review - your comments are lovely and complimentary and we look forward to seeing you later in the year. You need to come and visit at Christmas - you never know what Santa will leave!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    60
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
109
295
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay, Pam and Tony were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. Best pet friendly guest house I have ever stayed in. Easy parking on site and close to the City. Clean rrom and nice bathroom.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar I believe, but if at the front then closing the secondary glazing and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
It was good to meet you and Jemima over Easter - delightful little dog and a great hit with the children staying. All our double glazed windows to the rear and first floor front rooms have an additional sliding triple window which ensures noise is kept to a minimum. There is always some noise when the windows are open as we are very central but we do everything we can to make the rooms as comfortable and quiet as possible (provision of earplugs also) We are pleased your wedding visit was a success and will see you again next time you visit the city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

we had such a lovely time here, would definitely recommend it, our room was really nicely decorated. staff were really nice and helpful and breakfast was yummy!

they even stayed up to let us in later at a request!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cakebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us after your wedding. We always accommodate late arrivals especially if it after such an occasion - we were glad to be of help and make your day special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Arrived by train and Apple House is only a few minutes walk from the station and the town centre. Me and my wife were made to feel most welcome on arrival. Can't fault the place at all, very clean and tidy, lovely room and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmcc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review of our bed and breakfast. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and for booking direct which is always the cheapest option, Hope you had a good journey home on Sunday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Thanks again to Pam and Tony for a great stay. This was our 5th stay and again we were not dissapointed. Off Road parking which is a hugh plus in York. Excellent comfy rooms and a hearty breakfast to keep you going. We enjoy the variety of Real Ales pubs , and excellent shopping. Already booked for Chrstmas, see you soon Pam Cheers

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIMRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Gaynor and Andy - thank you so much for your review and for choosing to stay with us again. Brigantes, our local real ale pub always look forward to your visit! We are lucky to have such a great choice of pubs and restaurants providing great food and drink We look forward to seeing you in December
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very friendly, easy to find guest house with great touches for families. We had a double room with separate bunk bedded area for our children, with plenty of games and DVD's already in the room when we arrived. Pat couldn't have been more friendly and we had a fabulous weekend in York. Our boys are train-mad and being able to walk so easy to the National Rail Museum was great. Close to York and we found loads to do with our boys - can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordMum_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have had some nightmare trips in the past with our kids when they were little so endeavour to provide everything you would need for a successful weekend away with the family. Happy children means happy parents! They were lovely boys and we are happy their first holiday away in a bed and breakfast was a success. WE hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agadir, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Gorgeous house (with parking), great location, fantastic breakfast and a lovely friendly hostess. We've been before and we'll definitely stay again.
Anyone worried about noise from the railway really shouldn't. We stayed in a room at the back and couldn't hear a thing and both had a really good night's sleep.
Thanks Pam, see you next time we're in York

Room Tip: We preferred to have a room at the back so as not to be on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaynorDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Gaynor and Steve Thanks for your review. It was good to see you again and catch up. We are once again pleased you have a great weekend and all was as good as expected. Hope to see you next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple House Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple House Guest Accommodation

Property: Apple House Guest Accommodation
Address: 74-76 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II listed property privately owned with 10 en-suite quality rooms. Ten minute walk to city center and station. Excellent bus route should walking be a problem. Large private car park. All rooms have TV/DVD, tea and coffee making, toiletries. Very child friendly, garden, play area, games. Freshly cooked breakfast cooked to order along with fruit, cereals, yogurts etc. Friendly and informal. Regular clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Apple House Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple House Guest Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing