We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blossom street North” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Blossom street North”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

After two previous fabulous stays at this Premier Inn we were disappointed that the Costa was shut t 4pm on a Sunday and the dining facilities had been turned into conference facilities. The whole place lacked any real welcome. The breakfast continues to be excellent both in the range of food and quality of cooking and ingredients. We got down to breakfast at7.30 and were shown to a table straight away but on our departure there was a lengthy queue and i'm not sure we would have bothered waiting especially after the previous night poor quality meal in the longboat restaurant taking two hours for two courses which is not ideal for families.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    551
    158
    71
    20
See reviews for
364
670
54
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a pretty good large Premier Inn right in the heart of York. It is really convenient for the station, plus the York City Sightseeing buses stop pretty well right outside the front door.

The hotel consists of three blocks, one is the main block fronting onto Blossom Street, about 80 of the rooms are in the second is behind the main block, and there is a third block that fronts onto Queen Street.

We had a family room, which was essentially one of their regular rooms with two put-me-up beds for the kids, smaller than some of the other family rooms we've had in other Premier Inn's, but perfectly fine for our needs.

As others have said, parking is a major problem here. There is a pay and display car park with an entrance off Queen Street which cost us £25 for 36 hours. Most people seem to park their cars there and just leave them, primarily because with such a demand for spaces if you move the car you'll lose your space. The overflow are sent over to the Queen Street NCP Car Park that is accessible from the narrow lane that runs in front of the houses and then is over next to the station long term parking. The hotel have a discount deal with them to park there. Again demand for those spaces is high as the same car park is used by a number of the nearby hotels that are similarly limited on parking.

The other issue is that this isn't the only Premier Inn. This is one of two Premier Inn's on Blossom Street, the other built four years ago is called Blossom Street South is the other side of the New York Institute building. The two hotels have combined services so North gets a Costa Coffee and meeting rooms whilst the restaurant where breakfast is served is on the ground floor of the much newer Blossom Street South, and the only way to get to it from this hotel is by going out onto Blossom Street and walking down - don't forget an umbrella if it's raining! It's also worth bearing in mind that at busy times (we were there in half-term) the restaurant struggles to cope with the numbers of people as both North and South are pretty big, so on the first day by about 8:30am the queue of families waiting for their pre-paid breakfast was out the door and the restaurant was absolutely packed.

Pros: Convenient City Centre Location
Cons: Lack of Parking, No Restaurant in this hotel

Room Tip: Try and get a room in block 2 - it doesn't front on to either of the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTPeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Having stayed at many Premier Inn's, in many cities, I must admit I was slightly disappointed at this Hotel.

The parking here at this Hotel is limited and has to be paid for in 24 hour blocks. When booking this hotel, i did telephone them direct and was told there was free parking? However, upon arrival, found this was not the case.

Our room was very basic indeed. Not at all as i would of expected from Premier Inn. The bathrrom had cleaning issues and I had to ask one of the cleaners to come in and clean the toilet again as there was a terrible smell. Once she had cleaned it, there were no further issues.

We had booked in for breakfast, as we always do at Premier Inns, and were shocked to find that we had to join a huge queue and wait for 40 mins to be seated in the dining room. The breakfast istelf was wonderful, as always is with Premier Inn.

Even though this Hotel is situated right in the centre of York City, it is very quiet and we had no trouble sleeping at all. I would also like to say that the Hotel is situated close to the city centre, and within a ten minute walk, you are right in the core of the city and close to all attractions.

This Premier Inn is not cheap, and i feel that for the money, the rooms should be much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarkanlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed there for a few days on a business trip. Really liked the hotel - we were checked in early without any payment or fuss, the room was really nice. The staff were friendly and helpfull; gave a good advice on getting around. We had a Meal Deal and the food in the restaraunt was really nice.

Al in all, a perfect stay.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coollondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The room was ok clean enough a standard premier inn room apart from the dust on the desk the tea stained cup and the dirty crumpled shower curtain which obviously hadnt been changed for a long time other than that it was good if a little over priced but obviously this is the going rate for York.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent value and best location for York railway station and attractions. Spotlessly clean comfortable beds, big rooms plenty space, friendly staff, no noise inside or out. Usual good value from premier inn..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The bed linen and towels were very clean - as was the room and en-suite. It was also very quiet. The traffic noise outside was rather loud while the window was open. When closed nothing could be heard and nothing from guests in other rooms. It really was 'a good night's sleep'.There was a choice of hard or soft pillows which was useful. We had booked breakfast and evening meal. The evening meal had a limited choice and, although the food was good, it was too much for us. Next time we would only book ahead for breakfast and have a la carte in the evening. Staff were most helpful - especially Kim. We were very impressed.

We came by train and took a taxi to the Hotel. Could have saved ourselves some money as both Premier Inns are yards from the railway station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn York North Hotel
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
Address: 20 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in York
#14 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located for amenities and attractions including York train station, York Minster, the National Railway museum and the historic city walls. Our York City Centre Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. Car parking is available a short distance from this Premier Inn - for which an additional fee may be charged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York City Centre (Blossom Street North) Hotel York
York Premier Inn
Premier Lodge York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing