We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent ,Friendly Accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple House Guest Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Ranked #7 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent ,Friendly Accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed at the"Apple House" several nights over a few weeks period -- Pam and Tony are really great hosts and make you feel very welcome ,immediately you step through the front door,and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The rooms are really spotless and everything is well maintained --beds excellent!
The property has its own large car park ,which is locked during the night.
If anybody is visiting York --I would really recommend a stay at the Apple House.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sightseer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    60
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
109
294
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a great stay at this guest house. Room (family) was well appointed with everything we needed for the kids - DVDs, games etc. Breakfasts were plentiful and excellent too. If it wasn't on the menu, it was no trouble. Add in, a great location (easy to get to the walls), friendly and knowledgeable but unobtrusive owners/staff and this is a real gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewOr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Wow - thanks for your great review of our B and B. Glad all was to your satisfaction and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us. We cater for all requirements (almost all!) and will do our best to accommodate the needs for all our guests, big and little! we look forward to seeing you and your family again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Car park is enormous and private so we felt very secure in the knowledge we could park up and walk into the city and leave our car saefly. The car park is secure at night. Welcome was great for the owners. They are friendly without being intrusive and genuinely interested in your stay. Room was lovel andclean and bed very comfortable. Shower amazing - never had such a strong on. Breakfast was fresh and hot with plenty of choice on the menu and they will cook requests for you also. All in all a fab stay. Cant wait to go back. Also lots of great recommendations on where to eat and what to do

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spudman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for your review and commenting on all aspects of your stay. We are very proud of our car parking facilities as it so expensive parking in the city. We want all our guests to have the best stay they can have and try to cater for all requests. It does help having a plumber in the family as far as the showers go - they are all very powerful. Its what you need after a hard days sightseeing!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

It was just what I needed, I genuinely couldn't fault my stay. The rooms are spotless and a lovely size. The location is great and breakfast was lovely. Also pam and tony were great, they accommodated to my needs and nothing was too much of a bother to them. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariabaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for such a nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future - hope its a bit warmer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great location - only a short walk into York city centre, everyone was really friendly and the rooms were tidy and decorated nicely. Pam gave us good advice on where to visit and eat and was very helpful. The range on DVDs and books on offer was a lovely touch as we could relax and watch a film when we were tired instead of going out. The breakfast was nice and there was plenty to choose from - even when we missed the allocated time on our first day! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi there thanks for your lovely review. We are so pleased everything met your expectations and you both had a good time in our beautiful city. Good luck with your university futures and we hope to see you again next time you are in York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at the Apple House for two nights this February, great location in York right next to the station, my son enjoyed watching the trains from our bedroom window! Great hosts, great breakfast, great location would highly recommond staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for you review. We are so pleased you had a good break with us. The rooms at the back do have great views of the railway and trains and the railway museum so are extremely popular with train enthusiasts. Glad you had such a good time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We only stayed one night at the Apple House, Pam was warm and friendly, and gave us a great suggestions for dinner,which turned out to be one of the best meals we had in the UK. the rooms were cosy and the shower pressure was awesome.It had a great location, and great parking option too. Loved the stay & would reccommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Rebecca . Thanks for your review. It was lovely to meet you last November and we are so pleased you took the time to write your review. Hope to see you next time you are in the UK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple House Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple House Guest Accommodation

Property: Apple House Guest Accommodation
Address: 74-76 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II listed property privately owned with 10 en-suite quality rooms. Ten minute walk to city center and station. Excellent bus route should walking be a problem. Large private car park. All rooms have TV/DVD, tea and coffee making, toiletries. Very child friendly, garden, play area, games. Freshly cooked breakfast cooked to order along with fruit, cereals, yogurts etc. Friendly and informal. Regular clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Apple House Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple House Guest Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing